809

screen-shot-2016-11-04-at-9-57-35-am

Saturday. Yesterday it was the party/beer competition. I didn’t know until about 6pm if I wanted to go or not. I sat close to the window waiting for my neighbor. The plan was to go to her and ask if she wanted to go with me but she got home 5.25pm and left 5.26pm. I didn’t even have time to put on my shoes.
I was a bit discouraged. I turned on the TV and started watching a movie: “Demolition Man”. If you knew me, you’d know that I don’t like sci-fi movies. I was just in that state were I felt nothing could get any worse.
Then I heard the bell and I smiled from ear to ear. I thought it was my neighbor but when I opened the door, three girls started to sing to me. They were carrying lamps and then I remembered it was St. Martin. Luckily I had some candy for them.

And I took a picture this time!

img_5038

I went back to the couch and I found a message from my friend A: “Any plans for the weekend?”
We keep asking that question to each other since we met in 2013. A is the guy who said he was going to marry me if by the time he turned 35 none of us had find anyone. He’s 35 now but we decided to prolong the deal a bit longer (maybe we still have hope… of course we do!).

This time I could give him the usual answer: “watching movies and eat junk food” or I could say: “I’m considering going to the party I mentioned a few weeks ago”.
I went for the 2nd option.

fullsizerender-31

Then I said to myself: “What the hell… What’s the worse that could happen?”
And I really couldn’t think of any answer that could be worse than staying at home eating junk food.
So I had made up my mind. I was going to go to the cafΓ© to have dinner and watch the competition. That way I could just eat my food and if things got strange/boring, I could always leave.

This had been a f#$king week for me and I was determined to end that last night. I almost aborted the plans when I checked the weather forecast and I saw that the temperature was below the freezing point.
“Shit… Now what?”. “NO!! I’m going anyway. I put on two jackets if needed but I’m exiting this cycle right now”.
So I got dressed, put on some make up and perfume that I got with the idea of using in special occasions and 2 years have passed and I only put it on 4 times and 2 of those times I just put it on because I like the smell.

The party started at 8pm so I decided to go there at 7.30pm, order some food and watch.
I got there and the place was full of people. Mostly everyone was registered to compete. I asked if it was ok if I had dinner and watch since “I don’t really drink much”.
I asked where I could seat and the woman (who I believe is the owner/manager) said: “I don’t know! We are full”
“Is it ok if I sit at the bar?”
“Sure! Today is a special night, we have a competition”
“That’s why I came, I knew about it. I’m really curious to know how it is”.
Then she handed me the menu and I ordered something that I love. In Holland it’s called: “Pataat Oorlog” (It means “Fries War”). French fries with mayonnaise, peanut sauce and raw onions.

3359189521_c3fa4799d5

Not the smartest choice but I thought: “I didn’t come here to pick up men so I don’t give a f#$k about my breath smelling like onions”.
I also ordered a beer. I’m a fan of white beer (according to wikipedia.org: a beer, usually top-fermented, which is brewed with a large proportion of wheat relative to the amount of malted barley).

The woman said: “The white beer is half liter (17oz.), is it ok?”
“Yeah, sure… why not?” Since I kind of had the idea to drink ONE beer and go back home.

img_5039

That’s my beautiful beer. As you can see, it’s not crystal clear, it’s kind of murky.

By the time I finished my fries, it was about 8pm and I had already met a few men. There was one man sitting a few spaces to my right that kept lifting his glass and saying “Prost” (cheers) every sip I took. He also said: “Guten Appetit” when I got the food. He kept smiling at me. I think he was about 80 years old. I was laughing inside me remembering the comments I had made to my friend earlier and also thinking of a way to sneak a picture of him without being too obvious.
Then there were two men a bit further to the left. One was very quiet and nodding to everything while the other one (with ring) wanted to know everything about me. I’d say the quiet man was about 55 and the chatty one, about 60.
Then a couple came and sat between the men on the left and me and a few minutes later, another man alone took place just next to me, to my right.

I noticed that all the participants were given a paper so they could write down their guesses after tasting the different beers. I asked the guy on the right: “Can I take a picture of the paper?”
“Yes, of course”
I was trying to take a picture avoiding the shadow of my hand on the paper and when he saw I was struggling, he put the paper just in front of me and said: “Try now”.
So I took the picture.

Those on the list were the probable beers that everyone got to try. I’m not sure if you can recognize many of them.

img_5042

Every participant had to taste 11 beers and guess among the 13 beer brands written on the paper, which one was each beer.
The guy on the right started to explain that to me just when it was announced that the competition was starting.

The guy on the chair with the hat with lights on it, is the guy I met a few weeks ago. He organized the event.

img_5040

Every partaker had a special glass filled with the first beer. They all tried it and then marked on the paper which beer they thought that one was.

The atmosphere was very friendly and everyone knew everyone and specially the man on my right, who I later found out, used to work in that bar for 30 years.

I’ll continue with the story tomorrow. I just want to say I’m SO GLAD I went. I didn’t remember having so much fun in who knows how long.

~ by DotedOn on November 12, 2016.

10 Responses to “809”

  1. πŸ™‚ I’m so pleased you enjoyed yourself and the beer looks awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you had some well deserved fun and can’t wait to hear part two. I was going to go out last night but decided not to. We were going to see a friend play an acoustic set and then got to a nearby party at a studio but we weren’t going to know anyone at the party. Then we found out the friend was actually playing tonight instead so we wouldn’t be nearby after all, then also my son got invited to a movie so it would just have been me and my 9 year old daughter so we decided to stay home.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 🍻 I’m SO proud of you for getting out of your comfort zone, AND I want those fries!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, a post filled with so much good stuff! First, Paola, I’m SO glad you had so much fun! Just what your heart and soul needed πŸ™‚ I’m not a beer drinker but even in miniature, I recognized the Heineken logo.

    A few other things I don’t know:

    — What is St. Martin as far as a holiday?

    — Those fries! It’s a combo I’ve never heard of or that would come to mind, but I have a feeling it’s aMAzing! Of course, I’d probably be sick the whole next day, but the thought made my mouth water πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have no idea why St. Martin is celebrated. It’s very popular in this area among kids. In most schools the kids make their own lamps πŸ™‚
      The fries are amazing. If you like peanut butter, you can make sate/satay sauce and try them one time when you won’t mind being sick the following day πŸ™‚
      I did have a lot of fun and I’m super glad I decided to go πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. i’m glad you went and glad you had fun! thats what its all about. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
