77

77

Wednesday. I fell asleep before 11pm las night. Then I woke up two hours later and I was afraid I would stay awake for the rest of the night. Thank goodness I could fall back asleep. It could have been a very bad night because wi-fi stopped working. I had to reconnect it this morning.
I’m feeling a bit better. But not entirely good. I won’t say I was feeling blue before because blue is my favorite color. For me blue is peace and quiet. If I feel like flying, I feel blue. When I feel like crap, I say I feel brown, like shit.
Today I can say I feel better. I feel beige. Which is also bad but not as bad. I’m reaching the point of “beige underwear” mood. But hey, that’s an upgrade!

mnzpFRIeY3yqIK-WbZRhQqQ

Hang one of those by the window and rest assured that no bugs will enter your room.

It’s not nice being me when I feel like this. And I really try hard to change it but I’m not succeeding.

So I’ll tell a story to prove you that karma exists.

July 1995. My sister, my friend and I decided to travel Europe by train. We arrived in Madrid wearing winter clothes because it’s winter in Argentina at that time of the year. I believe it was around 40ΒͺC/104ΒΊF. We tried to get some water but we couldn’t find any open store because it was siesta time. We were beyond exhausted and almost dehydrated. We decided to sleep in the first place we found and first thing in the morning, to go to the beach. We decided to go to Portugal.
Next day in the late afternoon, we were in Cascais (Portugal). Before leaving the train station, a woman convinced us to stay at her house, she had a kind of bed and breakfast very near the beach. We thought it was a good idea. It was cheap and we didn’t need to spend a couple of hours looking for a place.
As soon as we got to her house, we met 2 Swedish guys. One of them had a pretty bad sunburn and looked like a mix of red pepper and lobster. And of course, I had to make fun of him. How could I resist!
Next day, we went to the beach. I know I can burn in 3 minutes so I took really good care to put sunblock everywhere. Specially on the parts that I had forgotten before and very painfully learned my lesson. My insteps burn very easily. The previous year I forgot that important part and then I couldn’t stand wearing my flip flops. That meant taking showers in the youth hostels touching the shower floor with my bare feet. I can’t explain how bad that is for me… Specially if the drain is clogged and suddenly the water level starts raising with rests of soap and body hair. OMG I better stop before I puke right here.
So which is the first place where I always put the sunblock? On my insteps, of course. Then I proceeded to put sunblock on the rest of my body, asking my friend to help me on the back.
Later in the evening, when we got to the house, I discovered that I had forgotten to put sunblock on my ears. That was my first summer ever with short hair. You can imagine what the sun did on my virgin ears.
They were red and swollen. I can’t describe the pain and the laughs. I had Swedish ears. I had to sleep on my back without moving because the minimum touch made me cry.
Next day, I needed to find a solution. I couldn’t stand the sun for half a second. I didn’t want to get a sombrero because I didn’t want to carry such a thing anywhere.
And I didn’t want to look like this either.

th (36)

So I spent the next few days looking like this while I was searching for the perfect hat.

IMG_8015

Since then, I have freckles and moles on my ears.
After a long search, I found more or less what I was looking for. But my ears were never the same.

IMG_7594

I have moles in really funny places. I remember saying to a boyfriend once: “If I ever have an accident and my face is not recognizable, you know where to look to see if that’s me”.

~ by DotedOn on November 12, 2014.

19 Responses to “77”

  1. Reblogged this on Survivors Blog Here.

    Like

  2. Ouch! Sunburns on the ears and nose are very painful. I have lots of freckles on my back, it drives my dermatologist crazy.

    Like

    • I don’t remember a sunburnt nose, but I’ll never forget the ears πŸ™‚
      And I have my back full of freckles too… And my front, and everywhere! But I like them because they get darker with the sun and it looks like I have a tan πŸ˜€

      Like

      • I usually got burnt mostly on my back. It’s that hardest place to reach for sunscreen.

        Like

      • I know!!! Many times I had to get an intentional burn to make my back even because I missed a few places… πŸ™‚
        And one time I didn’t put sunblock on my back and stayed 3 hours playing Scrabble, I had a sports tank top on and now (and forever) I’ll have more freckles on my shoulder blades and only a few on the middle… No intentional sunburn ever fixed it πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel your pain. I grew up in Florida and visited family every year. We always tried to get the perfect tan the first day at the beach. Somehow that never worked out. Now, if I spend an hour in the sun I don’t tan, I turn into an old sea turtle with barnacles on my shell. Debarnaclization sucks. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • That sounds painful! πŸ™‚
      I never had the perfect tan!! And I remember never wearing any sunblock as a kid (probably because I spent most of the time in the water). That could explain why back then I only had freckles on my face πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, like the others here, I can so identify with this! Sunburnt ears are terrible! Once I frostbit my ears due to not thinking straight, and the result was very similar to sunburn. They hurt terribly, and peeled like a bad sunburn, and then were extra-sensitive to the cold for the next several years. I thought it would be that way permanently, but eventually they went back to normal.

    Like

  5. The beige undies!!! πŸ˜€

    Like

  6. Hi there!,

    Just dropping by to tell you that I have nominated you for a Lovely Blog Award. Check out the nomination here (Just scroll down the page):

    http://aquileana.wordpress.com/2014/11/12/greek-mythology-the-charites-the-three-graces/

    Congratulations and best wishes, Aquileana πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
