00:13.4

13

There is a big chance that when I have time after I finish remodeling the house, I will invest in a “Time Management” book. I truly suck at that. I try to get away with “time flies” but nobody is buying that anymore.
So from my long “TO DO” list, yesterday I only managed to wash dishes twice. You will say: “Come on!! You can take so long to wash dishes!!”. Here it’s the true story.
I HATE washing dishes. It’s on the top 5 of things I really really really don’t like. The last time I washed dishes before yesterday, it was last Friday. I had enough plates for Saturday and then my kids were not here and I had half of my Sunday off. Then it was Monday and shit, I needed the pans to cook.
So I washed the mountain of dishes.

photo 1 (30)

Then I cooked, we ate, and again I had to wash the mountain of dishes. I was swearing between my closed teeth, not only because I hate washing dishes, but because while I was doing it, I was staring at the built in dishwasher that I couldn’t use because when I opened the faucet to let the water go into the machine, the water went out and made a mess all over. Plus, my old dishwasher was laying in the garage. The man brought it two weeks ago and decided to let it there. He KNEW that there was no way for me to put it in place, so I guess he was waiting for me to ask him to help me. The thing is, when I get pissed off, I become even more stubborn (is that possible?!?).

photo 2 (33)

So I finished the dishes for the second time and said to my son: “We are going to change the dishwasher. Look for a YouTube video saying: How to remove a built in dishwasher.” “Come on mom, do you really think that you will find anything?” Of course, and there are more than only one video. I watch the one on top. The guy said: “First of all, you have to unplug the dishwasher. Open this panel (pointing at the bottom of the dishwasher door), and follow the cable.” I did that and decided that the plug should be hidden behind one of the cabinets. I removed the screws and something that looked like a lid didn’t move. I decided that it had to go. So I tried to remove it with all the tools I had.

photo (22)

As you can see, it didn’t move bit. If I tell you that Fred Flintstone was kinder breaking rocks than me hitting the piece of wood, it’s an understatement.
At this point, I was sweaty and really pissed. So I said: “Fuck YouTube guy, I’m moving the freaking machine without unplugging it”. I took out the few screws that held it in its place and with the help of my son, we took it out. I saw the cable connected straight to the wall, no socket there.

photo 3 (24)

“Shit… The other machine has a plug, we need a socket now”. I remembered there was a socket laying around. I took the socket, opened it, studied a while and again YouTube. This time I searched in Spanish, I needed to know how I had to do it using an European socket for 220V. Spain has the same kind of plug/socket than Germany.

I don’t remember if I mentioned this before, but I’m afraid of electricity. Terrorized. I don’t even change light bulbs. The few times I had to do it, I was praying while doing it. I went to the basement and turn off the electricity in the places I thought belonged to the kitchen. I must have done something wrong because I left all the house without electricity. Even better, no way I could get electrocuted then.
I can’t explain how hard was to put the freaking socket there. The cables coming from the wall were too short. I ended up pulling them with pliers (again, picture Fred Flintstone).
I took about half an hour to do it.

photo 4 (19)

We went to the garage, took the other dishwasher. Heavy mother fucker. It took really long time to bring it to the kitchen. We couldn’t lift it so we had to move it inch by inch.

Then it was time to pass the discharge hose and the water feeding hose and connect them under the sink. I was almost humming “We are the Champions” by Queen when I discovered that the freaking hose was too small for the adaptor. “Of course you mother fucker!! Why should something work smoothly here??!”.

I was trying to make the stupid hose fit when my son came in the kitchen and said: “You always say that nothing gets accomplished using force” “You are right, that’s why I’m doing this now” And I showed him how I was soaking the hose in boiling water so the plastic would get soft and I could make it fit. “See??? I’m using my brains but I still need some strength to connect it”.

photo 1 (31)

After more swearing and some finger burning, I could do it!!

photo (23)

This is the mother fucker on duty.

photo 2 (34)

And no, I didn’t use it yet. That will be happening later today (if it works!)

I still had on the kitchen table the old fridge and the extractor. I begged my kids to help me take them to the garage so the kitchen could start looking like a a kitchen. Moving those old machines was HARD.

photo 3 (25)

We were done by dinner time. More dishes piled up near the machine.

~ by DotedOn on September 9, 2014.

