622

622

Monday. Who would have thought? I’m on my yard having breakfast and it’s only past 9am. My son would say: “Achievement unlocked”.
I had a great Mother’s Day. I think I can put it on top of all my mother’s days.
After working for a few hours on the yard (I didn’t finish), I decided to sit down and color my book while listening to some music. Life can’t get much better than that. Yes, it could but then, that’s the best I could get.
It was about 2.30 pm and I called my kids to see if they wanted to be with me. “Come on! It’s Mother’s Day!”… Complete silence.
So I went to the fridge and grabbed a beer. Life was getting better already.
I needed the umbrella because the sun was killing my computer and warming up my beer.

IMG_3729

You should see my relaxed face. But of course, it lasted only minutes because after two sips, ALL my kids were around me. “Mom, can we grill something?”
“I don’t think so, I have only 5 hotdogs and a meatloaf in the freezer”.
“OK”
I think it was too late to think about barbecuing but when half an hour later my oldest son said:
“I can start the fire”. I had to agree.
“Really? Can you?”
“Yes, how hard it could be?”
“I’m not sure if you remember me last year saying: This was the last f#$king time I do something like this”.
He didn’t care, so he started preparing the briquettes, and paper and some starters. He lit a small fire and spent about 35 minutes blowing on the flames to see if he could get the bricks on fire. I couldn’t resist to say something he says over and over to his younger siblings when they can’t accomplish something and that gets to my nerves: “Lighting a fire is not for pussies”. He gave me the look. I only laughed, I was tipsy already.

My second son came to me and asked: “Can I invite dad for dinner?”
“Are you f#$king kidding me? NO WAY!”
And then he placed his iPod on the table. I froze and said: “Is he listening to me?”
“No, we are chatting”
“Ok. Listen, your dad and I split up. That means I don’t want him here when he doesn’t have to be here. Did you already invited him?”
“No”
“OK”
I really didn’t need my ex coming here and telling us how to light a fire because he thinks he knows just because he has a pair hanging.

Twenty more minutes passed and my son kept blowing on the briquettes so I said: “I believe I have some fluid to make that job easier, you can check behind the door”.
“Are you freaking kidding me?? It’s been an hour that I’m here and you tell me just now?”
“I remembered it just now”.

After one hour and 10 minutes the fire was ready so I put the meatloaf on it. I searched some instructions before doing it and everywhere it was written: “Cook until the inside is 160ΒΊ degrees”. Great! I don’t have a thermometer… So I thought one hour should be enough.
But after about 15 minutes, one side of the meatloaf was almost burnt and the inside was still frozen. Shit.
I took it out the grill and sliced it. The pieces looked like misshaped hamburgers. When one was ready I asked my oldest son to try it:
“Is it good?”
“No, it’s not good. It’s delicious! Much better than from the oven”.

IMG_3731

They loved the alternative meatloaf on the grill.

Later they asked if they could have some marshmallows too. Yeah, why not?

IMG_3732

After dinner they all went to do something else and I stayed outside until I got chilly. You can tell I had a really nice day even if I still can smell the freaking barbecue smell everywhere. Remember, I’m vegetarian, this is not heaven for me.

IMG_3746

~ by DotedOn on May 9, 2016.

17 Responses to “622”

  1. Reblogged this on SURVIVORS BLOG HERE.

    Like

  2. :/ An adult colouring book is intriguing, as for “because he’s go a pair” πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m mad at him! I’m a really nice person and he’s one of the few people in this world who pissed me off… And trust me, that’s not easy to achieve!
      I’m super happy with my book. I worked for about 3 hours on a page and I don’t even have a quarter of it colored πŸ˜€
      (And it’s supposed to be relaxing… πŸ™‚ )

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sent u a happy mothers day on yesterday’s post. I don’t see it , so here it is again…good to see the smile 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m glad you had a good day. One time I tried to light a grill (gas) and my hair caught fire!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sounds like fun to me πŸ™‚ And grilling meatloaf (sliced like burgers) sounds delicious! πŸ™‚ If you had a cover on the grill, the meat would’ve thawed a bit faster, but the flames would still probably burn on the bottom :-\ )

    Liked by 2 people

    • I got that big plate size grill because my kids really wanted barbecue last year. I have no idea how to grill and I’m not sure I want to learn πŸ˜€
      (And next time, if there is a next time, I hope I remember to thaw the meat earlier!) πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Glad you had such a lovely day. My daughter gave me a coloring book. I guess she must think I’m too stressed out. I haven’t started on it yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Being able to say to your kids a line they use is such a wonderful moment, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
