451

451

Friday. I’m not so inspired today and it’s quite late. Soon all my kids will be here and then it’ll be impossible to write more than 3 words without interruption. They’ll stay this weekend with me and I’m sure they’ll be waiting for me to entertain them. I hope they find folding the laundry as amusing as I expect them to.

Did you ever have to take a really difficult decision and were so afraid of change that you decided to wait for a bit longer to see if things would be different or if a miracle would happen or something that would make you avoid to go there and do that thing that you are dreading to do?
(If you understood the paragraph above, wow, I’m amazed… sometimes things are really clear in my mind but putting them on paper is not as easy as I expected).

I had to take difficult decisions a few times and I thought I was going to suffocate. I planned everything in my head and I was waiting for the perfect time. The perfect time never seemed to come. I had the shits for who knows how long.
The truth is, some things are just not easy to do, ever.

We have a saying in my country: “Al mal paso, dale prisa”. Literally it means something like: When the road is bumpy, walk fast. Or: let’s get it over and done with.

I had that saying all the time in my head. The longer I waited, the more difficult it seemed.
I mentioned before that every time I have to take a decision, I think about a verse of one of my favorite songs, Wish You Were Here:

Did they get you to trade
Your heroes for ghosts?
Hot ashes for trees?
Hot air for a cool breeze?
Cold comfort for change?
And did you exchange
A walk on part in the war
For a lead role in a cage?

Cold comfort for change… I couldn’t get stuck with cold comfort so I gave that dreaded step and said what I had to say… And while I was saying it, another saying came to my mind: “Ya que estamos en el baile, bailemos”. Literally: Since we’re at the dance, let’s dance. And it means: In for a penny, in for a pound; might as well do it. So I unloaded all the crap that was suffocating me and kept me from feeling free.
Someone was going to get hurt and I hated it, but I was already hurting for so long…
I felt better afterwards. When I had to choose, I chose me.

And IT’S FRIDAY, I’M IN LOVE. Today’s song, if I understood it properly, it’s about taking risks and making decisions. Since we are at the dance, let’s dance.
Listen to Lee Ann Womack and remember, when you get the choice to sit out or dance, I HOPE YOU DANCE. Nobody needs to look back on their years and wonder…

I HOPE YOU DANCE
(written by Tia Sillers & Mark Sanders)

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder
You get your fill to eat but always keep that hunger
May you never take one single breath for granted
God forbid love ever leave you empty handed
I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean
Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens
Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance

I hope you dance
I hope you dance

I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance
Never settle for the path of least resistance
Livin’ might mean takin’ chances, but they’re worth takin’
Lovin’ might be a mistake, but it’s worth makin’
Don’t let some Hellbent heart leave you bitter
When you come close to sellin’ out, reconsider
Give the heavens above more than just a passing glance
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance

I hope you dance (Time is a wheel in constant motion always rolling us along)
I hope you dance

I hope you dance (Tell me who wants to look back on their years and wonder)
I hope you dance (Where those years have gone?)

I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean
Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens
Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance

Dance

I hope you dance
I hope you dance (Time is a wheel in constant motion always rolling us along)
I hope you dance (Tell me who wants to look back on their years and wonder?)


source:
metrolyrics.com

~ by DotedOn on November 20, 2015.

25 Responses to “451”

  1. Reblogged this on SURVIVORS BLOG HERE.

    Like

  2. That is a brilliant quote for Wish you were here. Making tough choices instead of easy choices is a theme that runs throughout our lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m very bad with change and decisions and I have put decision making off but sometimes it’s unavoidable.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I feel like I definitely put off medical decisions, always hoping that some other, easier cure will crop up. I can feel crippled about it sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Change is hard, especially if you’re an optimist. I’ve been guilty of staying in a bad situation and just “hoping” things would magically change or that the person would change. I really admire you for walking away from your bad situation. I know it hasn’t been easy but nothing’s worse than denying who you are and depriving yourself of your life’s dreams.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It is a great song. Garth Brooks signs better than any one. You have to hear his version. I have an idea what’s going on. Hope I feel better. I’m thinking of you.
    πŸ™‚
    M

    Liked by 1 person

  7. That’s a great song.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I used to be the one who stayed and hoped things change dramatically, but then I realized things can only get worse. I’m glad I choose to move on nowadays and also glad you did the same. I’m proud of you sweetie ❀ πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
