756

756

Tuesday. Yesterday I spent the entire afternoon shredding the stupid bushes. I didn’t finish and I’m not even half done. I think that if I work every day this week and it doesn’t rain, I’ll probably be done by Friday. After that, I’ll be sawing the pine trees and other bushes that are also out of control. I don’t really enjoy gardening. Mowing is the nicest thing so far and I don’t even like it.

I was frowning because none of my kids wanted to help me until I realized I wasn’t alone. There was this super cute bird on one of the branches that was staring at me. I was amazed that he (I decided it was a male bird) didn’t fly away when I took the branches that were close to him. Also the noise didn’t seem to bother him at all.

It’s an European robin (Erithacus rubecula). Isn’t he cute?

img_4673

img_4675

I only hope he didn’t make a nest in those bushes because I’d feel awful if I destroy his house.

In the evening I decided to borrow my ex’s car. He offered it several weeks ago but we were fighting pretty bad then so I preferred not to accept it because I was afraid the price to pay was going to be very high. But a few days ago my kids told me that he had a date with a Brazilian woman so I thought: “He should be calm now, I better act”. So I asked him if I could ride with him to his house and take his small car. I also asked if my oldest son could ride back with me because I didn’t dare to come back alone at night. My son was really happy to be with me, specially because we went shopping and I let him get whatever he pleased.
I miss going to some of the supermarkets I used to go when I lived in Holland. There are some things that I only buy in specific places and I could never find an alternative anywhere else so I always have to ask someone to get them for me. Or wait until I have the car and buy them myself.
The thing is, one of the things I needed was some feminine product that I really don’t feel comfortable asking someone else to get for me. So every time I go to that supermarket, I get several packages of the product and the person at the cash register always look at me with a face of: “Poor woman, she must have a really heavy flow”.
After getting my special products, we went to another supermarket and I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw my favorite beer.
Last time I drank it, it was probably in 94 or 96 with my German friend Tobi.
I had to get it (them… I didn’t want to ruin the beautiful package and get only one).

img_4679

I guess I’ll be celebrating Oktoberfest this year.

~ by DotedOn on September 20, 2016.

12 Responses to “756”

  1. I’m really bad at buying feminine products and sometimes find myself running out at, well, the worst times. My husband hates it when I ask him to pick them up for me and I really don’t like asking since you have to, well, get into specifics. I pity all the men who end up in that aisle in the supermarket.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m always impressed when you mention going back and forth between the countries like you’re simply crossing town borders 🙂 Enjoy your Oktoberfest!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Whenever I dig my garden soil I can be sure a Robin will appear from somewhere, I think they watch the soil being turned over and cotton onto the fact there’s bound to be worms. Nice photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. enjoy the beer I might have to celebrate octoberfest too! I heard its going to be huge! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Haha.. Lowenbrau.. wow, haven’t seen that in years.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
