392

Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 11.37.06 AM

Mug shot Tuesday. Zombies eat brains. Don’t worry, you are safe. And so I am. My brain decided to take a break and leave. I truly need it back. I couldn’t function really well before when I had it but right now it’s even worse. On the bright side, I’m glad zombies don’t eat hearts. I’d be in big trouble then.

Yesterday my son loved the cake. I could make it look ok even though I decided it was done so I turned off the oven, took it out and then I saw it sinking in the middle. I went to touch it and it was too soft. Crap. That’s why you test with a knife to see if it’s done before you remove it from the oven.
Well, it looked done. I had no choice, I had to put it back in the oven. Then it was a bit too golden but at least it was done.
Then again I couldn’t take it out the stupid form. Is there a trick for that? I buttered and floured the form and waited the 10 minutes, what am I doing wrong??
Finally I scratched it from the bottom and add the pieces. It’s nice to have experience with jigsaw puzzles.
I prepared the icing, left it in the fridge and went to pick my son to kindergarten. I wanted to finish as soon as I got back but I had to wait because the cake was still warm. My other kids got home and meanwhile I went to do other things.
After about half an hour, I went to finish the cake and discovered that someone had eaten a lot of the icing and it wasn’t enough to cover all the cake the way I wanted to. We still don’t know who did it.
Again I had to improvise with crushed cookies.

This is how it looked in the end. My son wanted a cake with cars that he could eat. He loved it.

IMG_2583

I’m always grateful at the nice people for having these ideas and posting the pictures for the rest of us to see.

~ by DotedOn on September 22, 2015.

21 Responses to “392”

  1. Reblogged this on SURVIVORS BLOG HERE.

    Like

  2. Happy birthday to your son! The cake looks terrific. I don’t think I would have been able to improvise nearly as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aw, great job on the cake. Sometimes baked goods exist just to humble you, but you rolled with the punches and I bet no one could tell it wasn’t perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Once again happy birthday to you son! I really appreciate that you are willing to spend time on baking a birthday cake for all your kids. πŸ™‚ It’s really sweet of you!!! I can imagine how happy he was to see this birthday cake just the way he wanted it to be (with cars on it). Enjoy your day dear! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Leave for DC in the morning, back on Thursday. Hopefully I’ll have plans for surgery and start of treatment.
    Let you know what I find out.
    M

    Liked by 1 person

  6. That’s an awesome looking cake. Again, as with the cheescake.. I await my slice.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
