437

437

Friday. I made it. Some days I felt I was about to throw in the towel. When I get lost or discouraged it’s really hard for me to have some perspective. I need a hug or a shake and I hate not to have anyone near me to do it. My mom is great with the shakes. Her tough love made me kind of strong. Can you believe the woman never kept a drawing we (her kids) made for her? Or any school thing that belonged to us? Or baby clothing! In a way, that’s great, she really has no clutter.
You have no idea the things I kept. Many of those things I decided to throw away years later and some I still keep. I really love those days when I feel I’m ready to let go and I don’t remember why I kept something in the first place so no emotional damage is done.

Spring cleaning with my mom is like this:
“You hoarder!! Why the f#$k do you keep this dirty napkin?!”
“That’s from the day I went out with xx in September 1991”
“And what’s this?? The stick of a lollipop?? And that?? Is that chewed gum??? I can’t believe you are my daughter!”
“I’m also dad’s daughter”
“That explains everything”
So, sometimes I’m only my dad’s daughter… Most of the time, to be honest.

Writing about decluttering reminds me that I should really clean al the closets and cupboards and get rid of the expired food and medicines. But that’s on the top 3 of things I hate to do. So I always find the perfect excuse to delay it as much as possible. For example, it’s pretty dark outside and I just checked and it’ll rain for the next 6 days and I don’t like artificial light so that’ll have to wait.

I can’t believe myself. I hate when it rains every day but every time I have to do something that I don’t like, like mowing the lawn or tidy up, I’m always glad when it’s raining and even gladder when I know it won’t stop soon.

And IT’S FRIDAY, I’M IN LOVE! And in a couple of days when I get tired of this ugly weather, for sure I’ll wonder who’ll stop the rain.

Enjoy Creedence Clearwater Revival,

WHO’LL STOP THE RAIN
(Written by John Fogerty)

Long as I remember the rain been comin’ down
Clouds of mystery pourin’ confusion on the ground.
Good men through the ages tryin’ to find the sun.
And I wonder still I wonder who’ll stop the rain.

I went down Virginia seekin’ shelter from the storm
Caught up in the fable I watched the tower grow
Five year plans and new deals wrapped in golden chains.
And I wonder still I wonder who’ll stop the rain.

Heard the singers playin’, how we cheered for more.
The crowd had rushed together tryin’ to keep warm.
Still the rain kept pourin’, fallin’ on my ears
And I wonder, still I wonder who’ll stop the rain.

source:
metrolyrics.com

~ by DotedOn on November 6, 2015.

24 Responses to “437”

  1. Reblogged this on SURVIVORS BLOG HERE.

    Like

  2. Rain can be so depressing, but it can also be so lovely when your indoors and cuddled up in a blanket or in your PJ’s. X

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Friday sweetie! šŸ™‚ My mom didn’t keep anything I drew or any of my baby clothing.She even lost the necklace I bought her on Mother’s Day, but it’s all good to me as long as we love each other. šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  4. i don’t mind the rain. It gives me a reason to stay in and watch tv ,or read a book. šŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My daughter likes to keep many of the tests and pictures she draws in school while I only want to keep a select few. They say that’s best…that it teaches kids that not everything they do is so great. I don’t know. It seems to me like if I throw it out right away, that’s that. If not, it starts to collect sentimental value and then it’s harder to throw out.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s Friday, you made it, let’s do the wiggle!
    Rainy days are great for wine and dance parties.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This post was adorable! One of my favorites to date. šŸ˜˜

    Liked by 1 person

    • Please, tell me it wasn’t the chewed gum!! šŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      • It was all of it! I come from a long line of “sentimental hoarders”,so I was shocked to see that your mother doesn’t operate like that. I’m agnostic but there’s a book by a Christian author that your post reminded me of. It’s called The Five Love Languages, and I think it applies to human-kind at large. For example: Your mother likes to clean and organize your home when she visits. Her “love language” is probably “acts of service”. There’s a quick quiz you can take and I think it’s a fun and informative little exercise. Just google “5 love languages quiz” and tell me what you think!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I will take the quiz for sure!! (Tomorrow, it’s 2.15am now :D)
        Thank you!! (And it sucks being a sentimental hoarder!) šŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Go to bed! It’s 8:30 p.m. here!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I took the test, very interesting šŸ™‚ Thank you, Kim!
        I scored “Quality Time” first and “Physical Touch”/”Acts of Service” second.
        For sure my mom is Acts of Service šŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m “quality time” and “gifts”.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Wait a second.. you are your dad’s daughter… is that like from a few days ago when your son was your son? šŸ˜€ (don’t you hate when people read your blogs one after the other as we play catch up and can remember those little things?)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
