820

screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-12-34-11-pm

Wednesday. It was December 31st 2015, 11:55pm and I remember this as it had just happened five minutes ago.
I decided to go to Spain to spend the holidays with my cousin and her husband because as the previous year, I didn’t want to be alone.
My kids were going to be with their father and his family and I still didn’t know anyone here or wished in any way, to join my ex and his family to celebrate.

We were getting ready for the New Year’s toast. As every year for the past, who knows how many years, I had in front of me 12 raisins aligned that I was going to eat at midnight, one by one, every time the bell tolled.
Since the tradition in Spain is to eat grapes instead of raisins, I had also 12 grapes in front of me.

According to wikipedia.org: “The Twelve Grapes of Luck” (Las doce uvas de la suerte), is a Spanish tradition that dates back from at least 1895 but became established in 1909. In December of that year, some vine growers from Alicante popularized this custom to better sell huge amounts of grapes from an excellent harvest.
The tradition consists of eating a grape with each bell strike at midnight of December 31st. According to the tradition, that leads to a year of prosperity.

I took the picture below on December 31st 2014.

img_9009

Like I do it every year, my idea was to put one raisin and one grape in my mouth at the same time, chew them and swallow them before the next stroke.
I don’t know if that’s possible or not, I could never do it. By the 12th stroke, I look like this:

screen-shot-2016-11-22-at-9-03-20-pm

Everything was ready.
Jordi, my cousin’s husband, had bought a bottle of cider specially for me because he knows I don’t like champagne.
The glasses were ready and we knew that soon we were going to hear the cork of that bottle pop. We were counting the minutes.

I looked at the raisins in front of me and said: “It looks like I’m going to have an interesting November”.
I had randomly picked 12 raisins and aligned them on the table. The raisin on the 11th place was much bigger than the others.

The stupid raisin didn’t lie. “Interesting” is a really nice way to describe this month. If you know me, you know I’m replacing “interesting” by “fu#$ing” every time I mention this month.
Still a few more days until it’s over and let me tell you, I’ll NEVER again pick different sizes of raisins.

This month has been A HELL OF A RIDE and it’s not over yet. And if you remember from previous posts, I’m f#$king afraid of speed, terrified of highs and I get sick if I have that free fall feeling.
Now I’m having it all, too many emotions, again and again.
I’m surprise I didn’t throw up yet. The feeling is there all the time.
I tried asking “the guy who’s in charge” to let me get out of this one, but it seems he’s not listening.

And I thought that all the other months were difficult.

I wonder how I’ll end up once the ride is over. Probably exhausted.

And then I’ll be confronted with December, that we all know, it’s the heaviest month of the year because for some reason, people expect that everything that couldn’t be done the previous eleven months, should be done NOW.

Add to that: The Holidays and all the stress that they involve. Christmas presents. Christmas and New Year’s parties (with family, friends, neighbors, coworkers, school, etc.). Also, in this part of the world it’s going to be dark and cold. Ugh.

Now, If I remember correctly, December’s raisin was kind of small and bony. I wonder what could that mean? I hope it means I’m going to lose some weight. All the weight I gained because of the anxiety that “interesting” November gave me.

Well, if nothing else, I still have hope.

~ by DotedOn on November 23, 2016.

6 Responses to “820”

  1. November is almost over!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Who knows? December does tend to be a stressful month but hopefully you can enjoy the holidays a bit.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. what an interesting tradition! Never even knew of that one! I hope next year and also december are good to you. XXX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
