762

screen-shot-2016-09-24-at-11-16-53-am

Monday. It’s sunny and I slept over six hours without interruptions. I can’t remember when it was the last time. I don’t care. If I could have two more nights like that, I’ll feel as good as new.
Yesterday, after reading my friend’s email, I decided to take an “internet break” and get productive.
I had the plan to go and work in the backyard. Do whatever needed to be done that didn’t make any noise. I started raking the mess, I made a nice pile and when it was time to collect it, I was already tired. So I went back inside and decided to hang my “magic carpet” (another finished project!!) and redecorate my Arabian Nights Room.

But first, let me tell you the story of that room.

Most houses have a fireplace in the living room. In Germany, there is a special room for the fireplace, the “Kaminzimmer”. Some of these rooms are designed in a very strange way (like this one). They don’t have a door because they are attached to another room, so there is no place to put a sofa or chairs around because it’d block the entrance or just be lying in the middle of the room looking odd.

The original idea for that room was to make a place for myself. I was going to call it “My Zen Garden”. Then I thought I needed a desk, so I could use it like a studio and call it “My Office”. I remember when I lived at my parents house, there was an empty room by the garage and one day I asked my parents if I could use it. They said: “Why not?”
I never thought I’d love so much having a place for my own since all my life I had shared the bedroom with my sister. That room was used when I wanted to stay up late to study. (Or that’s what I told my parents).
After that, I always lived in shoe box size houses.

Then I needed a theme to decorate “my own new room” and believe it or not, I kept getting “signs”. A series of coincidences that were hard to miss.

While trying to shop for lamps, I kept getting this image:

screen-shot-2016-09-26-at-11-14-46-am

Then I was reading blogs and I got across things like these:

screen-shot-2016-09-26-at-11-19-11-am

screen-shot-2016-09-26-at-11-18-50-am

Then my mother told me something I didn’t know. I knew my grandfather was of Armenian origins and born in Istanbul (Turkey), what I didn’t know was that also his parents and grandparents were born in Turkey.

That same week, one of the moms at the new school came with a bag full of curtains asking me if I could use them. I said I was going to leave the ones I found hanging on the house but I could also hang those on the sides to make the rooms more colorful.

Then I thought: “This is MY house and I can do whatever I please”. I already had an idea for my bedroom. I wanted a “Princess Bedroom”. But what if I created a room with some Arabian touches?”

So I hung the curtains on the ceiling

screen-shot-2016-09-26-at-11-25-43-am

Then I got 2 carpets and decorated the room with several pillows on the floor.

One day, a friend who was moving abroad, left two beds at my ex’s house. One of the beds was for one person and the other for two persons. I said to my ex that I could use the one person’s bed as a sofa for the extra room and if he didn’t want the big bed, he could sell it. He asked if he could keep the small bed for my oldest son and bring the big bed here.
I was about to say: “No way” and then I remembered my son telling me he was sleeping on a mattress on the floor. So I said: “OK”.
I thought the bed was going to be huge for the room but it fits just perfectly.
So my own new room, became a guest room.

That’s how it looks like now. My precious Arabian Nights Room.

You can see the “magic carpet” on the wall (right).

img_4717

I also hung a mirror and some hearts (because I feel the room needs a lot of love).

img_4719

That’s the fireplace. I got that fabric from another friend who also moved abroad. I didn’t know what to do with it and I don’t discard things so easily.

img_4722

If you were wondering, I also have a magic lamp. Now I’m waiting for some of my wishes to come true.

img_4723

And if you ever visit me, you know where you’ll be sleeping. (Belly dancer and sultan costumes are also available in case you want the “full fantasy package”).

~ by DotedOn on September 26, 2016.

12 Responses to “762”

  1. Paola, I LOVE the “Arabian Nights” theme pretty much ANYwhere! It was probably my favorite theme when I was doing party planning and decor. The ceiling is just wonderful šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€ With that theme I always picture everything a color so was surprised to see white walls (not that it doesn’t look beautiful!) I love that there’s fabric EVERYwhere in that room. Just beautiful šŸ™‚ Wish I could visit just to sleep in it! lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • After painting the bedrooms and kitchen, I didn’t want to see a brush again! šŸ˜€
      I’m trying to find those pashminas in 2nd hand stores… My budget is a one digit number šŸ˜€

      I wish you could visit me one day! I could even prepare some Middle East dishes for you šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I wish, Paola! But I can barely go out of the state, let alone out of the country! lol

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nicely done! You’re so creative!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I think it’s great you made it YOUR room. I wish friends of mine who move away would hand over cool stuff. Good deal

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I do like your Arabian themed bedroom, it’s quirky and I can see all the middle eastern influences. Paola don’t you think we all need our very own cosy personal sace to feel safe and relaxed in.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. The room looks really cool. And that is an interesting story about your heritage.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
