430

Screen Shot 2015-10-27 at 3.15.22 PM

Friday. I can predict this will be a difficult post to write. I’m exhausted and for some reason (maybe too much alcohol), I’m very slow this morning. Slower that usual. The commands from my brain are not being listened by the rest of my body. So excuse me if this post is messier than usual (see, I can’t even think of a synonym here).
I have an idea of what I want to write but I can’t wrap it up in a whole (is that the way you say it?). Holy crap.

Let’s try.
A few days ago, Robert at robertmgoldstein.com gave me and my fellow bloggers at survivorsbloghere.wrodpress.com, the “Respect” award.
I think it’s an honor to receive such an award. Robert wrote wrote this on his blog:

The “Respect” Award is my personal award for fellow bloggers who consistently reach out to other bloggers, offer support, are kind, struggle to understand differences in people, and who treat themselves and other people with kindness and respect.

You don’t have to do anything for this award.

You can choose to copy the Award Picture and give the award to the people who have earned your respect or you can do nothing.

That’s the kind of award I like. An award that you feel you really earned and not like those that ask you to choose 15 bloggers so you just randomly pick some because otherwise it’s heavy on your conscience if you don’t or it just pushes you to break all the rules.
This is an award that RESPECTS my wishes and really feels like a prize.

And if all the reasons above are not enough, I can tell you that when I read this last paragraph that Robert wrote, I couldn’t help but feeling so proud.

This is my way of saying thank you. You have earned my respect.

Thank you Robert!! Earning your respect means a lot to me!

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 1.26.30 PM

After I thanked Robert for the award, he replied with this video:

“… But the sad thing is, there is so little respect left in the world…” I couldn’t agree more.
Those words reminded me of a part of the epic poem Martín Fierro, written by Argentinian author José Hernandez between 1872 and 1879. The poem has 2316 lines and it rhymes. And trust me, rhyming in Spanish is not so easy.

Here is my favorite part:

“Muchas cosas pierde el hombre
Que a veces las vuelve a hallar
Pero les debo enseñar
Y es bueno que lo recuerden
Si la vergüenza se pierde
Jamás se vuelve a encontrar”

It means something like this: Men can lose many things and some things they’ll find again. But let me teach you this and it’s good if you remember, if it’s shame the thing you lose, you’ll never find it again.
“Vergüenza” means shame.

I found that someone translated it this way:

“A man will lose many a thing
he might sometimes find again
let me teach you, though, my friend
and it should not be forgot
when it is honor that’s lost
it will not come back your way”

The word shame is replaced by the word honor. And that’s exactly what that verse means.
If you look up in the dictionary the word “respect”, you’ll see one of its meanings is:

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 1.06.49 PM

Crap… Is there a more difficult subject for a foreign chick with a hungover to write about? I doubt it.
Anyway, if you lose the respect for someone/something, it’s very likely that you’ll keep losing respect for more and more things. Like a domino effect. You start being less and less tolerant towards anything that crosses your path.
That’s why I love that verse. It always reminds me of the important values men should never lose. And one of those is RESPECT.

And IT’S FRIDAY, I’M IN LOVE. And there is no better song for today’s post than this one. Here is Aretha Franklin singing:

RESPECT
(written by Otis Redding & Anquette Allen)

(oo) What you want
(oo) Baby, I got
(oo) What you need
(oo) Do you know I got it?
(oo) All I’m askin’
(oo) Is for a little respect when you come home (just a little bit)
Hey baby (just a little bit) when you get home
(just a little bit) mister (just a little bit)

I ain’t gonna do you wrong while you’re gone
Ain’t gonna do you wrong (oo) ’cause I don’t wanna (oo)
All I’m askin’ (oo)
Is for a little respect when you come home (just a little bit)
Baby (just a little bit) when you get home (just a little bit)
Yeah (just a little bit)

I’m about to give you all of my money
And all I’m askin’ in return, honey
Is to give me my propers
When you get home (just a, just a, just a, just a)
Yeah baby (just a, just a, just a, just a)
When you get home (just a little bit)
Yeah (just a little bit)

Ooo, your kisses (oo)
Sweeter than honey (oo)
And guess what? (oo)
So is my money (oo)
All I want you to do (oo) for me
Is give it to me when you get home (re, re, re ,re)
Yeah baby (re, re, re ,re)
Whip it to me (respect, just a little bit)
When you get home, now (just a little bit)

R-E-S-P-E-C-T
Find out what it means to me
R-E-S-P-E-C-T
Take care, TCB

Oh (sock it to me, sock it to me,
sock it to me, sock it to me)
A little respect (sock it to me, sock it to me,
sock it to me, sock it to me)
Whoa, babe (just a little bit)
A little respect (just a little bit)
I get tired (just a little bit)
Keep on tryin’ (just a little bit)
You’re runnin’ out of foolin’ (just a little bit)
And I ain’t lyin’ (just a little bit)
(re, re, re, re) ‘spect
When you come home (re, re, re ,re)
Or you might walk in (respect, just a little bit)
And find out I’m gone (just a little bit)
I got to have (just a little bit)
A little respect (just a little bit)

Have a respectful Friday.


sources:
metrolyrics.com
dictionary.com
wikipedia.org

~ by DotedOn on October 30, 2015.

21 Responses to “430”

  1. Reblogged this on SURVIVORS BLOG HERE.

    Like

  2. Cracking me up, writing about respect with a hangover. That is good stuff. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. RESPECT indeed! Great song and message for today Paola!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am so relieved it’s Friday – it’s been a rough week. Right now I’m feeling a healthy respect for the weekend.
    Congrats on your award.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Respect-awesome award. I love that song!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love this no strings attached award. The reason I don’t like WP awards is because they’re like a game of tag, that inevitably end in self promotion. Enjoy your “real” award. You really do deserve it!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. awe, nice job on the award! congrats to someone who also I respect very much! XX

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Respect… something that is highly lost today, I agree. BTW, that video is totally a spoof, in case you didn’t catch that. Still funny.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This is truly an honorable award. You totally deserve it. Always reach out to us with kindness and love. Congrats sweetie! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
