286

Screen Shot 2015-06-09 at 10.16.14 AM

Mug shot Tuesday. Yes, I’m in love and it’s not even Friday. I’m behind with everything, I slept about 4 hours, I have a piercing headache, I didn’t go to the supermarket and I have no idea what I’ll give my kids for dinner tonight but I’m smiling nonetheless. The kind of smile you get if your beloved surprises you with a serenade in the middle of the night.

That just reminded me of my mother when I told her I wanted to go to the Art School.
“Right…”
“What’s wrong with that?”
“I don’t know, there is nothing else you like? Artists don’t make much money”
“I don’t care about money. I only want to be happy and in love”
“I’d love to see the day when you feed LOVE to your kids”.

So I guess I’ll video call her tonight and show her how the LOVE thing is done. And if you wonder, I didn’t go to the Art School. Actually, I never wanted to go to the Art School, I just wanted my mother to understand that it didn’t matter if I studied or not or what I studied, the chances that I’d keep doing the same thing for the rest of my life was as small as this dot —> β€’
I knew I could be wrong but everything indicated that staying in the same place or doing the same thing for too long, wasn’t just for me.
I need the sparkle and things that make me happy. I get bored very easily and boredom is not always creative. Sometimes it’s destructive, specially when it’s accompanied by sadness.

Did you know that Bhutan is the only country that measures happiness? To be honest, I don’t know much about Bhutan, but the idea that a government truly cares about the happiness of its people, makes me smile.
I imagine everyone smiling there. Like when you go to those poor places in some far away countries and you find out that maybe the people don’t have jobs or anything to eat or give to their kids but anyway, you see them playing music and dancing?
And you are puzzled and think: What am I doing wrong? Those kids are all bare feet and look at the size of their smiles…
Those men have nothing but a guitar and three drums, but did you ever listen to a happier melody?

Love, love, love… I’ll cut it in cubes, add some smiles and serve it on a plate tonight.

th (56)

~ by DotedOn on June 9, 2015.

14 Responses to “286”

  1. Reblogged this on SURVIVORS BLOG HERE.

    Like

  2. They’re not constrained by our definition of happiness. Sounds like a wonderful place to live!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Stay happy.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So nice to see you in a good mood. I wanted to follow my dreams and felt money wasn’t important when I was young. I try to say no regrets but sometimes i think a little more money would be nice!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I found myself in many situations where people lived under the worst imaginable conditions and death stalked them at every corner. I found happiness and love so strong in some that nothing could take it away. Happiness and love is strongest in those people who have little else in their lives to distract them from the very basic human expressions shared between them that has the effect of lifting them up from the harshness of their everyday life. While the technological advanced societies drown in unhealthy human emotions and seek solace in their technology and things carefully placed in their living environment, the people of simple societies seek solace with each other through selfless acts of caring and love, through human contact face to face, hand to hand, body to body. Of course, the worst human characteristics are at play, it is no utopia. The difference is in how those with positive human virtues continue to thrive by holding on to each other, providing mutual support against the destructive forces they live and die with.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Awwww, I love the last sentence. You always feed your kiddos a big bowl of love! They have an awesome mom! X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
