00:08.4

8

First of all, I SUCK at estimating how much time a task needs. So I couldn’t even finish a quarter of the things I planned to do yesterday. That will cause extra stress today, my kids come home this afternoon. I’ll have to prepare dinner (hence, go shopping). And clean the house. There is a layer of dust everywhere. I had the brilliant idea of start sanding the side panels of the kitchen so I could paint one layer of primer. Painting with my kids around is a very bad idea.
So I entered the kitchen and the first thing I saw was the extractor. If I wanted to sand the cabinets, that one had to go.

photo 2 (26)

I took a chair and saw that it was hanging with 4 screws. I took my toolbox, looked for the right screwdriver, and started turning. I was amazed that I could do it without breaking my wrists. I have very weak wrists and ankles. So, first, second and third screw went smoothly and fast. The fourth screw was stuck after I turned 3/4 of it. I took another screw to compare how much I still had to unscrew. Only a couple of turns… Come on!!
I’m not sure you can see much there.

photo 2 (25)

Imagine that my left arm was numb because I was holding the extractor so it wouldn’t fall. I had to think of a way to keep the stupid extractor so I could have more strength to turn the screw. Thank goodness I’m creative 🙂

photo 1 (23)

Then I had both hands so I started trying to turn the screw with pliers. I discovered then that the thing inside the extractor where the screw was supposed to go, was turning too. No matter how hard I tried, the thing wasn’t going out. Just turned inside and laugh at me.
While turning I started laughing wondering if YouTube had some videos on “How to unscrew like a pro”. You need to turn, turn, turn and turn…
After 45 minutes fighting the screw, I had an idea (the kind it’s like: you are not going to beat me!!)

That’s the mother fucker on duty.

photo 3 (18)

Yay! I cut the bastard. Removed the chairs, and this is what happened.

photo 4 (14)

The stupid cable was stuck on top of the cabinets. The plug was twice the size of the hole where it had to go. I imagined that the people who built the kitchen put the extractor at the same time.
So I did what any sensible person would have done in my position.
I killed the mother fucker!

photo 5 (10)

By the time I was done removing the extractor, the cabinet doors and the drawers, I didn’t feel like mowing the lawn, or cleaning, or painting one bedroom. I decided to oil the drawer systems because they were a bit rusty. And I think I may have discovered from where the strange smell came from.

photo (17)

Spaghetti, sugar, and green mold.
Every single thing costs a lot of time to complete. I’m not sure if it’s like that for everyone or it’s just me because I SUCK!!
I have to admit that I’m having a lot of fun and I’m learning a lot. I may start a YouTube channel: “That’s the way you DON’T do it”.

~ by DotedOn on September 4, 2014.

2 Responses to “00:08.4”

  1. I didn’t know what you meant by extractor, and now I do. I call it a range hood. I have one that has grease caked on it and I have tried cleaning to no avail. I may kill mine too! LOL!

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
