725

Screen Shot 2016-08-15 at 12.16.35 PM

Saturday. I mentioned before that my next door neighbor is also single. She’s a hairdresser and she’s never home. She could be any age between 30 and 50.
I can’t say we are friends but we have a very nice relationship. We watch each other’s houses and we keep informed when one of us is not home.

After about 1.5 years of living here we got to talk a bit longer and we agreed that one of these weekends we were going out.
Some months ago she came by and we arranged to go out the following Saturday. On Friday evening she came again to cancel because they had found out her mom was sick and she didn’t feel like going out or partying at all. She said: “When this is over, we make a new appointment.”
“No problem”.

A couple of weeks ago she came again and ask me if I’d like to go out the following Saturday. I told her my kids were going to be here but the week after that, was perfect. So we made an appointment for today.

A few days ago I saw her while she was going to work and she asked me: “Are we still going out this Saturday?”
“Of course! I have a question though. At what time more or less should I be ready?”
“Hmmmm… Let me see. I get off work at 5pm and I’ll get here about 5.30pm. Then I need to shower and get ready. I’d say…”
When I was about to say 6.30-7.00, she beat me saying: “Is 10 o’clock good?”
I was SHOCKED. Holy f#$k! The woman needs 4.5 hours to get ready??
And then I understood.
You see, she wears make up. A LOT of make up. I mean, layers and layers of it. If I hadn’t seen her without make up before, I wouldn’t recognize her at all.

When we were about to go to Italy, I wanted to tell her that my house was going to be alone for about 10 days but I could never catch her so I thought the best idea was to call her as soon as possible while we were on the road and let her know.
I have her phone number stuck on my fridge since January 2015 when she came by, introduced herself and asked me if I knew that the police was in our backyards a couple of nights before. I didn’t know that because I was in Spain visiting my cousins. That day we exchanged phone numbers and decided to keep in touch and look after each other since we were both alone.
The evening before we left, I went to the fridge and took a picture of her phone number with the intention of asking my son how to add it to my contacts because I had no idea how to do it.
Next morning, the first thing I did was asking my son to add the number just in case I forgot. He took the phone, add the number and the name and then a picture appeared on the screen.
“IS THAT THE NEIGHBOR?!?!” He asked very surprised.
“Holy shit! It has to be. Name and number match”
“She doesn’t look at all like her. How can that be?”
“That’s either called: make up or photoshop.”

To give you an idea, I decided to show you a picture. Because we know “a picture says more than a thousand words”.

That’s not her but the resemblance is incredible. The before AND the after.

Screen Shot 2016-08-20 at 12.28.43 PM

Now we all can understand those 4.5 hours.
I believe I’m very lucky. I never needed or wanted to wear make up.
I have to admit that the past year I bought a few lipsticks and eye shadows and I’m ready to use them soon. I’m practicing how to do it because that’s a “foreign language” to me.

And if you want to know, I won’t be going out today either. She cancelled me again because she forgot she already had an appointment.
I told her: “Never mind, next time. You can even tell me one hour in advance and I’ll be ready for you waiting”.
I was going to say half an hour but I didn’t want to brag.

~ by DotedOn on August 20, 2016.

21 Responses to “725”

  1. OMG!! But you’re right. Many young women I know (late 20’s-early 30’s) wear tons of makeup. The eyebrows and fake eyelashes, (which always look spidery to me) are done to perfection. But what happens when they go on a date in full makeup and the guy gets used to seeing them that way – then comes the day, or morning, when he sees her without the warpaint on? He’ll be like, “What happened to you?? Are you sick?” I’m like you, I prefer to be natural but if necessary, I’ll wear lipstick.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a remarkable difference, but it’s not just makeup, I think, ’cause if you look at the nose, it is narrower in the makeup picture and was probably photoshopped. Seeing as it takes her that many hours, it makes me think I shouldn’t get irritated at whatever time it takes me to shower and get out of the house. It was 30 when I was younger, if I was going somewhere that I had to fix myself in any way. Now it’s twice as long. I hate it lol

    I used to do both when I was younger, with or without makeup. I wear makeup more often now that I’m older—it “brightens” you, enhances you, if you do it right. Lots of women overdo it, that’s for sure, and look so fake. There are lots of before/after pics out there!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really don’t know how to put make up on πŸ™‚ Sometimes I even mess up putting on lipstick (and that’s when I take longer to be ready πŸ˜€ )
      And I took a ruler and measured the nose and it’s 100% make up on the picture!! I guess the one who did it knows really how to make others see a narrower nose πŸ™‚
      (I had to do it because lately I’ve seen many YouTube videos (trying to learn how to put make up on) and I was AMAZED at the changes!).
      I’m too simple and plain and I hate wasting time. I could never achieve that. I just need an easy way to put make up on without looking like a clown πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re still young so other than possibly tweezing your eyebrows, they should be fine. Not until I was in my late 40s did I even know there were eyebrow brushes! Brushing them and trimming do make you look neater and finer and it’s not difficult.

        Without doing shadow and all that, mascara is the one thing that is very basic that truly brightens appearance. Even just a little does that πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • I know how to put on mascara! πŸ™‚
        But I wanted something more. Only marcara makes my eyes look HUGE. I have big eyes so I feel I need to make them look a bit smaller or different πŸ™‚
        (It’s always the same, we are never completely happy the way we are. You know, curly hair girls want straight hair and vice versa πŸ˜€ )

        Liked by 1 person

      • lol, Paola, I didn’t say you didn’t know how to put it on πŸ™‚ Just that it’s the most basic makeup item that does the most. And big eyes are beautiful πŸ™‚ If you do shadow or whatever, just put a touch of mascara and don’t gob it on if it’s too much πŸ™‚ A little blush brightens and if you don’t want to actually put lipstick on with the stick, you can put some on your finger and just give your lips a touch of color if you want. That’s about as basic as you can get πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Ha, ha! That’s funny! I once used to work at this place and the office manager was a real bitch. She always wore all this heavy eyeliner and she was actually dating the owner but trying to keep it a secret. Anyway, she would always be a few minutes late for work but one day was really late and when she finally showed up her eyeliner was totally smeared! Takes me about 5 mins out the door. I guess we’re lucky!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have cousins like that. they take forever to get ready for a night out. I don’t. I am ready in 20 mins. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I blame the Kardashians for all of this! It really is called the “Kardashian look”, and the results are achieved by applying pounds of “contouring” makeup. I like makeup because it can help you look like a better version of yourself….not an entirely different person. Honestly, I think a lot of women come off looking like drag queens. I’m ready and out the door in ten minutes!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahahaha, I just saw pictures of one of them, before, during, and after make up and I have to admit that the difference is HUGE.
      But, do they do it themselves or do they have professional make up artist doing the work? For sure it takes hours! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. If you ever wondered why all cars and ships are referred to as “her” or “she,” this goes a long way in explaining it.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Has to do with the needing to put a lot of paint on them so they always look good, spending a lot of money on them, having to put so much work into them, and a few other things that basically add up to a once in a great while you get to use them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
