714

714

Tuesday. I’m still waiting to get my laptop charger. I don’t like writing on an iPad, it’s difficult!

A couple of days ago I watched the movie “The Little Prince”. I liked it very much but I was a bit disappointed that it lacked many of the important messages that the book has. There were some messages but I thought that only the obvious ones were there.
I read the book over 20 times and every time I find something that I missed before. What I love about it is that I always find the answer of what I was looking for.
When I was probably 10 or 11, my uncle told me to read the book but I didn’t feel like doing it then. I decided I was ready for it when I was 22 or 23 and I’m glad it was that way. I remember I read it from beginning to end without interruption and once I finished it, I started it again because I was blown away with all the “teachings”.

Yesterday I was discussing that with a friend. He said: “I heard a story about how there has never been a successful play or movie. The magic of the book was the idea”.

I think the problem is that the effect a book/song/movie has in each of the persons who reads/listens to/watches it, it’s completely different.
What you want, expect, feel, understand or perceive, it’s for sure not the same of what I want, expect, feel, understand or perceive. Even the way one feels about a thing at one time in their lives, it could be totally different of what that person feels about it a few years later or under other circumstances.

A few days ago I was reading Donna’s experiences on the midnight sale of the new Harry Potter book. She said she LOVED the book but she knows of people who were really disappointed about it and almost felt insulted when she said she was happy to find out how the story continued.
With everything is the same, you can’t please everyone.

Sometimes I feel like saying to my kids to read “The Little Prince” but I refrain because I don’t want them to say: “yeah, I read it. Nice book”. I truly want them to love it and learn from it. I really want them to understand that “it is only with the heart that one can see rightly, what is essential is invisible to the eye”.

~ by DotedOn on August 9, 2016.

14 Responses to “714”

  1. Yes, I try to encourage my children to read all the great books I read but wonder if they got the true message out of it or they are just blowing through it. My son, who’s 13, will talk about his books so I think he’s getting the true meaning. I’m not sure about my daughter.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It was beloved for us as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think I read it many, many years ago, but I don’t remember it having any kind of effect. Maybe I’ve forgotten. Anyway, I’m at the library 3 – 4 times a week, so I know what book I’ll be checking out next.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Perception is a funny thing, that’s for sure! And yes, she was insulted because I was saying things about the people who were disappointed by certain things with the original Harry Potter series and since her daughter said she didn’t like this recent book at all, she was insulted by me saying how I couldn’t understand all the bitching about the way J.K. Rowling tied up the series. Anyway…

    Maybe about 9 or 10 years ago I finally read THE LITTLE PRINCE. A dear friend LOVES that book. I thought I would love it, too, because I really loved the beginning of the book. I didn’t read it straight through so I don’t know if that affected me, but I didn’t “get” it the way my friend did. She was SO disappointed and surprised! I’ve yet to read it again, though it may just need a second chance. I know you want your kids to love it, but you have 5 so what are the odds?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, Donna! Give it a second chance when you are ready (not one second before!) šŸ˜€
      As I see my kids now, none of them will ever enjoy it šŸ˜€

      Like

  5. I skimmed this one (because I haven’t seen the movie yet, and afraid of spoilers.. :D), but I have had the same experience with reading books and seeing the movies. Dune comes to mind. Great, deep book. The movie was good on its own account, but there were so many drastic differences and stuff was left out. Starship Troopers was another one. Nothing like the book. /shrug Hollywood, gotta love ’em.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
