657

Screen Shot 2016-06-07 at 10.37.09 AM

Monday. Wanting and needing. They mean different things even though both of them indicate the lack of a necessity or the deficiency in something.
You can say that when you want something you desire or crave or wish for that thing and when you need something, that’s more of an urgent requirement.

I’m not sure if my example is good but when you have 15 pairs of shoes and you say: “I need shoes” I think you are using the wrong word to express your necessity. But of course, I may be wrong.
And I’m not the only person who’s wrong.

Not many people here know that I’m single. It happened before that when someone found out, they couldn’t help but asking some questions like:

“Do you live in that big house alone?”, “Are you alone with five kids?”, “Do you take care of the yard alone?”, “Did you do that alone?”.
They look at me like if I were from another planet. To be honest, I’m used to that look. I’m getting that look since I was born. The look is a mixed of: “I’m amazed and you are completely insane”.
What I still don’t get is what some of them say after that: “Girl, you need a man!”.

No, no, no and no. I don’t need a man. I want a man. And there is a big difference. I don’t need a man to do my chores or be my handyman, I can do that alone. I’ve been doing that for some years already. I admit I’m not strong enough but what I lack in power, I have in creativity so I mostly find a way. And when I really can’t do something, I ask my kids to help me. See, I don’t need a man.
I want a man, all for me. To share my life and to love. Not to make him work for me.
I don’t want another child, a father, a handyman or a slave. I want a real man. A man “con las bolas bien puestas”, as we say in my country (with the balls in the right place).

A man who can make me laugh, dries my tears if I cry, hugs me if I feel sad and never forgets to kiss me goodnight.
A man who’s not afraid of confrontation and can speak his word when he thinks I’m wrong.
A man who can communicate and most important, who can’t stay mad for long.
A man who doesn’t blame me for everything.
A man who looks at me like if I were the most beautiful and fragile thing in the word and feels the need to protect me, not by chaining my soul but by holding my hand.
A man who loves me and respects me.
A man who I can love, respect, cheer and adore.

I know he exists and I want him.
And I have to admit that I need him too, but not for the reasons I mentioned above. I need him because I feel that a piece of me is missing and I will only feel complete once I have him with me.
For now, I just have hope.

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 1.05.12 PM

~ by DotedOn on June 13, 2016.

8 Responses to “657”

  1. You want AND need him for the right reasons πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Believe me dear, I have 50 pairs of shoes and I still NEED a new one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahahahaha, you made me laugh, Jay!
      I think I’d need a new closet (and bedroom) to store so many shoes! πŸ™‚

      Should I change 15 for 75? πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. I like how you put that (and I actually say something similar to a lot of the young ladies who I have counseled)… you don’t need a man. So many people just don’t get that. It’s like somebody else is going to complete you (Jerry McGuire lied, btw)… no one should have that power. They just shouldn’t. Be complete on your own, that way you can compliment each other. Oh, now there’s a concept. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • So, you don’t agree with Jerry and with me for feeling incomplete? πŸ˜€
      I can tell that something is missing (and when I say “something”, I mean, A LOT of things are missing!! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      • I won’t say I disagree because I didn’t read Jerry’s response (and that would be unfair). What I will say is this. So many people in this world are looking for someone else to make them whole and complete and not realizing that what they want is someone to compliment their life, not complete them. That doesn’t preclude wanting someone, it just changes the context.
        And yes, sometimes a want can go so long being unfulfilled that it creates an intense desire and craving that feels very much like a need. But, it’s still a want (just a very strong want).
        Ultimately, it does come down to semantics (another reason why I won’t say I disagree with what your saying), but that is just how I see things. Or the really, really short version of it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Really, really short version?! πŸ˜€
        I understand what you said. Yes, you are right, some people complement each other (in such a way that when you take them apart, they don’t feel complete πŸ˜€ )
        And I have a STRONG want of a man! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
