606

606

Saturday. What happens when I can’t express myself but I really need to let all the crap out? I cut my hair.
And that’s what I did yesterday… And I continued this morning. And I better ask my son to hide the scissors because this is not going to end up well.
In a few words, I don’t qualify anymore as a long haired woman.
If you ask: Did it help? I have no answer for you.

I’m awake since 6.30am and I stayed in bed until after 10.30am. That gave me too much time to think. And that’s never good. But hey! If I get to put on paper all my thoughts you may get a glimpse of how my mind works… yeah, right!
No, I don’t think that’s ever going to happen. My dad is shaking his head since the day I was born. Not in disbelief but in awe. I’m not his favorite child but I know I’m his most precious wonder. He admires me and I’m not sure why. I never played by the rules and you can even say that I broke the mold. He even caught me when I was about to have sex with my boyfriend when I was 17. And he didn’t die or locked me in a tower.

If I make a decision, I’ll defend it with sword and shield. If I say: “I’m going to do this”, trust me, I try until I do it. And if I say: “I want this”, I fight until I get it.
Maybe it’s my determination what he loves about me. “You should have been a lawyer”. “Never!! Imagine if I have to defend something that I don’t believe in?”
I probably remind him of himself and his dreams. But he had a really sad childhood and mine was one of the happiest you can imagine.
Anyway, that never stopped him. He knew what he wanted and he fought for it. Always. He convinced my mom to go on a road trip to Europe when he was 35 years old… And when I said: “he convinced my mom” I don’t mean they went together. No, he went with my uncle and my mom stayed home with my sister and me.
He said: “Both my parents died when they were very young. This is something I want to do and I want to do it now”.
I’m not asking for your opinion or your permission. I’m telling you what’s going to happen. And I don’t need your blessing but if I get it, I’ll leave smiling.

And I’m just like him. There is not: “What do you think about this?” It’s more: “Things are like this and this is what I want”.
Because in the end, why should you care about what other people think? Are they living your life? Do they walk in your shoes?
That could sound a bit egoistic but if you are not harming anyone, why should you put your happiness on hold?

Screen Shot 2016-04-23 at 1.26.36 PM

I was going to make a few confession but I already wrote too much. I guess I’ll start purging tomorrow. Or I’ll be bald.

~ by DotedOn on April 23, 2016.

19 Responses to “606”

  1. Reblogged this on SURVIVORS BLOG HERE.

    Like

  2. It’s good to be a precious wonder, you know… Something to be proud about.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Do you like the short hair? Picture! Picture! Picture!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. There’s something about a good haircut! You are right about it! Even if there isn’t much left! 😀
    Wish you a fresh start and a nice weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like your dads way of doing things, glad you take after him! and lol about your hair. as long as you like it? XX

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pictures or it didn’t happen.. and yeah, hide the scissors cause bald only works for a select few men…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
