795

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-1-00-35-pm

Saturday. October is almost gone. I still can’t believe how fast this year is going and at the same time, some things that happened not long ago, seem like a distant memory. Time is a funny thing.
I remember laughing every time I phoned my grandfather and before hanging up I used to ask: “Do you need anything else?”
And without failing, even after he had a couple of strokes that made him forget a lot of stuff, he replied: “Youth”.
It took me at least 15 years to understand what he meant.
I think once you reach your mid 30’s is when you start to realize that time flies. Or at least, that’s when it hit me.

So, how long ago did I go to the castle?
I’m so glad I write this blog. You have no idea how many times it helps me remember things.

Here are some more pictures of that day. The way back.

That’s the road connecting the main town (where the castle is) to the annex town where I live.

img_4853

The way back is boring. No hills to watch (only to feel in your legs) and of course, no castle.
Anyway, that’s my favorite part when I have to return home (and the least favorite part when I go to the castle). It’s downhill. You only have to pedal once and you can rest for a couple of minutes.

img_4856

img_4858

After the curve, the fun is over.

img_4863

Since I mastered cycling with one hand and taking pictures, I couldn’t resist a selfie.

I’m not happy with that picture at all. I found those glasses on the street (gross!) and put them in my saddlebag because I thought it was really useful to have sunglasses always with me because I never knew when one of the 5 sunny days would come.

And OMG! I had never seen me wearing them. No wonder why I’m still single.

img_4859

WTF, the resemblance is unbelievable!

screen-shot-2016-10-28-at-11-20-26-pm

The boring road goes on for a while. You can see the railways on the right and a few fields with horses.

img_4865

img_4870

To go to my house, I should go straight a bit longer but I turned to the left so I could take some pictures of the church in my town.

img_4871

As soon as I turned, I discovered that I was in front of the cemetery. I had no idea there was a cemetery there. I couldn’t resist and I had to go in. For respect, I didn’t take any pictures but I did read all the names so I could have an idea which names were popular in this area.
Hermann and Johannes for men and Johanna and Gesine for women.
Sometimes my curiosity makes me wonder WTF is wrong with me?!?

img_4872

Guess what? I got lost!! And the cemetery is not even that big.
After a while I finally saw a gate and I thought it was closed. I was about to cry and then I read the sign saying: “Keep the door closed”. I was relieved.

Leaving the cemetery to the right, you are on the street that will become the main street of the center of town and it’s where the church is.

img_4873

I had never paid attention to how beautifulthat part of town is (4 blocks away from my house).

img_4874

img_4875

That’s the Evangelical Reformed Church of my town. It was built using the stones from the quarry behind the kindergarten. The size of the church makes you believe that this town is huge.

img_4876

img_4878

img_4882

img_4887

img_4893

Behind the church is the steeple. Those bells toll every half an hour the whole day. I can hear them during the day when my kids are not home and every night. And I’m not even that close. I wonder how the hell the people living in front of the church can sleep.

img_4879

img_4885

The sign below says that the bell tower is the oldest building of the place. It was build in the beginning of the 13th century as a tower-defense of some other building (I need to find out if that building is still there).
The tower is three stories high and made of sandstone.
The crossbow vault covers the ground floor where originally there was a meeting room. Nowadays the building acts as the church steeple.

img_4881

I just learned something new.

Behind the church tower there are really beautiful streets that I had never seen before.

img_4883

And that’s my shadow reflected on the side of the church tower.

img_4886

Next time, the town center.

~ by DotedOn on October 29, 2016.

14 Responses to “795”

  1. Paola, this was SO enjoyable! So when you go with your kids all this way, you’re cycling and they’re walking? Or you do this alone? It’s certainly a lot of walking, if that’s the case lol

    This whole area looks SO lovely, and honestly, I don’t think the dead would mind/know if you’re taking pics. It’s history, really, and the sharing that they were here once. I love those cobblestone streets! I’m glad you’re sharing these 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh Donna! I’m not going with my kids on bikes anywhere anymore! You have no idea how much stress that is 🙂 Not every street has a special path and my younger kids still have no idea what danger means!
      I mostly go alone everywhere unless we can all go walking 🙂
      I’ll be sharing more pictures soon and I’ll read the signs so I can also tell you the story about it 🙂
      I’m glad you are enjoying the trips! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 🙂 Hmm, Paola I’ve been looking at you in sunglasses and they don’t look at all bad, I wouldn’t worry, keep wearing them they’re very Hollywood! And lovely photos of the journey home.

    Well you’ve proved your ex wrong!!! You love your blog and he didn’t think you’d stick at it, LOL 😀 I’m curious are you allowed to say if he’s read any posts? Or perhaps you’d rather not answer. I’m feeling a lot better today ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • Agreed about the sunglasses, though smaller would look nicer, I think 🙂 Granted, if you’re only protecting your eyes while bicycling, who cares anyway? lol There’s no resemblance there, btw lol

      And I didn’t think anyone you knew—especially your ex!—knew about your blog! lol

      Liked by 2 people

      • I agree they’re definitely ok cycling glasses! 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      • Yes, they are almost like a mask! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • 🙂 The sunglasses are ugly but I don’t care! They protect my eyes when I cycle and that’s all that matters!
        It was my ex’s idea to write a blog because I was writing a story and I didn’t want to keep it in the computer so he couldn’t hack it. I was very open about that part: “I DON’T WANT YOU TO READ WHAT I WRITE”. Then I finished the story and I stopped writing for over a year. Then I started again and he didn’t believe I was going to stick with it. 🙂
        I asked him not to read and so far, he’s not reading (maybe that’s why I’m still alive :D).
        Only a friend in Argentina knows about it and also reads every day 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • Hahahaha, thank you, Andrew! 🙂
      I prove him wrong every time. What still hurts is that he never truly saw me. He just stuck with the image he had of me and never had any faith in me.
      I asked him once NOT to read my blog because it’s my venting place and so far, he never did 🙂
      I’m glad you are feeling a lot better 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You’re too hard on yourself! You look cute in the sunglasses and I’ve worn ones I found on the street too. You can always clean them! I used to live near a church whose bell would toll every hour but it didn’t start ti 8 AM and ended by 10 or so. Luckily I was always up at those hours. Back in my party days, I would have been pretty upset.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you, Marissa! I’m not really sure I cleaned them 😀
      And the bells never stop. And every Sunday they toll for over 15 minutes in the morning before the service starts… I’d have been pretty upset during my party days too 🙂
      Now I kind of like it. It gives the place a peaceful touch 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

 
