745

Screen Shot 2016-09-04 at 1.56.41 PM

Friday. One of my best friends decided to move abroad so she could work doing what she loves. That’s working in television, behind the cameras. In the past 20 years I think I saw her only twice because we never coincided when we visited our families in Argentina.
The last time I saw her I asked her things like if she liked living there and if she liked the people.
I’ll never forget her answer. She loved the place but she was shocked about the people, specially women. I wanted to know why. She said: “I have this friend for several years and I still can’t believe the way she acts. Every time she meets a man she asks first: ‘Do you have a car?’ She never asks his name or what he likes. She goes straight to the car question”.
“Really?”
“Yes! And she’s not the only one. It seems that all of them are like that! So materialistic! I’m not sure if it’s only the women I know, who mostly work in tv, or if all of them are like that. But it’s so sad!”

I knew a few girls who only accepted to go out with guys who were dressed like catalogue models or who had nice cars. I could never understand that.
I also could never understand those who stayed with a guy because he gave them gifts. Or because he was a lawyer/doctor.

Those things never impressed me. Sometimes they made me quite sad. I feel they were trying to compensate for the important things that were missing.

“I have a Ph.D in …, a masters degree in …, two bachelor degrees is … and … and I’m a member of the … society and the country club”
That doesn’t impress me either. He can have a big brain and a big wallet but how big is his heart?
I don’t need gifts to love a man. And for sure, I don’t measure his love by the size of the diamond on my ring. I can’t measure his love but how much he knows or how much he works, either.

A few months ago I was talking to a friend. I said: “I can understand that money is important, specially when I don’t have it. But to be honest, money doesn’t impress me. Nothing material really impresses me. I’m blind to that. I don’t care. I want a man who loves me. Who shows me he cares not by buying me things but by being there, loving me. He doesn’t have to be super handsome but if he loves me, he’ll be the most attractive man in the world”.

Give me a gold bracelet and I probably wear it once (if I have a wedding to go to). Send me a message in the middle of the day telling me you are thinking about me and I promise I’ll wear the smile wherever I go.
The things that don’t cost any money are the things I value the most.
For sure I’d love the scarf my beloved gives me but when the time to go comes, I don’t think I’ll be taking that scarf with me because my luggage will be full of all the kisses and hugs and I love you’s that I hopefully will be getting from him.
“Baby, I know what makes you happy. You love when I call you for no reason, I can see that in your eyes”. That’s what impresses me! When he gets me and I can feel loved.

And IT’S FRIDAY, I’M IN LOVE! This is the perfect song for today’s post.
When you know a man/woman has the brains, the moves and the looks but they didn’t get “the touch” and you know THAT’s exactly what you need to be kept warm at night.

Enjoy Shania Twain,


THAT DON’T IMPRESS ME MUCH

(written by Robert Lange & Shania Twain)

I’ve known a few guys who thought they were pretty smart
But you’ve got being right down to an art
You think you’re a genius-you drive me up the wall
You’re a regular original, a know-it-all

Oh-oo-oh, you think you’re special
Oh-oo-oh, you think you’re something else

Okay, so you’re a rocket scientist
That don’t impress me much
So you got the brain but have you got the touch
Don’t get me wrong, yeah I think you’re alright
But that won’t keep me warm in the middle of the night
That don’t impress me much

I never knew a guy who carried a mirror in his pocket
And a comb up his sleeve-just in case
And all that extra hold gel in your hair oughta lock it
‘Cause Heaven forbid it should fall outta place

Oh-oo-oh, so you think you’re something special
Oh-oo-oh, you think you’re something else

Okay, so you’re Brad Pitt
That don’t impress me much
So you got the looks but have you got the touch
Don’t get me wrong, yeah I think you’re alright
But that won’t keep me warm in the middle of the night
That don’t impress me much

You’re one of those guys who likes to shine his machine
You make me take off my shoes before you let me get in
I can’t believe you kiss your car good night
C’mon baby tell me-you must be jokin’, right!

Oh-oo-oh, so you think you’re something special
Oh-oo-oh, you think you’re something else

Okay, so you’ve got a car
That don’t impress me much
So you got the moves but have you got the touch
Don’t get me wrong, yeah I think you’re alright
But that won’t keep me warm in the middle of the night

That don’t impress me much
You think you’re cool but have you got the touch
Don’t get me wrong, yeah I think you’re alright
But that won’t keep me warm on the long, cold, lonely night
That don’t impress me much

Okay, so what do you think you’re Elvis or something
Whatever
That don’t impress me

~ by DotedOn on September 9, 2016.

12 Responses to “745”

  1. 🙂 I love this tune, lol I have some savings I wonder where I could find a trophy wife!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree! I married a man that didn’t have much money and we’re doing okay…still some money would be nice…ha, ha!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the line about wearing the smile all day long! Have a great weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like money. And gifts. And smart men.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

 
