779

 

screen-shot-2016-10-05-at-8-40-52-pm

Thursday. Sometimes, things don’t go the way we expect them to go so we must change our plans and adapt to the new situation.
My plans for the week are not going exactly how I imagined them. I didn’t plan on not feeling well and here I am, exhausted and feeling like crap.
I couldn’t get up this morning, my body felt really heavy, also my eyelids. And my stomach hurts.
I’m glad that at least the house is clean and the stupid closets are tidy.

I think I’ll go back to bed. Maybe I feel better in the afternoon and I can go for a walk under the ugly and dark clouds.
Or I could go for a ride, I still have my ex’s car. I could try to find the kind of shopping mall that’s just across the border, 5 minutes away. The one that I never dared to go with the bike because every time I try to explore this area, I end up lost and cycling for several hours.

That reminds me, about a month ago, I took some pictures of my town to share with you.

That’s what I see from my driveway and how I wish the sky looked 27 days a month.

img_4509

That’s how my street looks if you go to the right.

img_4510

If you follow the street, you end up in the main road.
If you turn to the left, you can go to Holland.

img_4512

And if you go to the right, you can go to the main town and to the supermarkets.

img_4511

If you continue your way to the left on the main road, that’s what you see.

img_4513

From the main road, if you look to the left, you can see the mill (the touristic attraction of the town!!). I think you have to zoom in on the picture and you can see the blades.

img_4514

I took the picture below to show you how close to Holland I live. You can’t really see well, but exactly in the middle, there is a windmill (for wind power). If you pass the windmill, you are in another country.

img_4520

This is the way I take to bring my son to kindergarten. If you turn to the right a few meters away from the stoplight shown in one of the pictures above, you can cross the railways and go to the other part of this town (that’s unknown land for me, except for the kindergarten, post office and quarry).

img_4515

After crossing the railways, if you go to the right and follow the street, that’s what you see:

img_4516

The quarry is exactly behind the trees that you see far in the back (2 blocks away).

img_4517

But if you turn to the left, you go to the kindergarten. It’s on the right, close to the pine trees.

img_4518

On the kindergarten street, there is a store that’s empty now, but when I just moved here and saw it, I couldn’t help to put this face, mixed of course with a bit of WTF?!

flat550x550075f

The sign says: “Hänhchen, Kunst & Wein”, and it means, “Chicken, Art & Wine”.

img_4519

I regret deeply never going there before it closed, but to be honest, the mix of rotisserie chicken, wine racks and paintings, kind of made me cringe.

Maybe if I weren’t vegetarian, I would have gone. Then again, going alone anywhere, is not fun.

thchic

That’s a little part of my town. Next time, I’ll show you the “town center”.

~ by DotedOn on October 13, 2016.

16 Responses to “779”

  1. It looks beautiful, Paola. It must be amazing to live so close to another country. Just hop on your bike or car and enjoy a different culture for a while.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Wow what a beautiful neighborhood Paola 🙂 and you live close to railway tracks! I love trains and TY for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not sure if those railway tracks work. I think they were used in the past to transport the stones from the quarry to further towns. The railways that work are about a mile away from here 🙂
      I’m glad you liked my neighborhood! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Looks quiet. The sky sure is pretty! You’re right, wine, art and chicken is a weird mix!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love it when fellow bloggers share a little bit of their lives. Beautiful country.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I love that you shared these, Paola, and am really looking forward to more! 😀 This looks like SUCH a lovely area! It’s flatter than I expected. No hills anywhere near you? And I’m curious how chicken, wine and art fit together, but they made it work! Unlike you, I would’ve definitely gone in! lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • More pictures coming soon! 🙂
      There are hills, many of them. The mill is on a hill and also the castle. I’m just glad I live in the flat part because otherwise, riding my bike would be awful! 🙂
      The kindergarten is situated a bit lower than were I live, so when I bring my son is really nice because I have to pedal only twice and then I’m there. But coming back uphill with him on the bike it’s not nice, specially when it rains or snows or it’s windy… And that’s like 85% of the times! 🙂

      I didn’t imagine the chicken place was going to close. I was waiting to find someone to go with me and then one day I saw it was empty.. It broke my heart.
      The mural on the entrance is still there and I LOVE it! I wish I could hang it in my living room 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for the tour – you really are very close!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Paola, it sounds like the little hill from Kindergarten is a very short distance. It’s not easier if you and he climb that little bit on foot and then get on the bike?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I try to cycle all the way because that’s the only exercise I get 😀
      But some days, we end up walking some of the parts because I’m out of breath 😀

      Like

  8. do you like where your living? xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment