659

Screen Shot 2016-06-14 at 10.43.51 AM

Wednesday. For the ones who don’t know, I like creating things. I really enjoy working with things that most people throw away (unless you are a bit of a hoarder like me). I like giving things a second life. So when I have the time, I start a project with my garbage.

Last year I realized I had collected enough tubes of the effervescent tablets I take and that I could make something.

Screen Shot 2016-06-16 at 8.59.02 AM

I came up with the idea of making a wind chime.

IMG_2365

I hung it in front of the kitchen window so I could see it every day. (Some of my projects make me proud).
One day one of the school moms saw it and loved it. I said to her: “In about 3 months I’ll have enough tubes to make another one. If you want, I can make one for you. You can let your kids paint it”.
So I gave her the tubes, her kids painted them and then I put it all together.
When I finished it, I took it to the kindergarten so I could give it to her.
That day she didn’t go to pick her kids, her husband did. I said to him: “This is for Esther”. He was very curious so he took it out the bag.
Then the teachers saw it and loved it so I said to them that if they’d like, I could go a few times and make some things with the kids.
So I did. I went Monday morning and today.

On Monday the kids had other activities so I said to one of the teachers that we could make a puppet. A puppet. That means ONE puppet.
I think the teacher understood that everyone could make ONE puppet, so she selected 5 girls and we started making the puppets.
They are quite easy to make… But not for 3 or 4 years old kids!
The good thing is that one of the teachers was there with me.

IMG_3895

Those puppets are made with cardboard, a toilet paper roll, old newspapers and some masking tape.
The thing is, when you don’t have the materials, improvising is not always easy. We didn’t have cardboard or newspaper so we had to use plain paper and the packaging that’s used to put the eggs. Here, the egg’s packaging is made of super recycled paper. When you try to roll it, it breaks. That was a bit frustrating but in the end, we managed to make the bodies.

Today I thought that one of the teachers was going to be there with me… I was wrong.
Since I was alone with a few kids and all the materials on the table, every kid that walked by wanted to join us. So they asked me. I can barely understand adults speaking German so you have to imagine my face of WTF are you saying?
Then, when they noticed that I didn’t speak much German, they assumed I could speak Dutch.
This is a border town so it’s full of Dutch people. So then I had half of the kids speaking German and the other half Dutch, all at the same time and they didn’t want to finish the puppets, they wanted to paint the tubes to make the wind chime.
Then they started asking for more colors. Then they complained the colors were finished. Then a couple of girls decided they wanted to work on the puppets after all and that’s when I didn’t know WTF to do next. I had like 11 kids split in two tables. I couldn’t give instructions on what to do because I didn’t know how.
The only thing I could hear every 5 seconds was: “Stefano’s Mutter blah blah blah” (Only that the blah blah blah sounded more like a blangen blandung blanden blangung… you know, German).
I used to be Miss Paola when I volunteered at the other school. Here I’m Stefano’s Mother.

IMG_3896

“Stefano’s Mutter …..” and I have no idea what the girl wanted but I smiled and nodded and that was when ALL of them started to paint their hands. “Holy f#$k, now what?”
And then they got really excited and were running everywhere with the freaking hands full of paint… And they laughed and shouted and then the teachers came from the classrooms and I was like: “I’m f#$king f#$ked up” shaking my head and laughing. Because when I’m too nervous, I laugh.
I guess that when the teachers saw me laughing they thought I had everything under control. No one said anything.
I approached one teacher and said: “I can’t understand the children” “Really? I think you are doing a great job”.

My level of stress was raising rapidly. I noticed I had my shoulders at the same height of my ears.
The kids were running around with their dirty hands and I was just looking at them and begging for something to make them stop when I felt two hands on my ass and following that, all the kids laughing their asses off.

So when I say I had paint ALL OVER, including my ass, I’m not exaggerating.

IMG_3897

I had to act fast and make them stop but my laughter made me lose credibility so the kids kept going on and on.
I started picking the brushes and closing all the paint jars.
Then I went to the bathroom to wash the brushes and when I got back, I found that one of the kids had taken my puppet hostage.

IMG_3898

I told the kids they needed to wash their hands and I quickly made them removed the paining shirts so they could understand that we had finished.

I thought it was almost time to go home but it was only 10.45am. Over one and a half hour to go.
I said to the kids that they had to go to the classroom and I sat to finish putting together one wind chime.

IMG_3899

I’m sure the kids had a lot of fun.
I got a terrible headache. Four hours and one ibuprofen later and my head still hurts. But I’ll do it again because for some reason, the kids really liked me. I could tell.

~ by DotedOn on June 15, 2016.

19 Responses to “659”

  1. Ha, ha! Sometimes you think you’re not doing well but you are really doing a great job! I could especially understand that when working with children!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thats fab. Glad it was fun. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Arts and crafts all by yourself with eleven kids? You deserve a medal.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LOL! Love it! It’s like me among the hearing world!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Those special art projects are always so fun and memorable as a kid.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m sure they had fun, Jay!
      I don’t know how it’s when they work with their teachers, but yesterday, they really could let go and be themselves πŸ˜€

      Like

  6. I just LOVE the creativity, Paola! πŸ˜€ And WINDCHIMES! You SHOULD be proud πŸ˜€ And working with kids can be SO much fun πŸ™‚

    One thing I’m not sure of is:

    “I had collected enough tubes of the effervescent tables I take”

    What kind of tubes? I don’t know what an effervescent table is lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahahahahaha, I can’t believe I forgot the T! πŸ˜€
      Effervescent tablets, not tables πŸ˜€
      The tubes are from those vitamin/mineral supplements that when you put them in water, they are fizzy.
      I just added a picture on the post.

      Thank you for letting me know, Donna! ❀

      The other wind chimes are made also with vitamin containers but the plain ones πŸ˜€
      I'll take pictures as soon as I finish them.
      And if this summer the weather is nice and I'm in the mood, I'll make some other wind chimes that I had plan to do since very long πŸ˜€ (Yes, I'm keeping bags of garbage for that reason! πŸ˜€ ).

      Like

      • Ah, OK! So then they’re made of metal? I would think so ’cause then you get a nice sound? Or are they plastic? Trying to imagine this lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • They are made of plastic. Unfortunately they don’t make a loud sound, more like very soft bamboo chimes.
        I can only hear the sound it makes if my kids are not here but I love to look at it. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Ahh, I’m relishing in your pain, I’m sorry. But this was quite the funny story. I can totally see you in the middle of that classroom totally “Kindergarten Cop”-ing… It’s not a tumor! (you have to see the movie.. )

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

 
