717

Screen Shot 2016-08-02 at 10.57.11 PM

Friday. It’s still cold, dark and rainy here. It’s another awful summer. We didn’t get any heatwave, just a couple of hot days, a bunch of warm days and A LOT of freaking rainy days. I’m so disappointed.

A few days ago I was searching something and with the corner of my eye I saw a headline that piqued my curiosity. I had to read the news.

Screen Shot 2016-08-12 at 10.11.43 AM

“Dutch man waits at airport for 10 days for online girlfriend to show up”. Wow. Why would someone do something like that? Is that love?

Apparently, this Dutch man met a Chinese woman online a couple of months earlier. Then one day he said to the woman that he had bought the ticket to go and meet her. He even showed her the tickets.
She thought he was joking. He wasn’t. He flew to China and waited for her at the airport for 10 days. He tried to call her but she never answered the phone. He could have waited longer but he got sick of exhaustion and had to be taken to the hospital. After his recovery, he went back to Holland.
It was then when local media contacted the woman and asked why she didn’t show up. She said she thought that the man was joking. When they asked why she didn’t answered his calls, she said she was in another city getting cosmetic surgery and had disconnected her phone but as soon as she recovers, she was going to contact him because the relationship was far from over.

I wonder if I’d do the same the guy did. I know I’d fly anywhere to meet the love of my life BUT, was she the love of his life? Or he the love of her life? I can’t answer those questions.
For sure I’d never do what the woman did. If a man says he wants to cross the ocean to meet me and I’m not interested or if I have something else to do, I think I’d tell him. I believe it is called respect.
First, she didn’t believe him when he showed her the tickets. Second, she didn’t tell him she wasn’t going to be there at the time (or getting surgery). Third, she stood him up.
And after that she said the relationship was far from over!! Does the guy’s opinion count too?

I’m a bit shocked, really. I know I’d wait but I’m not sure if I’d do it for 10 days. And neglecting my health… Hmmmm, I don’t think so.

If you really love someone and you are used to communicate often with that person, why the f$%k did you disconnect the phone? Don’t you miss that person? Don’t you wonder if that person wants to communicate with you?
And if you are sick or hospitalized, isn’t the person you love the one you want to have close to you?

Am I crazy thinking all these things?

If you want to read the full article, you can find it here.

And IT’S FRIDAY, I’M IN LOVE! I found the perfect song for today’s post. I think I heard it hundred of times before but it wasn’t until yesterday that I really paid attention to it. It made me cry. I can understand that kind of love.

Enjoy Richard Marx,

RIGHT HERE WAITING
(written by Richard Marx)

Oceans apart day after day
And I slowly go insane
I hear your voice on the line
But it doesn’t stop the pain

If I see you next to never
How can we say forever

Wherever you go
Whatever you do
I will be right here waiting for you
Whatever it takes
Or how my heart breaks
I will be right here waiting for you

I took for granted, all the times
That I thought would last somehow
I hear the laughter, I taste the tears
But I can’t get near you now

Oh, can’t you see it baby
You’ve got me going crazy

Wherever you go
Whatever you do
I will be right here waiting for you
Whatever it takes
Or how my heart breaks
I will be right here waiting for you

I wonder how we can survive
This romance
But in the end if I’m with you
I’ll take the chance

Oh, can’t you see it baby
You’ve got me going crazy

Wherever you go
Whatever you do
I will be right here waiting for you
Whatever it takes
Or how my heart breaks
I will be right here waiting for you
Waiting for you

sources:

metrolyrics.com

~ by DotedOn on August 12, 2016.

13 Responses to “717”

  1. No, definitely sounds fishy to me. Maybe she wanted to continue the relationship but just keep it as long distance, or just wasn’t ready for the meeting. I think she should have given him the courtesy of telling him that.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Online relationships are so precarious :-\ It enables people to either be more outgoing about their true feelings OR—keep up a facade. They are rarely what you think they’ll be in real life, at least when they are romantic types. That’s at least my experience. When people are just friends, they are always the same when we meet in person.

    I’m not going to read the article, so am only going by what you said here, Paola, but seeing as the relationship was only two months old and he went to that extreme, there’s a level of loneliness and desperation that I find heartbreaking, and her behavior was flat out inconsiderate and selfish. Even if she thought he was kidding, she should’ve said “I’m not going to be in town anyway,” and if she didn’t want him to know she was going to have plastic surgery (God only knows for what), then not say why. In my opinion, the relationship SHOULD be over.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes I agree, when you are good friends on-line, then that’s all you’ll ever be in real life. We parted as just good friends 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

    • Oh Donna, you are SO right when you said : “a level of loneliness and desperation”. No need to read the article, just click on the link and scroll down to see the pictures of the man. I have his face engraved forever in my mind now as a synonym of loneliness and desperation 🙂

      Online relationships are tricky, that’s for sure. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I listened to this song on repeat when I was a teenager. Oh, that hair!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. i doubt I’d wait for 10 days he must have really loved her a lot! I love fridays because I love seeing what song you are gonna pick lol. XXX

    Private emails are always welcome, you can reach me by emailing me at irishandblind1980@gmail.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thinking of a song it’s difficult! I’m not really musical and that makes things not so easy 🙂

      It’s really hard to tell if he loved her that much. I can’t stop thinking about her not believing him when he said he was going to meet her. And also, why didn’t she tell him she wasn’t going to be there?
      It’s sad!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. No. The simple answer is no. No, I wouldn’t ever do that. None of that. Even being a romantic, that just seems sketch as all get out. But, that is a great song.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
