708

Screen Shot 2016-07-28 at 12.07.08 PM

Wednesday. I can’t believe I survived yesterday. I don’t remember being so stressed in a very long time.
A few weeks ago my landlord came and said: “Would you mind if the new landlord comes to see the house?”
“Eh?” I didn’t understand what he meant. Then he explained that his mother had died and his sister inherited the house and she’d like to come and see it. My heart sunk, twice. I wanted to replied: “No way in hell” but I smiled and said: “Sure… When?”
“Is tomorrow a good day for you?”
I believe I stopped breathing. Then I said: “We are going on holidays the day after tomorrow. What about when we get back?”
Then we got back and I was dreading the moment he would ask again: “Is tomorrow a good day?”.
That happened last week Friday but instead of tomorrow, he said: “Next Tuesday”.
Soon after that I got shingles, eye twitching, I started stuttering and my stomach felt like I wanted to puke. Even though I had spent the entire week cleaning, I knew that as soon as my kids were back, I’d have to do everything again.
My kids got back on Monday. I explained to them that the house had a new owner and that she wanted to pay us a visit next day and that I wanted the house shining and smelling good.
They didn’t give a crap. They didn’t make a mess but they didn’t help cleaning either.

Yesterday morning I woke up with a hard neck and the pain extending everywhere. I said to my kids: “We’ll have breakfast and after that, I don’t give a shit about what your plans for the day are, you are helping me clean the house”.
Complaints and more complaints. “What if we don’t do it?”
“There is a chance that the woman decides not to let us live here anymore.”
“And then what?”
“Then you all go to live with your dad”
“Will you come with us too?”
“No, I rather sleep under a bridge”
“Really?”
“Yes. So unless you want that to happen, you better help me”.

I was really happy, I even got my three years old son helping. It was all nice until one of them decided stop. Then the other 4 started: “If he doesn’t help, we don’t help either”
After begging for a few minutes I felt so frustrated that I started crying. I was so nervous that even my voice was gone. Then I guess they didn’t like the idea of having a homeless mom so they started helping again.
About two hours before the people was supposed to get here I started shouting: “We don’t have enough time so anything that you don’t know where it has to go, put it in the garage, ok?”
After a while I heard my oldest some saying: “WTF!”
“What’s wrong?”
“Look” And he pointed the garage. I went to see what he meant. “OMG”
“Now what?”
“Close the door”. There was not one free inch left in the garage.

After a while I decided to check how things were looking and I found a lot of little clutter everywhere so I said: “Everything laying around goes in a bag”.
Then of them asked: “Mom, where do we put the bags?”
“Under the bed”.

We finished cleaning (and hiding stuff) just in time. I even baked brownies to add a “homey” touch.

The woman and her son were really pleased about how the house looked. I even got a plant from her. The old landlord said: “Good job, Paola”. I smiled. We can stay.

Today I will have to “dig up the treasures” and after that, get all the school things ready because tomorrow school starts again. Ugh.

I need one day stress free. One day that I can sit and relax without thinking that the laundry basket is full or what to cook for dinner. One day when my legs are smooth and I don’t have to worry that I have roots. That day has to be sunny and if possible, I don’t have to be on my period, the house has to be clean and my kids preferably, not be here.

I don’t see that day coming any time soon but I can dream, can’t I?

~ by DotedOn on August 3, 2016.

21 Responses to “708”

  1. Well congrats on pleasing the landlord. Sounds like you may be due for a garage sale!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Actually a garage (car boot sale) is a good idea! My mum’s done them and made a few pounds)

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Marissa!
      I don’t think people would be interesting in buying anything of that. I laughed because kids have no idea how put things in a way they don’t take so much room (or they choose not to do it). So they put all the bikes and the garden chairs (that you could pile up) one close to the other. Then there was no more space so they just filled up the garage to the door. The last thing they placed there was a folding chair (folded) leaning on a box. So they blocked the entrance. We had to close the door. No time to take care of that šŸ™‚

      Like

  2. This was a little different, but they always say if you want to get housework done, invite company! I’m glad you got through it and at least you were able to coerce the kids into helping. Undoing what you did won’t be fun, but maybe as you’re doing it, it will all end up where it belongs šŸ™‚ Hang in there!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thank you, Donna! šŸ™‚
      I was pleased that they helped me and that they understood how things were šŸ™‚
      Yesterday evening I dug up 2 of the bags and I either threw things away or I put them back in their places. For me that was HUGE šŸ˜€

      Liked by 2 people

  3. šŸ™‚ I think it wonderful that your kids realised this was one time when they had to pull together, they understood this day was important to the family existance, you should be very proud of them, wow even at 3 years!

    Btw I live on my own and YOU should see how untidy my house is! A while ago my brother came round and gave me a telling off which I wasn’t happy with, like you I get down spirited, he’s got a wife and kids to make him happy so I think he was out of order. But we love each other šŸ™‚ and if you can’t put your sibling in place then there’s no hope.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Andrew, I’m a MESS. I can tell my kids to tidy up but they can see I have a great difficulty doing it. I’m a bad example šŸ˜€
      I wish one of them was like my mom (then for sure the house would be sparkling clean šŸ˜€ )

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m sure they love you šŸ™‚ five must be difficult, I was talking to a lady last week (in person and not on internet)and she said even herself and her husband at times had been on anti depressants………. there’s no shame Paola. Would talking to a Doctor help? I realise insurance is a consideration, but would you be able to talk to say a Health Worker at your children’s school? That’d be interesting, an informal friendly chat, they’d understand šŸ™‚

        Hang in there honey šŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • To be honest, I’m terrified of talking to anyone. I’m not sure if there is such a thing as friendly talk with anyone. I’m a single mother living with less money than what people here expect you to live. If on top of that someone thinks I’m not fit to be a mother, I’m not sure what could happen.
        I’m not sharing my crap with people who could judge. They may think it’s for my own good but no one better than myself knows what’s best for me šŸ™‚
        Thank you for caring šŸ™‚ (And don’t worry, if I really think I need help, I’ll ask for it šŸ™‚ )

        Liked by 1 person

      • Paola I understand you completely, trouble with me lol is I’m ‘big’ on empathy šŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • You are a GREAT man, Andrew! Thank you šŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  4. We live in a tiny apartment and are very messy, however most of our friends have houses so we usually visit and rarely host. Occasionally, though we get lucky and will have someone on the way. It seems to be the only time we get the place in order.

    Glad you get to stay.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Bradley.
      That’s more or less what happens here šŸ˜€
      I say: “Kids, the window broke and I have to call the landlord. He’ll be here 5 minutes after I call because he lives 3 block away. So when we have all the mess hidden, I’ll call. OK?” šŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes, we only do a big clean when we’re motivated by company too! So glad so many of you have confessed the same.
    Keep dreaming of that day, P. You deserve it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Jay! šŸ™‚
      It’s good to hear that you get motivated by company. It’s a total turn off for me so I have to drag myself to do things and that’s really bad! šŸ™‚
      But the important is that things get done, no matter how! šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

 
