790

screen-shot-2016-10-15-at-12-25-41-pm

Monday. Yesterday I could convince my kids to take a walk in the woods. We had a really nice time and thanks to the sun, it wasn’t that cold.
I was a bit disappointed because the trees are still green. Mostly by this time, they are all leafless. I really want to see the autumn in action. Maybe next week.

These ones below are some pictures of the castle’s gardens.
You can access the garden from several different places. This time, I chose entering by the parking place, in front of the church where I had left my bike.

I took the picture from the Stones’ Museum. There you can learn more about the stones they took from the quarry that’s near my house and used to build the castle. I’ll visit it some time.

img_4827

If you walk a bit further, you can see the fountain.

img_4828

It’s pretty big. This time I didn’t want to walk there. I was a bit tired and I knew I still had to cycle back home.

img_4830

That’s how the castle looks from the gardens.

img_4829

While I was smiling taking my pictures, a woman approached me and said something like: “Would you like some information?”
Naive me thought she meant information about the castle, so I said: “Yes, please”.
And then she went on and on about things happening in the world and I was too late to escape.

img_4832

I can’t believe it! I knew the Jehovah’s Witnesses knock on your door but I didn’t know they also stop you on the street. Plus, she was in disguise. She was wearing pants!!

img_4831

I used to say to my kids: “If two women wearing skirts ring the bell, say I’m sick or taking a shower”. Now I have to remember to tell them not to open the door to anyone because some of those women wear pants too. Ugh.

I kept walking and shooting pictures to whatever I saw. There is also a mini golf field somewhere.

img_4835

And a lot of grass and trees.

img_4838

And a very nice lake. I still don’t get the sunken tower.

img_4839

img_4840

There are some ducks too.

img_4841

img_4844

And it’s the perfect place to take your date.

img_4843

There is a very nice playground in front of the lake.

img_4842

img_4845

img_4848

I wanted some yellow or red trees so I took some random pictures.

img_4850

img_4847

img_4851

img_4849

Next time I’ll show you the way back home and my little town.

~ by DotedOn on October 24, 2016.

22 Responses to “790”

  1. Looks beautiful and peaceful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ugh! I hate being approached by people trying to push their religion on you! Why do they care so much? Sounds like you had a nice walk anyway.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. What a wonderful thing to live near such a beautiful area for walking.

    I’ve never heard of Jehovah Witness stopping people in the street, though I do remember witnessing a homeless man beating up a woman in a train station in Boston. She had tried to give him copies of Watchtower. I didn’t just witness it, btw, I started to stop him but other people who were much closer were able to subdue him until the police arrived.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Quite beautiful photographs Paola, you live in a truly lovely area and I’ve found from experience having blue skies really brings a picture alive!………..and yes a nice peaceful place to get laid!!!! :/ I’ve never had sex out doors but it doesn’t half sound fun…………a work friend of mine once f#cked a girl behind a skip next to a bus stop but I don’t think that quite counts.. not very romantic!!!!! πŸ˜€

    A friend at work once told me that if a Jehovah’s Witness comes to the door just tell them you are a practicing Roman Catholic…………apparently they run a mile?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. First—these pictures are beautiful πŸ™‚ I love that there’s a castle you can visit and such beautiful gardens and a park that I’m guessing are relatively close to where you live? SO nice πŸ˜€

    Second, I feel I have to say something about Jehovah’s Witnesses because they are largely misunderstood. I am speaking from a very knowledgeable place because, except for a few things I can’t comply with, I would probably be one. I’m in the U.S., but the organization is run the same all over the world as far as their purpose. They’re not trying to force a religion. What they’re doing is hoping to educate people because they are actually trying to save lives, and yes, they are always hopeful that you will see what they (and I) believe is the truth about God (Jehovah or Yahweh, according to the unaltered, original text), the most important messages of the Christian Bible, and prophesy and ultimately decide to commit to that faith once you learn because they believe it will save your life in the end.

    I have known and studied with JWs, on and off, for about 40 years now. They have voluntarily spent countless hours (years) with me discussing all aspects of Christianity and the Bible. The education is priceless and there’s a good chance I’ll pick it up again. In all these years have they encouraged me to be baptized? Of course, because they love me and know what’s at stake. My resistance may very well do me in, but I’m hoping/praying not. Not once has anyone tried to force me or given me some sort of ultimatum. That choice is 100% mine and they also would never stop studying with me if I really want to learn more. They offer books for free (though I will ALways give money for them) that are invaluable. If you saw their library of books, you’d be blown away. They dress in dresses and suits when they are doing “official” witnessing, door-to-door (in twos for safety/legalities) because they feel they are representing God and feel they should dress appropriately. I see nothing wrong with casual as long as it’s neat and respectable, but that’s my opinion. The woman in the park wasn’t actually doing a predetermined round of witnessing, which is actually very organized so they know they’re not missing anyone. Most Witnesses will have literature on them because they want to be able to help people “whenever.” She was casual, hanging out in the park.

