00:17.3

17

Of course I couldn’t let go and called the principal (good start by the way). I said: “The school failed in communicating me if my kids were safe”. That was the nicest way I found to say: “How the fuck I’m going to trust you educating my kids?”. Of course I was crying while talking to the principal and he could only say: “Be quiet” and I think he meant “Calm down”. I really like the guy and he was apologizing and said he was going to talk with the second in charge and promised me a bus timetable.
My kids got home without timetable and not knowing when/where to take the bus next Monday. I’m not sure why I still hope…
I was shaking till I fell asleep, luckily it was before 10pm. I woke up several times. This morning, I still have the headache.
I’m supposed to go in 10 minutes to school to drop a Schultรผte that every kid gets the first day at school in Germany. That’s a package with the shape of a cone filled with candy and surprises.

th (2)

After that, there is a church service. The man said he was going alone with my (3rd) son and that we can go all together to school later. Yes, it’s Saturday today and some brilliant mind decided to make it the first school day. I feel like crap but I’ll never forgive myself if I miss the first day of school of my kid (but it’s actually not the first day because he went 3 years to school already and he’ll be starting 1st grade again).

Last Thursday it was also the first day of school for my 2nd son. Grade 5 here is some kind of middle/secondary school so it’s a big deal. And of course we had to go to church too. I’m not sure how this kind of church is called in English but if I translate it is something like “Evangelic Reformed”, any clue?
After being there for 5 minutes my 3rd son asked me: “Mom, where is the X?” “What X?” “Where Jesus is” “Oooohh, you mean the cross, this kind of church doesn’t have a cross” “I see… They have birds” “Which birds?” “Those hanging there” “Those are lamps”… I guess a visit to an eye doctor is a good idea. And some religion courses probably too… The man doesn’t want me to talk about religion with the kids because he thinks I have strange ideas (I can’t argue with that).

I went to school to leave the Schultรผte and the one I got is the smallest. I really hope my boy doesn’t mind. I’ll have to improvise something if he does.

I couldn’t do much at home yesterday because I couldn’t think. I decided to mount the beds. Three of them. I couldn’t finish the fourth because I couldn’t understand the instructions. That never happened before. I couldn’t focus. Then the man came to pick the kids, I ate an ice cream, showered and went to bed. I couldn’t wait for yesterday to be over.

Today I’ll try mount the fourth bed, fill the pond and if the sun shines (as the weather forecast promised), I’ll take a chair to the garden and enjoy the view.

Before I leave for today, I want to apologized to all my followers who I also follow for being late reading your posts. I have many open on the computer and I plan to read all of them this weekend.
And I want to thank again Paul from http://alfredsalmanac.com who nominated me for two blog awards. I’ll write more about it another time since it’ll take some time for me to think what to write.

~ by DotedOn on September 13, 2014.

10 Responses to “00:17.3”

  1. You did the absolute RIGHT thing contacting the school principal. Your children’s safety is of the utmost importance. I hope you can get a bus/time schedule and maybe walk with the kids to where they should go. That was terrifying! As far as the “Evangelical Reformed” church here in the states. It’s also long known as the German Reformed Church. I think they broke off from the catholic church. I’m not an expert! The US has a different church on every block… Don’t apologize for not being present. I’m glad you checked in but you’ve got a full plate!! (how about filling it with something yummy?) ๐Ÿ™‚ Take good care. โค

    Like

    • Thank you Mandy :). I felt terrible I had to call the principal… I though about my kids being known as “The Kids with the Crazy Mother”… But then I though, that was going to come anyway ๐Ÿ˜€
      I feel much better now… The chocolate ice cream is in the freezer (where else it could be? Oh yeah, in my stomach!!)… I pretty much believe in healing from inside out ๐Ÿ™‚
      It must be that church only that here is not called German ๐Ÿ™‚ (like Chinese food that Chinese call food ๐Ÿ˜€ ).
      Have a beautiful Saturday ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lol! I guess it’s different here in the US. All mothers are crazy and would beat down the doors of the schools (principal cowering under his desk), and then the mother would have 50 other mothers picketing the school for not taking good care of their child. You are not crazy!! (ok, maybe a little. but I love your craziness ๐Ÿ˜€ ) You have a super good day too!

        Like

      • Thank you Mandy!! I’m laughing ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Kudos for calling the principal. They honestly need to know what is going on in their schools-they are responsible for seeing that it runs safely! I love the German cone tradition…very cute. I always have had a fondness for German tradition…it was my foreign language of choice-Spanish would have been more useful here, but oh well!

    Like

    • ๐Ÿ™‚ You chose what you liked it, that’s always the best choice.
      And I hope I don’t get marked for calling the principal :), sometimes (mostly all the times, I can’t shut up) ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. Having kids in school has it’s ups and down. One day, we are scratching our heads, all stressed up, while the next day we are all happy and celebrating our kids achievements and accomplished milestones. First two weeks of my son’s third grade class was something like that but last week, all seems smooth. We even had breakfast date for 3 days cause he thinks cafeteria food is yummy. He did eat a lot. Parenthood, never a full moment. Have a great Sunday. All the best to you and family.

    Like

  4. Your always so busy. It amazes me what your able to get accomplished with all the kids in toe and all. I doubt your child will mind the candy package being the smallest. The good thing is you brought one, you didnt forget. Sending you strength and hugs to get all the things accomplished today that you want to. also i am not sure if you want to keep following us to but our blog went private and it is here http://multime1980.wordpress.com/

    just send a request and i’ll approve you. xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
