275

275

Friday!! What a long week! Strange to say that because it was actually a week with only three school days.
I baked the cake yesterday and I let it to cool off behind a fortress of dishes and cloths so my kids couldn’t find it. Then I sat down to watch TV with them and I heard the noise of a chair moving. I knew immediately what was happening. I shouted: NOOOOOOO! but it was too late, I found my little one with a hand full of cake. He just grabbed a piece. I could have cried but instead of that, I took the piece from his hand and put it back on the cake the best I could. It didn’t look that bad. Then I hid it in one of the kitchen cabinets.
This morning the plan was to put some icing sugar to cover the broken parts and bring it to school but I found that again one piece was missing… I really can’t believe why one of my kids just took another piece. What could I do then? Nothing, just let the hole there and put some extra icing sugar. It didn’t look good.

I can’t wait for the time that they are all grown ups and go to their houses and empty my shoes full of sand on the couch and carpet. Leave the WC without flushing. Eat something with chocolate and be sure to let the fingerprints at least in five different places. Blow my nose on the pillows and/or curtains…
I already warned them that it was going to happen… so they know.

And IT’S FRIDAY, I’M IN LOVE… at least a bit.
For today I chose a song that I like very much. It’s not about kids or destroyed cakes. It’s of course, about love and how sometimes, we don’t need to say a thing to show the other that we love them. Or when we don’t need the other to say anything because we already know how much they care. Sigh… I always fall for those adoring eyes.

When You Say Nothing at All
(written by Don Schlitz & Paul Overstreet)

It’s amazing how you can speak right to my heart
Without saying a word you can light up the dark
Try as I may I can never explain
What I hear when you don’t say a thing

The smile on your face let’s me know that you need me
There’s a truth in your eyes saying you’ll never leave me
The touch of your hand says you’ll catch me wherever I fall
You say it best, when you say nothing at all

All day long I can hear people talking out loud (oh?)
But when you hold me near (oh, hold me near)
You drown out the crowd (drown out crowd)
Old Mr. Webster could never define
What’s been said between your heart and mine

The smile on your face let me know that you need me
There’s a truth in your eyes saying you’ll never leave me
The touch of your hand says you’ll catch me wherever I fall
You say it best, when you say nothing at all

The smile on your face let’s me know that you need me
There’s a truth in your eyes saying you’ll never leave me
The touch of your hand says you’ll catch me wherever I fall
You say it best, when you say nothing at all

Have a Friday Full of Love.

~ by DotedOn on May 29, 2015.

25 Responses to “275”

  1. Reblogged this on SURVIVORS BLOG HERE.

    Like

  2. It’s hard for kids to resist cake! Take it as a compliment, as your masterpiece cake was simply too irresistible for them.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, it’s difficult to teach kids respect. I’m really not sure why that’s such a hard lesson to learn but I think it will come eventually. Hang in there.

    Like

  4. I remember the days where I thought to myself “When they are old enough, payback is going to be so sweet.” That day has come, and somehow, I just can’t bring myself to act like that. What’s wrong with me? Seriously… someone tell me, I need to know.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. T P
    So are you in love just in your little finger or full body experience?
    πŸ™‚
    M

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love that song! So pretty.

    Like

  7. I love that song. Ronan keating does a good version of it, he’s irish. Sorry your cake got destroyed. I bet the kids in school didnt mind. XX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
