821

screen-shot-2016-11-22-at-2-44-43-pm

Thursday. If you celebrate, Happy Thanksgiving. We celebrate it in my house. I always love a good excuse to prepare something different, specially dessert.

The first year we celebrated Thanksgiving was the year we moved here (2014). I prepared turkey legs and some pasta dish that goes in the oven.
Several days before, I started researching ways to prepare turkey legs because it was something totally new for me.
Also, I’m vegetarian so it’s kind of a lottery every time I prepare meat.
Every year, my oldest kids’ school, has the parents/teachers meetings on Thanksgiving day. My ex is the one who goes to talk to the teachers and every time he wants the kids there with him.
I said to him: “But we are going to celebrate Thanksgiving”
“I don’t give a f#$k”
So in the end, I invited him so we could all eat and then he could go to school with the kids.

I had no idea that 2 stupid turkey legs could take so freaking long to cook. I served the pasta dish and then I saw that the turkey legs were not done. I had pressure to finish so I took them out of the oven, remove all the meat from the bones and finish cooking them on a pan.
I had also prepared a cheesecake and the bottom of it didn’t want to stay at the bottom so it looked like an upside-down cheesecake.

Even with the two fails, my kids requested that same day: “Can we have the same food next year?”
For me, that was a huge compliment.

Last year the same thing happened. My ex wanted my kids at the meeting with him. I don’t remember if I invited him or not.
The pasta dish was excellent, the cheesecake was very nice too and again the stupid turkey legs were not done. That time, I sliced them somehow and put them on top of the oven with the grill function at maximum temperature because of course, I was under pressure again. They had to be in time at school for the stupid meetings.
Even after the emergency cooking, they said it was very good.

This year my ex is on a business trip and I have a meat thermometer. I thought that things should go much better.
NO. I was wrong. The problems started much earlier this time.

I didn’t find turkey legs and the only turkey thing I found was something that looks like a thigh. A HUGE thigh. Almost 900 grams (about 2 pounds). Just imagine the size of that animal.
The label on the packaging said: Unterkeule. That translated as underneath. Underneath what?

Anyway, I didn’t find any recipe or direction on how to cook the “underneath”.
I did find many different ways to prepare turkey legs so I adapted a few recipes and created my own.
You must be thinking: “Of course, she won’t be eating it!” And you are right, I’ll be observing my kids’ faces when they eat my creation.

I bought the turkey on Saturday and froze it because I was afraid it wasn’t going to be fresh today.
I also spent some time reading how long it takes a turkey to thaw in relation with its weight so I calculated and took the bird from the freezer on time.
I have to remember for the next time that the article wasn’t accurate at all.

When it was time to marinate and get the bird ready, the turkey was still freaking frozen.

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-8-10-37-pm

That meant that I couldn’t just use a fork and knife but needed to get my hands dirty.
Touching poultry sometimes freaks me out. Yesterday was one of those times so I had to wear disposable gloves.

First I wanted to pull up the skin. That caused my fingers freezing. Then I wanted to make some cuts and I almost broke the knife. I didn’t use a butcher’s knife. I used a very small and powerful knife that cuts pretty much everything.
Then my idea was to fill the sections with onions (the recipe called for celery but I didn’t have any). That wasn’t as easy as I expected because since the bird was still frozen, I couldn’t make the onions fit so easily.

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-8-10-59-pm

Then I put the skin back in its place (kind of).

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-8-11-15-pm

After that, I put it in a bag and used a marinade made of tangerines, soy sauce and thyme. I don’t even remember what the original recipe called for.

Now it’s in my fridge looking like that.

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-8-11-33-pm

I have no idea at what time I should start cooking the turkey if I plan to serve dinner around 5pm. No rush today and that’s good.

Now I should start preparing the cheesecake because I want it with a brownie bottom and that takes extra time. I wish I were not so sleepy.

~ by DotedOn on November 24, 2016.

16 Responses to “821”

  1. Happy Thanksgiving! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh wow! Sounds like quite a process. We go to my mother’s for Thanksgiving and even then everything is already made. At the very most, we have to toss it in the oven or microwave.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. happy Thanksgiving

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, my, Paola 😦 First, one good way to thaw a turkey is to submerge it in water so it’s not exposed to air, but not take as long as when it’s a very slow thaw in the refrigerator.

    And this post reminded me I meant to tweet my post from last year on how to cook turkey. When I went back to it, there were a bunch of comments between you and I lol I just put a reminder on my google calendar to tweet it every November. I hope it all turned out OK! πŸ™‚ Happy Thanksgiving πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Donna!
      I put it in the fridge the night before I was going to marinate it (2 days before Thanksgiving). I thought it was enough πŸ™‚
      Anyway, I don’t think I’ll ever roast a entire turkey, it seems like TOO MUCH meat for only 5 kids πŸ˜€
      And I remember your post perfectly!
      Happy Thanksgiving to you too! πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Hmmm…you don’t like leftover turkey for things like turkey salad and turkey soup? That’s one of the best parts of having the leftovers! πŸ˜€ But even if you don’t roast an entire turkey, the method of cooking it on high heat in a covered pan still is the best, fastest way. It would cook in no time if it’s just pieces of the turkey πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • I love leftovers when I can eat them… Being vegetarian, turkey is not tempting at all for me.
        And I’ll try cooking it in a covered pan, I have almost one year to practice πŸ˜€
        Thank you! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • …and remember the high heat! Covered pan (not tight in foil, there needs space for the juices to circle and baste) and 450 degrees πŸ˜€

        Like

      • I’ll write it down! Thank you, Donna πŸ™‚

        Like

  5. I hope the celebrations were good! And you enjoyed the turkey. And happy thanksgiving! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
