519

Screen Shot 2016-01-26 at 1.36.18 PM

Wednesday. My grandma was operated and I only got a message from my sister saying: “She’s ok”. I’ll call in a few hours to know more.

Yesterday I got the glass of the front door replaced. I found out that my insurance won’t pay for it and it’s freaking expensive.
The owner of the house asked the men who changed the glass if I could get a discount. No, I couldn’t. So I’ll have to pay for it myself.
I got a few suggestions from a friend. He said: “Just put on the horns and the tail”.

red_devil_horns_tail_napkin-raaf678bfba1a40cbac76b4dc09500ec7_2cfjc_8byvr_512

“And ask them if you could make some kind of arrangement”.

Screen Shot 2016-01-26 at 3.42.04 PM

I don’t think I’m there yet but you should have heard the conversation (actually, it was a yelled monologue) that I had with my kids after discovering that I had to pay for the glass they broke.
I’m not sure if they understood the meaning of: “WTF do you want? If you keep breaking things, how the hell do you think am I going to pay for them? Do you think that the money comes from my armpits? Are you really expecting me to go and work in a corner?”

Maybe they didn’t get the “work in a corner” part.

corner

I really don’t know how to make them understand some things. Probably if I say: “No, there is no money for that because I have to pay for the glass”, they’ll get it.
I’m sure my son didn’t mean to break the glass but still he did it and it was because he wasn’t thinking about the consequences.
Action-Reaction. Freaking “THINK BEFORE YOU ACT!!”

I want them to understand that things don’t get replaced by themselves and that there’s always someone who has to pay for them, and mostly, it’ll be me.

Learning the lesson the hard way, it’s never nice.

~ by DotedOn on January 27, 2016.

18 Responses to “519”

  1. Reblogged this on SURVIVORS BLOG HERE.

    Like

  2. My brother could tell you some broken door glass stories, as a child he’d throw his toy bus down the stairs and smash the glass window (temper), happened so many times they had a wooden board cut to size ready. I guess you just have to keep explaining that things cost money, good way to learn everything has an intrinsic value. x

    Like

  3. Boys are the worst for breaking things. I have two dents in the family room, a dent on my new stainless steel refrigerator, and a broken bed slat for too much jumping on it. Apparently, I must have lots of time and money to fix all of these things. Arrgggh. On the bright side, I’m glad your grandma is doing better.

    Like

    • Thank you, Rob 🙂
      You are right, you need not only money, also time to fix the stuff… When they grow up, we can visit them and start the payback. I’m sure they’ll love to see us jumping on their beds 🙂

      Like

  4. Yeah, that’s a tough one. Stuff happens and it sucks, and you want to teach your kids responsibility, but at the same time, you don’t want to stroke out over it. Yep, it sucks.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes, that’s true. Sorry that happened. So I guess the owner won’t pay for the glass because ultimately it was your son’s fault it broke?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Make them work it off, P. They are little men who will someday grow in to big men. No woman wants to be with a man who is not accountable for his actions. It’s a tough life lesson, but a valuable one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
