605

605

Friday. I made it. I have to admit that this week felt really long. I woke up Wednesday thinking it was Thursday and when I realized I was wrong, I didn’t feel so happy.
Also on Wednesday my daughter let the remote control of the cable thing fall down and now it’s broken. They don’t care to stand up and change channels… I do. I like to use the “program” function and know what’s coming up. I can’t do that from the thing, it only has channel up and down… Ugh.
Since watching TV wasn’t an option, I decided to listen to music. I felt stuck.
Then I got a message from Mike.

IMG_3639

So I was listening over and over “Wish You Were Here” and concentrating on the second verse. That’s my favorite.

Did they get you to trade
Your heroes for ghosts?
Hot ashes for trees?
Hot air for a cool breeze?
Cold comfort for change?
And did you exchange
A walk on part in the war
For a lead role in a cage?

Specially the las 4 lines. “Cold comfort for change? And did you exchange, A walk on part in the war, For a lead role in a cage?”
I’m not sure if those words have the same effect on everyone.
They speak really loud to me.
I remember how things used to be before I left my ex. I felt I was in a cage. I felt that my wings had been cut off. That wasn’t a life. That was merely an existence. “I can stay here and die slowly every day, or I can leave, face the unknown and… anything has to be better than this…”

And I couldn’t stop thinking about the movie “Braveheart”. It’s hard to pick a line from that movie.
“Fight and you may die. Run, and you’ll live. At least a while…”
“Every man dies, not every man really lives”.

I was lost in my thoughts when I saw an email from Mike.

Screen Shot 2016-04-22 at 9.32.41 AM

I clicked on the link but I couldn’t watch the video from here. While I was searching for the video, I put the song but I couldn’t really understand the lyrics so I looked for them.
I listened to the song once more but this time following the lyrics. WOW… I got goosebumps. So I listened to it again and again until I was crying like a baby.

And IT’S FRIDAY, I’M IN LOVE! And I’m a riser and a fighter and when darkness comes to town, I’m a lighter. And an army couldn’t keep down my desire. I want to live!!

Enjoy Dierks Bentley singing “Riser”, have a beautiful Friday and remember,

Screen Shot 2016-04-22 at 10.43.02 AM

RISER
(written by Steven Moakler & Travis Meadows)

Lay your pretty head down on my shoulder
You don’t have to worry anymore
This old world is cold and getting colder
And I know how to lock and bolt the door

I’m strong enough to hold you through the winter
Mean enough to stare your demons down
The hard times put the shine into the diamond
I won’t let that keep us in the ground

I’m a riser
I’m a get up off the ground, don’t run and hider
Pushing comes a-shovin’
Hey I’m a fighter
When darkness comes to town, I’m a lighter
A get out aliver, out of the fire
Survivor

If you we ain’t got no money I can make it
I ain’t afraid of working to the bone
When I don’t know what I’m do and I can fake it
I’ll pray till Jesus rolls away the stone

And I’m a riser
I’m a get up off the ground, don’t run and hider
Pushin’ comes a-shovin’
Hey I’m a fighter
When darkness comes to town, I’m a lighter
A get out aliver, of the fire, survivor

I’m a trier
I’m a get down low so I can lift you higher
An army couldn’t keep down my desire
Yeah

I’m a riser
I’m a get up off the ground, don’t run and hider
Hey pushin’ comes to shovin’
Baby I’m a fighter
When darkness comes to town, I’m a lighter
A get out aliver, of the fire, survivor

I’m a riser
I’m a riser
I’m a riser

source:

metrolyrics.com

~ by DotedOn on April 22, 2016.

17 Responses to “605”

  1. Reblogged this on SURVIVORS BLOG HERE.

    Like

  2. […] via 605 — DotedOn […]

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahh, country. It happens to be what I listen to a lot these days. Granted, I was born with a southern soul and I’m even wearing my boots today. Glad to hear you are in a better place. 😀 Woot, woot!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My audio isn’t working so I couldn’t hear the song, but I love the lyrics.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pink Floyd’s lyrics are dangerously sentimental. Even after all these years, if I allow myself to get lost in them, they will always provoke emotion.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ll have to put listening to that song on hold because I can’t access that video from my work computer either. I’m glad that Wish you Were here speaks to you. I had an infuriating experience with that song just last week. I was in a cab and that song came on the radio and about halfway through, the driver changed the station! Who DOES that?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’d be furious too!!
      But imagine that maybe he couldn’t handle it and did that to protect you!! You know, he could have gotten really depressed and instead of changing the station, crash the cab against a tree 😀

      Like

  7. indeed, you are a fighter! Keep on fighting. XXX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
