654

654

Friday. My least favorite color is brown and all its by-products. Closely followed by red. I’m not really sure why I don’t like the color red but something tells me it’s because I was traumatized when I was a little girl. You probably think that I saw too much blood and that scarred me for life but it wasn’t blood what made me dislike the color. It was some medicine in form of syrup that I had to take and tasted like strawberries. And since then I can’t eat strawberries either. The smell of strawberries makes me gag. If I eat something and it tastes like strawberries, I have to spit it out.
I spent my life rejecting all the candies and toppings that were red or pink because I couldn’t take that risk.
The problem is, I love cherries. Now I make my kids try everything first and then tell me if I can eat it or not.
Once my son tricked me and after seeing my reaction he was shocked. I think he understood I REALLY don’t like strawberries.

So, no red or strawberries for me. I had a redless life for very long time until one day I got some red top.
In my “HATE LIST”, shopping comes before red so it was either keeping the red top (and wearing it) or go to the store and change it. That would have probably involved hours trying on clothes until I decide what I liked (nothing). So I kept the the red top.
What happened next? I got compliments like: “You should always wear red” or “That’s your color”.
So after that, every time I get clothes (mostly 3 or 4 of the same thing so I don’t have to think), I always pick one of the items, red.
Now it’s not uncommon to see me wearing red, and of course every time someone says something about how I look.

So today I decided to wear a red t-shirt and see what happened. I went to bring my son to kindergarten, got back, did a few chores and then the bell rang.
Since I’m afraid to go to the door because I don’t want anyone preaching, asking for money or selling stuff, I kind of duck and spy. I saw the mailman with a box so I went to open. When he saw me, he was speechless. I could tell what he was thinking: “I know you from somewhere”.
I see that mailman 3 times a week when I go pick my son. He delivers the mail on the other side of town. I always say hi and he never says hi back. Twice he almost run over me with the van.
Today he just kept staring at me. I’m not sure if it was the red top or if he was expecting me to kick him in the balls for being such an ass.
Anyway, I decided it was the red top. That way I’m a winner!

And IT’S FRIDAY, I’M IN LOVE! I know this song for very long time but I never paid attention to the lyrics until a few days ago when my friend Aaron mentioned it.
While reading the words I remembered some years ago when I was writing my book and I was struggling with the part where the male character saw the girl for the first time. I could easily write what she felt because I just described my own feelings but what does a man feel when he’s thunderstruck? So I asked my friend Mike and he gave me a description that was incredibly beautiful.
This song reminded me of that. Thank you Aaron and Mike!

Enjoy Chris de Burgh

LADY IN RED
(written by Chris de Burgh)

I’ve never seen you looking so lovely as you did tonight
I’ve never seen you shine so bright
I’ve never seen so many men ask you if you wanted to dance
They’re looking for a little romance, given half a chance
And I have never seen that dress you’re wearing
Or the highlights in your hair that catch your eyes
I have been blind

The lady in red is dancing with me, cheek to cheek
There’s nobody here, it’s just you and me
It’s where I want to be
But I hardly know this beauty by my side
I’ll never forget the way you look tonight

I’ve never seen you looking so gorgeous as you did tonight
I’ve never seen you shine so bright, you were amazing
I’ve never seen so many people want to be there by your side
And when you turned to me and smiled, it took my breath away
And I have never had such a feeling
Such a feeling of complete and utter love, as I do tonight

The lady in red is dancing with me, cheek to cheek
There’s nobody here, it’s just you and me
It’s where I want to be
But I hardly know this beauty by my side
I’ll never forget the way you look tonight

I never will forget the way you look tonight
The lady in red, the lady in red
The lady in red, my lady in red

I love you

source:

metrolyrics.com

~ by DotedOn on June 10, 2016.

20 Responses to “654”

  1. Paola, two things. First: more than once I’ve read that men are naturally drawn to the color red, at least on women. Don’t know about anything else that’s red lol It’s considered a “sex” color in that respect.

    Second: we latino women with dark hair naturally look good in pretty much any shade of red. Black and red naturally compliment šŸ™‚ I wore a shirt this past weekend that was a deeper shade of red and several times people said red is good on me. I also have a really nice pair of red rhinestone earrings, so it’s a nice look šŸ™‚ Go red!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Red, depending on the shade, is a great color. Yep, I agree with the comment above, something about red just triggers the “sex” thoughts (in most guys). I can go into long, scientific diatribe, however, the fact is red is a very alluring color. Glad you finally are wearing it again (although, pink is red… kind of.. so…).

    And that is a great song. One of my favorites from back in that time frame.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I LOVE Chris DeBurgh!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi P! Long time no talky to. Where have you been? šŸ˜€ Red on a woman is delicious. The mailman probably wanted to ask you to dance but he didn’t know how – to dance. I love the song, Lady in Red. Always have. You really hit on a deep psychological trigger for many males of all ages. Black and white are also triggers but say different things. What a girl wears in terms of clothes, shoes, and perfumes can send very strong signals that can cover a wide range of sub-conscious messages. A girl that pays attention to the balance of sight and scent will turn heads and mesmerize an interested male in seconds. You have the right weapons, now get out there and conquer your Prince Charming. šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi D!
      So nice to hear from you! I’m ok, a bit here and a bit somewhere else (and I wish I knew where that is!).
      If the mailman wants to ask me something, he should start saying hi or smiling. His ugly dog face is not pleasant to me šŸ™‚
      I really wish I had My Prince here with me šŸ™‚

      How are you?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hi P! šŸ˜Š. From your description of the mailman’s typical German civil servant behavior, I would say the kick in his small personality was well overdue. I’m doing okay. Every morning I awake at 4:00 am to go to work and I think, oh great! It’s coffee time and I’m still alive to enjoy it. The heck with trying to figure out where you are, just enjoy the scenery. Remember to wear red and smile. Life is more fun that way. Now, you have to share with us men, what color on a man draws a woman’s eye. šŸ˜. I am willing to change my boring fashion.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s a great idea! šŸ™‚
        Thank you!
        You are right, we shouldn’t think much, just “carpe diem” šŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes!!! That’s it. Seize the day and own it for yourself and the ones you love. šŸŒžšŸŽ¶

        Liked by 1 person

      • šŸ™‚ I will!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
