643

643

Monday. I woke up in the middle of the night with an idea of what I wanted to write today. It was very clear in my head. Then I fell asleep again and when I got up this morning, I realized I couldn’t remember it anymore.
For a moment I experienced the kind of panic I had every time I had to take an exam. “What if I can’t remember anything?”. The truth is that that never happened. I mostly remembered everything I knew and sometimes, I even remembered things that were said during the lessons… And that was amazing because I mostly felt like I was there only in body and not in spirit.
Right now, I feel I’m blank.

So I’ll improvise. I have to fill the paper or I won’t pass this exam.

A couple of days ago, I posted a poem. The first verse went like this:

After a while you learn the subtle difference
Between holding a hand and chaining a soul

That made me think for a while.
Can you tell who’s holding your hand and who’s chaining your soul?
Can you tell who’s letting you run free and who’s smothering you?
Can you tell when you can be yourself and when you must act in order to be accepted?

I know that breaking chains and cutting strings is not easy. Specially when you are comfortable or got used to it. You think that maybe that’s how things are supposed to be. “What if this is as good as it gets?”
The only thing I can tell you is: “You’ll never know how good things can be until you try them”.
“But what if I follow my heart and I end up in a place where I don’t want to be?”
“In that case, I think you can always go back.”

Joel at joysofjoel.wordpress.com wrote something a few days ago that made me think for some time too.

Don’t follow your heart
And you’ll meet an ever faithful friend

Who will always be with you
Even in the dawning of the sunset

His name is Regret.

The ones who are already friends with him can tell how nasty and powerful he can be and how much stronger he gets when you fail at doing what you want to do or when you are just too afraid of doing something and let that only opportunity pass.

You can read Joel’s full post here.

~ by DotedOn on May 30, 2016.

7 Responses to “643”

  1. Reblogged this on SURVIVORS BLOG HERE.

    Like

  2. I hate when I get ideas in the middle of the night and then when I wake up they’re gone. joel had some pretty good advice. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, very true! I always like to play things safe but there are other times when you have to tell yourself ‘you’ll never know unless you try”.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think you can tell, but you don’t always want to see or accept it when it’s negative ’cause you WANT the positive :-\ And what a poet Joel is! Thanks for that πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
