702

702

Thursday. A couple of days ago I decided I couldn’t just sit and do nothing the whole week so I went around the house to see what was keeping me awake at night. I discovered that many things keep me awake. One of those was the living room’s carpet. I had to clean it and I didn’t have any excuse to postpone it any longer. The kids are not here, it’s kind of warm, so “It’s now or never” (Or at least, until next year when it’ll be warm again).
I did a really good job, the carpet looks as good as new. I had never tried a homemade carpet shampoo before and I have to tell you, it worked perfectly.

I also decided to pluck some weeds from the pond area. I can’t believe how some plants can grow so fast, specially those you don’t want them to grow.
I have a little plant in my kitchen that’s called “dollar plant”. You are supposed to keep it alive and beautiful. That’s not the case the past 2 years. I still don’t know how I could make it live when it was only one sad leaf left. The important thing is that it didn’t die, so I didn’t go bankrupt. I have no idea who put that in my head but since then, if there is one plant in the entire house that I pay attention to, it’s that one. I can’t risk it.
Many years ago, from the same plant, I made like 20 little plants to give to my friends. I can’t wait for that to happen again.

That’s the plant, I wish mine looked like that.

13366597546034_f

Going back to the freaking weeds. I was removing weed by weed when by accident I plucked one and destroyed an anthill. In one second I could see hundreds of ants moving around and also the area where they kept the larvae. I’m not sure if all the ant’s larvae are the same but this ones were pale yellow and a bit bigger that the ants. I wished I had filmed that because there is no way to describe the speed and effectiveness on how the ants took the larvae and brought it somewhere else. Each ant went to the place, took one larva walk a bit and disappeared. I wonder how they could know what to do. I can’t imagine them practicing for when something like that happens or them taking a course on what to do if some asshole destroys the anthill.
Really admirable. At least, until some point. Looking at the ants reminded me of one of Aesop’s fables. “The Ant and the Grasshopper”.

This is the fable copied from http://www.aesopfables.com

The Ant and the Grasshopper

In a field one summer’s day a Grasshopper was hopping about, chirping and singing to its heart’s content. An Ant passed by, bearing along with great toil an ear of corn he was taking to the nest.

“Why not come and chat with me,” said the Grasshopper, “instead of toiling and moiling in that way?”

“I am helping to lay up food for the winter,” said the Ant, “and recommend you to do the same.”

“Why bother about winter?” said the Grasshopper; we have got plenty of food at present.” But the Ant went on its way and continued its toil. When the winter came the Grasshopper had no food and found itself dying of hunger, while it saw the ants distributing every day corn and grain from the stores they had collected in the summer.

Then the Grasshopper knew: It is best to prepare for the days of necessity.

I told the story to a friend and I said: “I’ll look up the end of the story”. Because I remembered another ending.

I was surprised to find two different endings. One of them was that the grasshopper went to the ant and the ant called him lazy and didn’t let him in.
The other ending was the aunt allowing the grasshopper in and then they all had a happy winter together while the grasshopper sang and the ants danced.

You probably remember this ending. I like this ending.

The_Grasshopper_and_the_Ants

That got me thinking, if I have to place myself between the ant and the grasshopper, I’m much closer to the grasshopper than to the ant.

I don’t believe that among us there are many grasshoppers but for sure, there are many ants.
The kind of ants that will call grasshoppers lazy, will live their lives only to work and make people around them work because “what will people think if you don’t?”
And for sure those ants one day will realize that it would have been much better if they had let a grasshopper in their lives so they could learn how to “live”.

~ by DotedOn on July 28, 2016.

8 Responses to “702”

  1. Great post :-I had never seen that) xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Everything in moderation!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Clean carpets, oh yes there’s a job I ought to do

    Liked by 1 person

  4. There is a movie called Ants, (done by Pixar) which is loosely based off of this fable. And ants are incredible to watch.. from a distance… cause they bite and that’s no fun.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
