374

Screen Shot 2015-09-02 at 11.10.46 AM

Friday. I’m just back from bringing my son to kindergarten and I’m frozen. 8ºC/46ºF. If that’s summer, I don’t even want to think how it’ll be in winter.
I managed to skip yesterday’s parents-teacher meeting. The man went alone and came back around 8.45pm. He was all smiles and the first thing he said was: “I think I want to marry a German woman… That teacher was efficient!!”. I’m glad he was happy. We know how important it’s when mom is happy but trust me, when the ex is happy, it’s even better.

Everything is ready for tomorrow. I surprised myself back in July when I decided to make the Schultüte for my daughter. You are probably wondering if I was high when I decided to do something 6 weeks ahead. No, I wasn’t. I just remembered last year when I had to do it for my son and I left it for the last minute and ended up sticking pieces of paper until 2am.

According to wikipedia, a Schultüte (or School bag), is a paper or plastic bag in form of a big cone.
When children in Germany, The Czech Republic, parts of Poland and Austria set off for their first day in school upon entering first grade, their parents and/or grandparents present them with a big cardboard cone, prettily decorated and filled with toys, chocolate, candies, school supplies, and various other goodies. It is given to children to make this anxiously awaited first day of school a little bit sweeter.

jjjj

Maybe it’s a bit sweeter for the kids but for me is part of the pain in the ass that the first freaking school day means. My daughter is way too excited, she’s not sleeping and she’s counting the seconds. Not to mention she doesn’t stop talking and asking me “are we there yet?” so writing this post is not going as smoothly as expected.
That’s the Schultüte I made. It’s not a cone, it’s like a tall pyramid. All the sides have different colors but you can’t see them.

IMG_2406

It’s filled with candy, some toys and chalk that the man bought for her and I will highly advice her to take that to his dad’s house because it’s supposed to be used on the floor and experience taught me that my kids prefer to use it on the walls. That’s why chalk is not longer welcome here.

And IT’S FRIDAY, I’M IN LOVE! And I really want a school related song but my daughter doesn’t stop talking and that’s making things quite difficult for me. I listened to many songs and nothing was too convincing. Anyway, I chose this one because I love how the banjo sounds and it reminded me of my awful school days when people asked me: “What did you learn in school today?” and I really didn’t know what to answer because most of my school days were spent dreaming about what else I could be doing instead of being there.

Enjoy Pete Seeger

What Did You Learn in School Today?

(Written by Tom Paxton)

What did you learn in school today,
Dear little boy of mine?
What did you learn in school today,
Dear little boy of mine?
I learned that Washington never told a lie.
I learned that soldiers seldom die.
I learned that everybody’s free.
And that’s what the teacher said to me.
That’s what I learned in school today.
That’s what I learned in school.

What did you learn in school today,
Dear little boy of mine?
What did you learn in school today,
Dear little boy of mine?
I learned that policemen are my friends.
I learned that justice never ends.
I learned that murderers die for their crimes.
Even if we make a mistake sometimes.
That’s what I learned in school today.
That’s what I learned in school.

What did you learn in school today,
Dear little boy of mine?
What did you learn in school today,
Dear little boy of mine?
I learned our government must be strong.
It’s always right and never wrong.
Our leaders are the finest men.
And we elect them again and again.
That’s what I learned in school today.
That’s what I learned in school.

What did you learn in school today,
Dear little boy of mine?
What did you learn in school today,
Dear little boy of mine?
I learned that war is not so bad.
I learned of the great ones we have had.
We fought in Germany and in France.
And some day I might get my chance.
That’s what I learned in school today.
That’s what I learned in school.


sources:
wikipedia.org
http://www.mydfz.com

~ by DotedOn on September 4, 2015.

10 Responses to “374”

  1. Reblogged this on SURVIVORS BLOG HERE.

    Like

  2. Oh yes, I know how your husband feels. We have a back to school night here and it’s supposed to last 45 mins. The teacher last year was very quick and let us out after about 25. I was so happy. I left the one this year after about 35 minutes and the teacher seemed like she was no where near stopping. I really don’t like my daughter’s teacher this year.

    Hey, that gifty thing for the first day it s a great idea but what a pain for the moms. I assure you though, no kid in America is that excited to go to school on the first day.

    As for the Pete Seeger song, wow, you really dug this one up! An oldie but a goodie!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OMG! The Schultüte you made looked way prettier than the one you found online. I would be super thrilled if my mum made it on the first day of my first grade 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
