379

379

Wednesday. I opened my eyes this morning feeling cold. I opened the weather app and it said: 7ºC/45ºF. WTF! We are still in summer!! What if it never warms up again? I mean, what if the next summers are all like this horrible summer of 2015? I never thought a summer could be worse than the one in 1998 with only 8 dry days. But this one was worse. Much worse. Cold and dark and wet at least 5 days a week.

September is Suicide Prevention Month. I’m sure we all knew at least one person who committed suicide.
I knew this man, Felipe. He was one of my parents’ clients. He was a nice man, maybe 60 years old. I liked him very much. He was kind and funny. I met him one of the times I went to visit my parents back in 2000. I saw him a few times the next couple of years when I visited them.
The last time I saw Felipe, he wasn’t doing very well. My parents told me that he owed a lot of money and that he made promises that he wasn’t able to keep. I remember one time I was with my brother and we saw him coming. My brother said: “Crap, not this man again!” “What’s wrong? he’s a nice guy”. Then Felipe rang the bell and I never knew what was wrong.
A few months passed and one day when I called my mom she said: “You are not going to like this” “Shit, who died?” “Felipe” “How? Why?” “He shot himself in the head, his secretary found him”. I froze.

I never knew someone who had committed suicided before. That made me think a lot. And I still don’t get it. I think I have mixed feelings about it. It’s hard for me to think how could someone end their life. I’m terrified of death. When I was depressed, and trust me, it was bad, I never thought of ending my life. I only wanted to disappear. Get partial amnesia and go somewhere else, far from everything. But I didn’t want to die. I couldn’t stop thinking about how I could break my children and parents’ hearts if I did something like that. I thought that they would have so many unanswered questions. And guilt. They would blame themselves for everything. So not fair for them.
Then I think about all these people who decided to end their lives and did it. Did they ever stop to think about the people around who loved them? Did they try to ask for help and maybe they didn’t get it? Did they really think that everything was lost and that there was no hope at all?

Maybe you know someone who’s feeling hopeless. Maybe you heard someone talking about how unbearable life is and that there is nothing to look forward to. Maybe you know someone who started neglecting their appearance or changing habits. If you are worry about them, don’t be afraid, just reach out. Be yourself. Be sympathetic. Don’t judge. Listen. Stay calm. Offer hope. Let the person know you care, that he/she is not alone.

This guide is about Warning Signs of Suicide.

Screen Shot 2015-09-09 at 10.50.00 AM


And remember: A suicidal person may not ask for help but that doesn’t mean that help isn’t wanted.
Reach out, you could be saving a life.

source:
http://www.helpguide.org/articles/suicide-prevention/suicide-prevention-helping-someone-who-is-suicidal.htm

~ by DotedOn on September 9, 2015.

18 Responses to “379”

  1. Reblogged this on SURVIVORS BLOG HERE.

    Like

  2. The only person I know who committed suicide was the father of a girl who went to my son’s rock school. I didn’t really know the father though. It amazes me that this girl and her mother always seem in good spirits. I really think they knew the father was sick (mentally) and did something he thought would be best for his family, believe it or not.
    I know plenty of people who died from overdoses, though. Also a form of suicide, I think.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Yes, they often think they’re doing their family a favour. It’s very sad, and we definitely want to reach out if we suspect. You never know, and you never want to take that chance or live with that regret. Good post. Good reminder.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Good reminder. I know the pain of suicide, it leaves the deepest scars.
    🙂
    M

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Wonderful post, P, and I agree with all of the comments. Suicide is often referred to as a selfish act, but if the person truly believes that the world would be better without them in it, that changes things. Thank you for this post.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m so sorry to hear this! I guess his depression did get over his head and he couldn’t think of anything but to end his life. You made a good point dear! Just stay calm and you will realize those who love you will be heartbroken and guilty about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Knowing the warning signs is really important.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