9 Responses to “00:13.4”

  1. Crazy Twin P,

    I’m so proud of you, not only did you get the job done, you made things work that looked like a hurdle. You didn’t curse to much. Sounds like you didn’t resort to throwing things which is my problem when I’m flaming mad. I can’t wait for the man to see what you accomplished without him. You are the best. Now no hand washing dishes just running the dishwasher everyday. No problem. You can get the oldest to help with that. I love the photos, the oldest, is that Stefano? He doesn’t look to excited about the photos the other kids look pretty happy. I’ll see what I can do to improve on your great work. I need a photo of you. I love the one with you holding the scarf, send that one again and send one I can see your beautiful face in. I’ll work on making a four photo collage. I stayed up way to late, went to bed at 3:30 AM. You were up pretty late or really early when we talked last night. What did you think about my idea for your basement office overhaul? It would not require a lot of money which is always nice. I think the land owner needs to pay you rent for doing a complete reno on the house. I can’t believe how much you’re having to do. You’re one tough broad, I say that in the most loving way. We might want to look at my comment last night and erase a few, We don’t want anyone to know that side of our craziness.
    Hugs.
    Twin M

    Like

    • Dear Twin M,
      I’m sorry you couldn’t sleep last night.
      I already “cleaned” the comment :). Now it sounds like something one of the former school moms would say πŸ˜€
      I’m 7 hours ahead, it was around 9am this morning. My ideal waking time is 10.30am so any time before that and after 4.30am, it’s too early πŸ™‚
      I’ll look for more pictures and try to make new ones. I’ll send them tomorrow.
      You know why I don’t throw things?/ Because I have to pick them later… (heavy ass here, the heaviest kind :D).
      The man saw it already because I sent a picture of the dishwasher in it’s place πŸ˜€ (I know I could wait and see his face, but sometimes he is a bit proud (or pretends to be), and tries to hug me… I CANNOT stand it…
      If I don’t fall asleep in 3 minutes, I’ll try to find a Texan hat πŸ™‚
      hugs,
      Crazy Twin P

      Like

      • Howdy Twin P,
        I’ll get one of mine down and try a selfie so you see what I’m talking abut. If I don’t like selfing, you’ll get a photo anyway. I’m a heavy ass but when I reach that level of anger I don’t care. Luckily I rarely get the angry. Glad you cleaned it up, it might have been to much for some. They would have to stop what they were doing and relieve themselves.
        Talk to you soon. A bit down today, nothing that won’t change by tomorrow. I have several post to do and haven’t even started. No one cared for the Country throw back so back to rock and roll. Cool with me.
        Hugs Twin M

        Like

      • Howdy Twin M,
        If you feel like doing nothing, just do nothing πŸ™‚
        I found one hat I like, now I need to see which Chinese shop will send it to Germany πŸ™‚ (and try to figure out how to use PayPal, by the time I’m done, it’ll be sunny again in Europe and I’ll need it πŸ˜€ )
        Choose what you like for throw back, it’s YOUR blog πŸ˜€
        hugs
        Twin P

        Like

      • Paypal is no problem at all and really the best way to send internationally. Let me know if you have problems I’ve had an account with them for years.
        You found a cowboy hat at a Chinese store? You always amaze me. Sounds like you don’r don’t need a photo. Have Fun, I’m going to do some shopping today. I can’t wait to see how things went for AOA yesterday. I pray it went well for a change.

        Like

      • Here’s a thought, go on EBay, you’ll find one there and a seller who ships internationally and can use Paypal. πŸ™‚

        Like

      • Thank you Twin!
        I always look on Ebay (and spend HOURS looking because I always find something that I like more πŸ™‚ )
        I found 2 I liked but I think I’ll let the straw one out and get two of the other model, one dark brown and one pink (for 2 reasons: 1- it’ll go perfectly with the boots!! 2- My daughter will be mad if she doesn’t get such a girly accessory :).
        Tomorrow I’ll see if the PayPal account works (I needed to add a mobile phone number but I didn’t have one when I registered, now I do). I’ll let you know how it goes πŸ™‚
        hugs,
        Twin P

        Like

      • Twin P,

        Have lots of fun shopping. I finished Throw Back Thursday, finally eating lunch and may work on Lyme Journal. May shop for face goodies. With the stress my skin has flared up so bad. I’ve never had it this bad. All the RX meds are out and I can’t drive to Dr. So see what I can find. It’s so hot here the other goodies I want have t wait until cooler weather.
        Hugs
        Twin M πŸ™‚

        Like

      • Twin M,
        Sorry about the meds.
        Enjoy your lunch and I hope you find what you are looking for (I can’t give you any advice because I only put vaseline on my lips :))
        I’ll turn off the light now, see you later (or better, tomorrow :))
        No news from AoA yet, I hope this time is: no news, good news πŸ™‚
        Twin P

        Like

Leave a Reply

 
