738

Screen Shot 2016-08-25 at 11.21.21 AM

Friday. I can’t say I collect things but I must admit that there are two things that I can buy and keep buying, even though I don’t really need them. But don’t even try to tell me I don’t need them.
One of them are mugs. I can’t resist a nice mug. Actually, I can if it’s made of ceramic. Those break easily. I like cheap porcelain mugs. The bigger, the better but any size would do if they have a nice shape or a cute inscription or design.
The other thing that I love to buy is scarves (or scarfs). I think I own about 60/70. And I wear them all.
I have almost all the colors except “apple green”. I saw one on ebay.com that I love and I could get it any day but I refuse to pay the original price and “buy it now”, so I’m trying to win the auction. I’m after the stupid scarf for several weeks already and I won’t rest until I get it. The only problem is that while I search for this special one, I keep finding others and buying them because I like them too. And they are not even green.
When the auction is about to end and if a scarf is cheap, I make my bid and buy it. And it has to be free shipping or no deal is made.

Some weeks ago while I was searching the “apple green” one, I saw a few scarves that I loved and I had to buy them. Because you know, I could need them.
A few weeks later I started getting them. When I was trying to leave feedback for one of them, I realized I couldn’t match the scarf I got with any of the ones I ordered.
Some store had sent one that was completely different of what I wanted but it was 20 times prettier. No way I was going to return it. So I had to wait until I got all the scarves before giving feedback.
Of course they got 5 stars. They did a great job not sending the one I ordered but one much prettier with aqua blue, purple and butterflies!
You can make this girl supper happy with a $0.78 gift.

And IT’S FRIDAY, I’M IN LOVE! And I have all the symptoms but no song.
So I decided to pick this one that I really like and it reminds me of one of the greatest men I knew in my life, Norberto. He’s maybe the reason why I’m here, since he was the one who introduced my parents.
He died 21 years ago.
A few weeks after his death, his widow came to our house. She had his ID.

Argentinian ID’s used to be like small green passports. (I’m not sure if they are like this now).

argentina_dni

When I saw it, I smiled. His ID had some colorful cover paper around and also Sarah Kay tape. It was a funny thing to see if you consider that it belonged to a grown up man.

That’s Sarah Kay style, in case you are not familiar with it.

Screen Shot 2016-09-02 at 11.32.43 AM

When the widow saw me smiling, she said:
“Do you remember this?”
“What?”
“You did this many years ago”
“Did I? I can’t remember”
“Yes, you said his ID was in bad condition and it was better to put some cover paper around to protect it. He never took it off because he loved you so much”.

F#$k, I’m crying now.
Anyway, Norberto loved Ottmar Liebert’s music.
This is one of my favorites: “Bombay”.
I hope you enjoy it too.

~ by DotedOn on September 2, 2016.

11 Responses to “738”

  1. Wow, weird about those scarves but sounds like a happy accident. On Ebay, if you wait long enough the price will come down. I bought my son a mug with a skull at the 99 cents store. The first one broke and I bought another and the handle is chipping. You get what you pay for…go figure! But it’s really cute. If this one breaks, I know they don’t have any more.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m listening to the pretty guitar music while I type πŸ™‚ Such a beautiful anecdote, Paola. How special about his passport! And I never heard of Sarah Kay, but am happy I do now πŸ™‚

    For me, I can’t resist books, though often have to. They are the only thing I can think of that I will continue to buy though I don’t have the money or room for them lol If I had money to spend on more frivolous things, I know I would! Beautiful chess sets, intricate sculptures (Disney has some I drool over), things like that πŸ™‚

    I love the way scarves look, have maybe a dozen, but never wear them! I’ve noticed I can’t have the silky ones around my neck ’cause it always feels like my hair’s stuck down my collar! Isn’t that weird? lol Anyway, enjoy your collections! I’m often drawn to mugs, but don’t have room for more and always use the same couple πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I couldn’t resist books either but my ex made me get rid of all of them. It was awful. I ended up donating them to the school library. I still hurt about it πŸ™‚
      I used to love Sarah Kay! I think those designs are so beautiful!
      All my scarves are kind of silky or thin cotton. My throat is really week so I always have one on unless it’s quite warm (which almost never happens!!) πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Good luck on the scarf. I hope you get it. Love the music. It’s very similar to the music I turn way down low while I’m writing, I almost forget it’s there, yet I find I end up more productive.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have no idea how to wear scarves.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That last story was so heart warming. πŸ˜€ And scarves and mugs.. seems easy enough.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
