315

Screen Shot 2015-07-07 at 10.25.30 AM

Mug shot Tuesday. If at first you don’t succeed, try, and then try again. But let me add: Know when to stop. I love the saying in Spanish: “Persevera y triunfarรกs” (persevere and you’ll succeed) but the English equivalent didn’t make me happy. Like “Turn the other cheek”. I’m not going to go deep on that one because I don’t discuss politics or religion because there is no right or wrong there. It’s just what you believe.
I will only write MY opinion here because this is MY blog. Turning the other cheek to me means ‘let the sucker bully you longer’. I know, I may be wrong, but I’m talking from MY OWN experience.
When I heard the man saying to my son something like that, I stopped him and said: “If that boy ever touches you again, you freaking kick his balls until they look like a bow tie, did you hear me??”. He probably didn’t understand me, but my point was, you just don’t accept things you don’t like to show others that you are the better person. Fight for your rights.
God knows I think this way and still loves me.
I will go on now or this will eat me the entire day… “Don’t do to others what you don’t want done to you”, I totally agree… but if others do you wrong, don’t let them continue. Stop the crap right there. (Or it will only get worse).

I feel better now. So, persevere and you’ll succeed. That’s pretty much the mentality of a stubborn person. And when is it the right time to stop? It always varies. And here comes contradiction. If you stop you quit. But sometimes, if you don’t stop, you are missing out. You are fighting for something that is not longer important to you. You are giving that something your time and energy. Is that worth it?
Wouldn’t it be much better to be doing something you like or that makes you happy? Yes, yes!!

As you can see, I’m trying to justify myself for some things and decision I made… You know, guilt. And this is another of my fights again myself and we know, I’ll win… but I will also lose. And it’s not nice to be the one who beats me.
The process of accepting the loss is hard sometimes. So I pretty much simplify it like this. I say to myself: “Do you remember that green top you bought and that you liked so much? Why are you getting rid of it?” At the time I got it, I liked it. Now it doesn’t make me happy anymore. I’m free to break the vows I made and move on. I will not feel guilt because my feelings towards something are different now.

Life is way too short to waste it in things that doesn’t make us happy or feel complete.
So every time, I try to make sure that my victory is most advantageous and my defeat insignificant. It’s one of the hardest thing being your own worst enemy.

So, the next time I’m suffocating or feel bad and want to cry (I never want to die, just disappear), please remind me of these words I wrote.
I tend to suffer of selective amnesia in my dark days…

il_570xN.183415663

~ by DotedOn on July 7, 2015.

22 Responses to “315”

  1. Reblogged this on SURVIVORS BLOG HERE.

    Like

  2. Just smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This blog is so full of wisdom, thank you for reminding me that if something makes me happy, DO IT!!
    My choices in this stage of life, are mine to make and “HAPPY”, is one emotion I choose each and every time.

    And I agree wholeheartedly about religion and politics, it is truly your own opinion on the subject. No right or wrong!!

    Keep up the good work!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you T! I’m smiling! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Wisdom?? ๐Ÿ˜€
      Opinions and beliefs are yours and nobody should tell you theirs are better or right… right? ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Like always you tell it like it is for you! Not a bad idea to live this way. If someone continues to anger/disrespect me, I cut them out of my life. Life is to short to spend time on negative feelings.
    We only get one chance.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly, we only get one chance!
      Why there are some who don’t get it??
      hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re going to like the tunes this week. They all make me feel loved, beautiful or falling in love. Feelings I miss. Don’t think it’s just singles who are missing love or the feel they want.
        ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sorry Twin… Missing love is not a nice feeling… Love is my fuel and I ran out of it over 6 years ago… I don’t like living this way, it’s not living, it’s freaking surviving!!
        hugs! โค
        I'll check the tunes soon!

        Liked by 1 person

      • You me might have to work on your perspective. If your not living for you and the kids, your cheating someone. Many people are in relationships and just coasting. You can’t put your happiness up to someone else. I hate to say it but you could get dumped on several times before a good man comes along. If you are not happy without a man, do some soul searching. People are more attracted to people who are happy. Your making it a huge part of your life, it appears you think of non stop how unhappy you are. You can find happiness in your own life or be miserable until prince charming comes along.
        Dig deep and find happiness for yourself.
        Huggs
        Twin

        Liked by 1 person

      • Twin, I can be happy alone! It’s just that I’m much happier when I have someone to share my feelings. I miss that. I really miss it and it’s not the same feeling I have for my kids. It’s hard to explain. I need to give this love/passion/affection to someone or it burns in me ๐Ÿ™‚
        The problem is that mostly I tend to choose the wrong recipients… Hopefully that changes soon!
        hugs

        Liked by 1 person

      • Twin
        I’m sending good karma your way.
        Twin

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you Twin, I need it ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Well said Paola!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It felt like you were in my head with this post.. I don’t want to die either, just not exist on those dark days.. Keep smiling, you are so deeply loved and serve a huge purpose here on earth ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿปโค๏ธ

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is one very rich post, Paola. I agree with you on not turning the other cheek. The way the world is set up, you have to fight for what you want. Or keep getting slapped, so to speak.
    Reading this made me feel better about stuff (you know the ones I mean).
    This is a great post. Keep ’em coming…
    xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
