638

638

Wednesday. As you know, I’m a Spanish native speaker. Sometimes I mean to write a word in English but I fail when I translate it in my brain and I end up using the wrong word when trying to say something.
This has nothing to do with those words that sound the same and are written differently.
I’m sure you encounter several mistakes when reading my blog. What I don’t understand is why NOBODY tells me. Sometimes, I accidentally find the mistakes and I get a bit agitated (and swear a lot too).
For example:
“I like when someone whispers in my year”. My stomach still hurts when I remember that one. But not as much as when I think of: “I’d love to meat someone”. Meat someone? Holy crap, I’m vegetarian. You have no idea how sick that sounds to me.

The problem rises when there are several words in English that translate to the same word in Spanish.
The words: TO WAIT and TO HOPE, both translate to the same word in Spanish: ESPERAR.

A couple of days ago, Donna (writersideup.wordpress.com) left a comment on my one of my posts and I replied just that.

Screen Shot 2016-05-24 at 1.37.44 PM

And I can understand her concern. She’s totally right.

One of the definitions you find on dictionary.com when you look for the word HOPE is:

Screen Shot 2016-05-24 at 2.00.18 PM

And when you look for the word WAIT you find:

Screen Shot 2016-05-24 at 2.00.49 PM

Pretty much as Donna said. When you hope for something, you are waiting for that to happen but you don’t go on stand by mode as you mostly do when you wait.
So when I say I’m waiting for My Prince… What the f#$k do I mean? I think I’m hoping for him to come but I’m not really waiting. And if I’m waiting, it’s not that I’m standing still (and who the hell I’m kidding, I mean to say, laid on the couch).

It’s funny, while I’m writing I have this part of a song playing over and over in my head. Pink Floyd’s “Wish You Were Here”.

We’re just two lost souls
Swimming in a fish bowl
Year after year
Running over the same old ground
And how we found
The same old fears
Wish you were here

I had to look for the meaning of that part of the song. It’s amazing how different people interpret that piece. I guess you can tell the way I understand it.
They both know the other one is out there. Why the f#$k are they still going around in circles?

Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 12.09.41 PM

Are they WAITING to meet? Are they HOPING to meet?
It sucks in both cases. What a waste of time! They should be together.
NOW.

~ by DotedOn on May 25, 2016.

22 Responses to “638”

  1. Reblogged this on SURVIVORS BLOG HERE.

    Like

  2. I didn’t know you were a native Spanish speaker I somehow thought you were Italian! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m from Argentina, I speak Spanish. I also speak Italian and have Italian nationality (and blood), so you are right too! (But I consider myself more Argentinian than Italian šŸ™‚ )

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, so many things I would love to say here. So first of all, yes, have read your blog for a long time and see grammatical errors but still think it’s so amazing how you are able to communicate so well in what is not your native tongue. I guess the reasons I don’t point these errors out to you is because I have other things to say in the comments section and also don’t want to say anything bad. Like, for a while, my mother let her hair go gray and then she was getting some negative feedback and dyed it again. When she asked people if they had liked the gray, a lot admitted that they didn’t and she was wondering why these people never told her. Well, who wants to go over to someone and tell them they don’t look good? Right? And you also have to think that people are very self absorbed and if someone else isn’t at their best, they don’t really care that much.
    Also, about the Pink Floyd song, I always saw it as two people who revolved around each other but weren’t on the same plain. Like that they were maybe physically there but not mentally.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this post, Paola, mostly because it sounds like you’re hoping more than waiting, but I think your lack of motivation is the “waiting” part šŸ˜¦

    And this is the perfect example of why I adore the english language—the words are so precise in meaning! The Brits EXCEL at using it with such clarity. Granted, sometimes the similarities and the words spelled almost the same can be confusing, especially for those with english as a second language, but I adore words, adore the english language and love hearing it spoken with any foreign accent šŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you, Donna! You’d love my “subtle” accent that even deaf people can hear šŸ˜€
      My lack of motivation is mostly weather related. I feel so down when it’s dark! And here, it’s mostly dark. It’s worse now because it’s spring and I’m expecting nice weather and I don’t get it!! šŸ™‚

      Like

  5. I have made a few comments from time to time. I think, in my case, unless it really stands out, I don’t notice it because I have gotten used to the style and manner in which you write. Something you can do to help is (if it is available) to get Grammarly. It’s a browser app (for Chrome, not sure about any of the others) that catches stuff like what you are talking about. Not 100% accurate, but a good clue.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
