542

542

Friday. I’m still shaking and so thankful to be alive. Apparently there was a really bad storm here in the area about 1.5 hours before landing, just after they served us breakfast. The freaking plane moved so much that I though I was going to die. I rarely vomit. The last time I vomited (while not pregnant) was in 1987. I still remember it.
Today I was holding puke (and stuff on the other exit) for almost 2 hours until the plane landed. When it did, I had to ask a guy to stop the people coming from the back part of the plane and let me RUN to a bathroom. He said: “I totally understand, everyone is sick at the back of the plane”.
Another thing to be thankful for, I was sitting by a wing and that’s said to be the part that moves the least… My ass!!

When I met my mom she said: “I think you have fever, are you ok?”
“No, I’m still shaking. The f#$king plane moved too much”
“I bet! The storm here was terrible!”

I got to see my grandma!! The first thing she said to me was: “I think I scared the shit out of a lot of people. Everybody came to see me, they think I’ll go up soon”.
“Maybe they thought you were tuning the harp”. (That’s a saying in my country when someone is not doing well. Probably because the angels mostly play the harp. Another saying for when someone is about to die is: “They are closer to the harp than to the guitar”).
All my life my grandma teased me with death. She knows I’m terrified of death and she knows that I’m scared of old people (because they could drop dead at my feet). So since I was about 3 years old, she keeps telling me: “I’ll get VERY, VERY, VERY old and one day I’ll die”. And all my life I replied: “No, you are never going to die”.
I think she wanted to see if I would freak out when she got old. Of course I do!! But for me she’s old since I was 3 and she’s only 46 years older than me. Which reminds me that tomorrow I’ll be freaking 44 and today I should be celebrating my last day of 43.
I’m jet lagged, feverish and I still have my stomach attached to my throat. I better try to rest a bit and see how the day goes.

And IT’S FRIDAY, I’M IN LOVE and I didn’t have the chance to think of a song so I’ll dedicate this to my grandmother Margarita. That man used to be her favorite singer.

Enjoy Alberto Castillo singing “Siga el Baile” (something like: ‘Keep The Party Going’ which I think, it’s very appropriate for today).
No matter what happens, I’ll be celebrating life.

~ by DotedOn on February 19, 2016.

15 Responses to “542”

  1. Reblogged this on SURVIVORS BLOG HERE.

    Like

  2. Happy Birthday honey πŸ™‚ x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh wow, you’re grandmother was so young when she was a grandma! They’re having them a lot later these days. Glad she is still hanging in there and seems like she has a good sense of humor.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Paola, so happy you landed safely. I’m thinking maybe that terrifying plane ride is what you needed—helps you put things in perspective as far as what’s important. Not Valentines or any of that stuff—but LIFE. Yours, your kids, your whole family—your grandma πŸ™‚ There is ALways a reason to be celebrating life πŸ™‚ So glad to hear about her! πŸ˜€ oxox

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Glad you finally get to see your grandma!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So glad you got to see your Grandma! I think I’m seeing where your sense of humor comes from.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
