773

screen-shot-2016-10-05-at-8-38-30-pm

Friday. There are some things that we can’t control. They just happen whether you want them or not. Like natural disasters or love.
Both of them can have devastating outcomes. They are like higher forces and even when you think you are ready to face them and you do all you can to minimize the effects they could cause on you and the people around you, you just realize they are much stronger than what you thought and there is nothing you can do, except let them happen and hope for the best.

So, who’s more ready or better prepared to face the consequences when those higher forces hit?
That’s really hard to tell.

Maybe you remember the story of The Oak Tree and The Reed.

A reed got into an argument with an oak tree. The oak tree marveled at her own strength, boasting that she could stand her own in a battle against the winds. Meanwhile, she condemned the reed for being weak, since he was naturally inclined to yield to every breeze. The wind then began to blow very fiercely. The oak tree was torn up by her roots and toppled over, while the reed was left bent but unharmed.

Being strong not always means that you’ll stand straight when the hits start coming.
Sometimes is better to just adapt and let go.

Mostly, “An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure”. But it could happen that it doesn’t matter how much precautions you take, you are just not ready when the higher forces hit.
It seems that when something is meant to happen, it will.

And IT’S FRIDAY, I’M IN LOVE! And I think this is the perfect song for today’s post. You can’t fight some things and some questions don’t have an answer.
You can’t see love or the wind. But can you say they don’t exist?

Enjoy Elvis,


I CAN’T HELP FALLING IN LOVE WITH YOU

(written by H. Peretti, G. Weiss & L. Creatore)

Wise men say only fools rush in
But I can’t help falling in love with you
Shall I stay
Would it be a sin
If I can’t help falling in love with you

Like a river flows surely to the sea
Darling so it goes
Some things are meant to be
Take my hand, take my whole life too
For I can’t help falling in love with you

Like a river flows surely to the sea
Darling so it goes
Some things are meant to be
Take my hand, take my whole life too
For I can’t help falling in love with you
For I can’t help falling in love with you

sources:

metrolyrics.com
mythfolklore.net

~ by DotedOn on October 7, 2016.

10 Responses to “773”

  1. Never heard that story, but it’s an excellent analogy, Paola 🙂 I have to say it depends on what you’re fighting and having to deal with that determines whether it is necessary to be strong in standing your ground or strong by being flexible and adapting. Everything is relative! I love intellectual conversation 🙂 (Maybe you already know that?! lol)

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s one of Aesop Fables. I really like them. A lot of wisdom in a short paragraph 🙂

      And that’s true! Everything is relative 🙂
      Intellectual conversation is good but I can’t stay serious for too long and that’s always a problem 😀

      Like

  2. Yes, life is tough. It’s hard to be prepared for everything.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve always loved that tree and the reed story. Thank you for reminding me of it. As for the song, I’m not a huge Elvis fan, but this one is one of my favorites.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Your right. Some things just happen whether we want them to or not. I like that song too Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. One of the few… and I mean few… songs by Elvis that I actually don’t mind. And sometimes, adaptation is a much better form of survival than attempting to stick to your guns (as they say here). However, if you continue to adapt, the question is begged, how true to you are you being?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
