710

Screen Shot 2016-08-02 at 7.25.34 PM

Friday. Are you familiar with that feeling when you know you have something somewhere and you need it desperately so you go look for it but you can’t find it anywhere? And you look and keep looking but that thing doesn’t appear and then you start thinking: “Did I get rid of that?”. If you are lucky, you remember, but most likely, you are sure you saw that thing a while ago somewhere. But where?

Then you tell someone about your frustration and they reply: “I’m sure it’ll appear when you no longer look for it”.
When I not longer look for it, it could be because I gave up and went to the store to get another one. Then maybe, and only maybe, the thing I was looking for, magically comes up.
Either way, I don’t end up happy. 1) Because I know I still have that thing somewhere and I can’t find it. 2) Because I got another one.

Many years ago I was talking with a mom at the former school. I don’t know how the subject came up but I said to her: “I’ve been losing one of my shoes all over the world and I know one day My Prince will find it and bring it to me”.
She laughed and said: “How many pairs of shoes are we talking about?”
“Pffff… many!”
Then she said: “Is not your man your Prince?”
“No, not even close”
“And what happens if your Prince appears with your shoe?”
“I’ll be the happiest woman in the world”.

I have the feeling that someone found my shoe. It’s the same feeling I have when I misplace something. I could go and get another one but I won’t be happy because I know the one I’m searching, is still somewhere.
And I can tell. Don’t settle for another pair of shoes when you know which ones you want.

And IT’S FRIDAY, I’M IN LOVE! I heard this song last week when I was watching the movie August Rush. Mostly I don’t understand the lyrics but for some reason, this time they were very clear. It was like if the guy was singing that song to me.
I could relate. It’s that same feeling.

Enjoy Jonathan Rhys Meyers singing:

SOMETHING INSIDE
(written by Lucas Reynolds)

When the one thing you’re looking for
Is nowhere to be found
And you back stepping all of your moves
Trying to figure it out
You wanna reach out
You wanna give in
Your head’s wrapped around what’s around the next bend
You wish you could find something warm
‘Cause you’re shivering cold
It’s the first thing you see as you open your eyes
The last thing you say as your saying goodbye
Something inside you is crying and driving you on
It’s the first thing you see as you open your eyes
The last thing you say as your saying goodbye
Something inside you is crying and driving you on

‘Cause if you hadn’t found me
I would have found you
I would have found you

So long you’ve been running in circles
‘Round what’s at stake
But now the times come for your feet to stand still in one place
You wanna reach out
You wanna give in
Your head’s wrapped around what’s around the next bend
You wish you could find something warm
‘Cause you’re shivering cold
It’s the first thing you see as you open your eyes
The last thing you say as your saying goodbye
Something inside you is crying and driving you on
It’s the first thing you see as you open your eyes
The last thing you say as your saying goodbye
Something inside you is crying and driving you on

‘Cause if you hadn’t found me
I would have found you
I would have found you

It was your first taste of love
Living upon what you had

It’s the first thing you see as you open your eyes
The last thing you say as your saying goodbye
Something inside you is crying and driving you on

‘Cause if you hadn’t found me
I would have found you
I would have found you
I would have found you
I would have found you

~ by DotedOn on August 5, 2016.

10 Responses to “710”

  1. Well I certainly know the feeling of having something somewhere but not being able to find it!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’ve been there many many times! I’m currently searching for a photograph I’m sure I still have because I scanned it onto my old blog, but f#ck can I find it?

    (“Pffff… many!” made me laugh)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope you find it Andrew! 🙂
      I can’t find the post I wanted you to read and I’ sure I wrote it!!

      🙂 it’s the truth… I lost many, many shoes. But you have to think about it like when you buy many lottery tickets. Only one will be the winner 🙂

      Like

      • I’d really like to read 🙂 but don’t worry yourself, :/ I have a feeling I already understand what you’ll have talked about! The Man and all that.

        I hope the weekend’s going well 🙂 nice and sunny here, I’ve been down Town and there’s lots of gorgeous totty lol.

        (After writing my first comment I remembered you’re also a ‘girl’ who’s known for losing her knickers all over the World 😉 ……….. do you know I still wonder what became of them!)

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ll write it again 🙂
        It’s about to rain here.
        And I only lost 7 :D. I wish I could lose some more 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Paola, I just LOVE the whole “shoe/prince” analogy 🙂 VERY “Cinderella” and very fitting with shoes being a pair and won’t be whole or valuable separately. It’s the whole “true soulmate” thing, or should it be “sole”mates? 😀 Hmmm…I like that…*thinking*…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
