440

440

Monday. After I turned off the alarm clock this morning, I said to myself: “Three more minutes”. I closed my eyes and the next time I opened them, it was 31 minutes later. Great way to start the week. My Monday was half an hour shorter without any effort.

The weekend was ok. Not many things got done except for some laundry. I spent most of the time with my kids, they love that.

Yesterday my daughter was watching some YouTube videos. For some reason she likes to watch Crazy Russian Hacks. Every five or ten minutes she came to me: “Mom, look!!”. The guy was peeling apples using a drill. Then the guy was peeling potatoes with a toilet brush. Then he was doing something with potato chips. Then cutting a watermelon.
“Mom, what does it mean ‘Don’t try this at home’?”
“It means you DO NO TRY THAT AT HOME”.
“Yes, but what about if I go outside?”
“That counts as home too”
“But home should be inside the house, right?”
“Right… But when the guy says: ‘don’t try this at home’ it means that it’s dangerous so you shouldn’t try it”.
“I know, but see? He didn’t burn his hands… So it’s not dangerous”
“He didn’t burn his hands?? What are you watching??”

She was watching a video on how to start a fire with dryer lint. I panicked a bit because she LOVES fire and if she teams up with my older son, I’m sure they’ll burn down the house one day.

YouTube is full of ‘survival’ stuff videos and most of them involve how to start/maintain a fire. Using whatever you can imagine… From the oil of a tuna can (before opening it) to a potato chip. Pretty scary for a parent but incredibly cool for a kid… Or a big kid like me. I’d love to try some of those things one day.

If you are curious about how to start a fire with dryer lint, here’s the video.

~ by DotedOn on November 9, 2015.

18 Responses to “440”

  1. Reblogged this on SURVIVORS BLOG HERE.

    Like

  2. Kids love youtube! So much good stuff on there, but also a haven for mischievous ones. My boys are forever finding things to get them in trouble there. And don’t forget – the snooze button on your alarm clock is NOT your friend. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yeah, always wanted to know how to start a fire with dryer lint…ha, ha, not. Did you ever watch the Addams family movie? Your kids remind me of Wednesday and Pugsley. The mom’s always asking ‘what are you kids up to?” and they’re out there playing with blowtorches.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dryer lint is HIGHLY flammable. It’s one of the reasons why you need to clean the lint trap on a dryer and one of the major causes of house fires. Just an FYI. I use it as a sort of kindling when I am making fires because it is such a good source of a starter fire and has a very low ignition temperature.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I had no idea I would learn so much when I came to your blog today!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ‘My Monday was half an hour shorter without any effort’……. that is so true, for the rest of the day you’re trying to catch up!

    As for all the YouTube you had me smiling…………. btw you are fabulous 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • 🙂 Thank you Andrew!
      I hate Mondays and I hate mornings… I also hate wasting time in things I don’t like. I’m always catching up because I use the little time I have to do the things I want and that leaves me with almost not time for the rest 🙂
      We all know that I could organize and get everything done… but that’s just not me! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m glad I came to watch this video now, not when I was a kid…I would end up creating a big mess if I were still a kid lol 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. omg what will they think of next! lol about dont try this at home. I hope she doesnt try anything she’s seen! XX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
