807

screen-shot-2016-11-04-at-9-56-54-am

Thursday. If I get another day like yesterday, I’ll be in need of a long holiday. I’m exhausted today, completely drained.
It’s really cold and foggy outside. It’s the perfect weather to stay at home curled up on the couch eating brownies. I wish there was someone baking them for me. I love when the house smells of chocolate or cinnamon.

A few weeks ago I met a man. I went for a walk with my kids and on the way back I saw a sign hanging on a door. I said to my kids that I wanted to read the sign so we all crossed the street.
At the same moment we were walking to the door, a car parked in front of the house and the man driving got in the house and said: “Hey, ….., there is people waiting for you outside”. That wasn’t true. I only wanted to read the sign.
So the owner of the house came to the door and looked at us asking what we wanted. I said I was reading the sign.
The sign was about a beer competition. “A beer competition?”
“Yes, you are blindfolded and you have to try 10 different brands of beer and guess each one of them”.
“And you organize it”
“Yes”
After that we chatted a bit. He wanted to know from where I was and where I lived and what was I doing there.

The party/beer competition sounds like fun and I wonder who’ll be competing. Not me. There is no way I could guess the brand of one beer, let alone 10.
Anyway, I think I’ll be going to the party tomorrow. The only problem is that I don’t want go alone. I could ask the neighbor or call the guy organizing the party (I took a picture of the sing and said to him that maybe I was going to call him).
My kids were listening to our conversation. After that they wanted to know if I wanted him to be my boyfriend.

I’m still not sure what to do.
I only know that I have to be very careful and know exactly what I want.
This is a small town and I’ll be seeing the people again and again. I don’t think that everyone knows me yet but for sure if I make a mistake, everyone will.
I mostly don’t care what people think about me but I can’t stop wondering how bad it would be if I do something and my kids find out through their school friends.

Maybe I’m only thinking too much and being paranoid. But for sure one thing is true: “Donde se come, no se caga”. That’s a saying in my country. Literally: “Where you eat, you don’t shit”. Do you have that saying in English? It means that you shouldn’t behave badly/stupidly/poorly with the people who’s close to you (like neighbors or coworkers). Because later those people could talk and what they say may or may not affect you. But would you let that happen if you know that it could affect someone you care about?

~ by DotedOn on November 10, 2016.

10 Responses to “807”

  1. Go to the party! Have fun! Who cares what they think? Let us know how it goes!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I agree with Marissa. Go have fun at the party. The dilemma your having is one of the reasons I don’t like small towns, but they do have their good side too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Go and enjoy yourself πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yup, life is too short to care. Go for it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I hope you had fun at the party. It sounds like fun. and yes, we do have that saying in english. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
