652

 

652

Wednesday. It’s late today. I had an unusual morning. I went to pick my ex’s car at the garage and decided to use it. I sent a message to him saying: “I’ll pick the car and then go to town because there are not buses and Vince has a test”.
He replied: “Ok, can you put gas in it?” When he said gas, he didn’t mean the kind of gas that most cars need. He meant LPG (liquefied petroleum gas). So before I agreed to do that, I asked my son: “Do you know how that works? Did you ever see your dad doing it? Do you know which adapter is the one we need?”. “Yes, many times… Of course”.
So I messaged my ex: “OK”

We walked to the garage and took the car. We got in, I started the car and then we heard: “ding dong ding dong ding dong”
“What’s that?”
“That’s me forgetting the seatbelt. That means that if I get caught I lose my license immediately”.

Then we went to bring my youngest son to kindergarten. My son asked me: “What time is it?” “I don’t know, I left the iPod home” “Really? Just now that they have free wifi in town?” “No way! Free wifi? And you forgot to tell me that?”
We went back home to pick my iPod so I could play my games while he was doing the test.

I asked my son to take pictures of me driving. I’m glad he took this one because the ones with my face in it look really bad.

IMG_3856

As you can see, I’m “a bit” tense. I think I left nail marks all over the wheel.

Then we got to the gas station and I couldn’t believe my f#$king luck. A police car right beside us. That’s the kind of luck I have. I don’t see the police in three months but the morning I decide to use a car, there they are close to me.

IMG_3852

“Ok, now we have to pretend we know what we are doing. Get off the car and let’s pretend I’m teaching you how to do this”.
I really thought my son knew what to do.
If you are not familiar with LPG, the ‘thing’ looks like that

Screen Shot 2016-06-08 at 3.47.55 PM

You need to screw the adaptor on the car pomp and then to that thing above. There are several different adaptors and they vary per country. My ex has three adaptors in the car. One was marked as “Italy” so we could only have a 50% chance of doing it wrong… And of course we did it.
I was sweating because the police car was 5 feet away and they were looking at us.
Then I said to my son: “Ok, now where is the hole?” I’m glad he’s still innocent (or too shy to reply what he thought).
He said: “You need the key”.
“That’s not the right hole”
“Then try this one”
“You told me you knew!!”
“Hahahahaha”
I was sweating even more and remembered that back in Argentina I had always in my car a deodorant in the glove compartment.
After about two minutes a guy came to ask if everything was ok. I said the thing didn’t work. He said it didn’t work because: “You took too much time” so I needed to put the ‘thing’ back in it’s place so it could reset and then I could try again.
So we did it.
Then I paid and we continue our journey to town.
When we got there I said to my son: “Jump from the car because you have only 3 minutes”.
“No, I have 33 minutes”
“Are you freaking kidding me? You said: 9.45am”
“Yes, and then I corrected myself and said it was 10.15 until 10.45”

We went to a parking place and then when I looked at the side mirror I saw that we never closed the gas door. I drove two miles without using that mirror.

IMG_3859

I couldn’t stop laughing… Now you see why I don’t like driving… I forget some details… Like using the seatbelt or the mirrors.

~ by DotedOn on June 8, 2016.

6 Responses to “652”

  1. I had my license taken away from me about 10 years ago because I was having seizures. I finally got it back a few months ago and I’m terrified. My hands look exactly like yours on the wheel,

    I had to laugh at your discomfort being around the police even though you did nothing wrong. I’m totally paranoid that way. I feel guilty just looking at them, I just never know guilty for what,

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh sweetie. At that rate I’m just glad you got there safe!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ohhh Paola… I’m laughing with you… and those hands on the steering wheel.. you were either petrified of driving or thinking about your ex’s neck… and female cop?? Woot, woot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