    I have some very dear JW friends. They live as normally as everyone else in many ways (including wearing pants, jeans and whatever), but most of them (not all, ’cause everyone is human) do their best to live by Bible standards which, by the way, includes witnessing (just as Jesus and his disciples did), and shunning the many very un-Christian ways of the world.

    I’d like to make a suggestion, hoping more than one person is reading what I’m saying here:

    The next time witnesses come to your door or approach you somewhere, consider what it takes for them to give their free time that way, to walk until their feet hurt, sometimes in bad weather—for your sake, not theirs—and do what they do knowing they will be rejected and shunned by most of the people they witness to. If you have no interest in learning more about what’s really in the Bible, simply say something like “Thank you. I appreciate your concern for me and my family, but I have no interest in learning anything outside my own belief system.” Or tell them you don’t have time or no interest in studying the Bible. Whatever, and I highly doubt you’ll ever see women witnesses wearing pants when they go door-to-door. They may still want to leave literature with you hoping you’ll read it, that your interest may be piqued and possibly change your mind and want to study the Bible. That’s also why they will eventually come knocking again—because people can change their mind, their lives may change, they may finally want answers to why the world is in the condition it’s in and may decide they DO want to study the Bible. That’s what JWs are ALL about. They’re not aliens, they’re not weird and most are not overly zealous. They are generally wonderful people whose only intent is to help and educate you—but ONLY if you want it.

    I’m sure you didn’t expect all this when you made that comment, but as you can see, I know Jehovah’s Witnesses VERY well and was compelled to speak for them. Thanks for humoring me, Paola (and whoever else reads this) πŸ™‚

    Meanwhile, we don’t have true autumn peaks here anymore, though this year looked like it “might” happen. It’s been a good dozen years since the last time we had blazing, breathtaking colors everywhere you looked :-\ I hope you see more color soon! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you, Donna! I hope I can see more yellow soon! That makes me really happy! πŸ™‚
      About the JW, I tried to tell them about my beliefs but I think they thought they were too weak because they didn’t seem to care I wasn’t interested in their help. I feel awful because they keep coming every month to my house (under rain or snow) and some of them should be at home resting because their working years are long gone. I really like them (the same family comes here every time) and I feel bad that they didn’t get yet that I’m nit interested.
      Many years ago, when I was 14/15, I used to have several QuinceaΓ±era parties in Argentina. One evening as my friends and I were getting ready for one of the parties, my mom’s manicure was also at our place. She used to be a JW. I didn’t know at the time but the mother of one of the girls who was also getting ready with me, was also a JW. It seems that when the manicure went to the next JW meeting, she talked about my friend going to a party and her mom got kicked out of the JW’s. That little incident started a battle because after that was brought to light, someone mentioned the manicure’s husband (also JW), having an affair with some other woman there. It was all a big mess . A real life soap opera. So in my mind I got the idea of: “They preach one thing and they do other”. Like any other person in this world, we are all humans, we all make mistakes. So why the hypocrisy?

      I never talk about religion or preach anything. My ex forbade me to talk about religion to my kids because he said I have “strange” concepts and I shouldn’t teach that to my kids. Of course I do what I please with my kids and tell them that they were baptized Roman Catholic but they get to choose what they want to believe once they grow up.
      I know we all should believe in something and of course, I do. But I rarely talk about it (I only mention my Saints πŸ™‚ ) and I don’t like when people tell me that their beliefs are stronger or better than mine (because, who can measure that?!).
      If God truly knows all our whereabouts, he knows my way of thinking (as strange and different as it could be from all the rest), and of course, he still loves me. Should I pretend I’m someone I’m not? Should I force myself to do something I don’t believe in? No. It’s pointless because God knows my true intentions, right?
      Will I go to Heaven or Hell? I’ll discover it when I get there. Right now, I can’t really worry about that. πŸ™‚
      I know I’m not hurting anyone with my acts and I always try to do the best I can πŸ™‚
      I really appreciate your comment, Donna!

      πŸ™‚ Now you know a bit of why I get annoyed with preachers. I understand their good intentions, it’s just I can’t always trust them! (And that goes for every religion, sect, cult or belief) πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • Donna thank you, a very instructive comment from a very personal perspective πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

      • I’m glad you appreciated that, Andrew πŸ™‚ I think it’s better to understand rather than misunderstand them and their purpose. And I just spent some time responding to Paola, but for some reason, there was a glitch and it wouldn’t post. It went to that weird, blank “whoops” page. Right now I don’t have the patience to try to reiterate. Maybe later! lol

        Liked by 2 people

      • I’m sorry, Donna!
        It happens to me too. Some comments disappear. It’s very annoying! πŸ™‚

        Like

  6. awe, pictures and more pictures! very nice πŸ˜› xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
