823

screen-shot-2016-11-22-at-2-46-50-pm

Saturday. A few weeks ago I got my ass off the couch and convinced my kids to go for a walk with the idea of taking some autumnal pictures.
I’m living in this town for over two years and there are still a lot of places that I don’t know.
I told my kids we were going to a new place. Of course, I was the only one who had never been to “the new place” because all my kids knew it already.

From my driveway to the right, you see this:

img_4920

I love that view. I love that tree and all the ones in the background. I love to seat in my front yard and look at that direction.

Then if you go to the left and take the path, you are in the main street.

img_4921

If you cross the street, you see the beautiful building on the picture below. Last week I decided to read the sign that’s hanging on one of the walls.
If I understood correctly, that building used to be the post office until 1986.

img_4922

After almost two years living here, I discovered that there was a shortcut to go to the mill. The reason why I take years to discover new places is because I get lost. (And I don’t think it’s that sunny anymore).

You’d think that after living 17 years in a town you should know it, right? Well, not necessarily. Yesterday when I went shopping and I got lost trying to find the street to go to the car,
I discover a church that I had never seen before. I regret now not taking pictures of the amazing building. I hope I can find it again because that church is worth showing.

The new to me shortcut takes you to the local brewery. That’s another thing I want to visit soon.

img_4925

If you go to the left from the brewery, you go uphill to the mill.

img_4927

That’s the mill. I love that mill and I love that I can see it from my living room. I love to see it working almost as much as I love to hear the bells of the church.

img_4935

Every Sunday at about 11am, you can hear the bikers. Many of them go to the mill. What they do up there, is a mystery to me. I thought they went to the cafΓ© that’s close to the mill but I think that they stay there, close to their bikes and talk for hours.

img_4940

If you walk in the opposite direction from where I took the last picture, you enter in a little forest. Thank goodness it’s not very big so the chances of getting lost there, are kind of small. And that’s always good.

After walking for some time, we found a sign indicating that there was a museum somewhere so we decided to go.
We found an old mill. I didn’t understand if the museum is in the mill. I’ll find out somehow.

img_4973

What caught my eye this time was the inscription at the entrance.

img_4974

It’s in Latin and says:

DENTE THEONINO RODAT ME LIVOR ACERBUS, NIL NOCET HOC, FACILIS SI DEUS UNUS ERIT.

I tried to translate that with some online translators but the result doesn’t make any sense. At least to me. Maybe if I knew something about history, it would be better.

I got this: “The blueness of a hard on me to eat you away with Theon’s attacks with his fang, Disgrace not this, it will be easy if God is one.”

This: “The blueness of a hard on me to eat you away with Theon’s tooth, no harm in this, will be easy if you are God, one.”

And this: “Teeth theonino rodat me black and blue mark bitter nil bad this , easy if you wish god one will be.”

WHAT??

Then I decided to look for Theon’s tooth. I found this:

Theon’s Tooth: The bite of an ill-natured or carping critic.

So I had to find out who Theon was:

1) A Greek teacher of mathematics and astronomy.
2) A carping grammarian of Rome.

Now I’m really curious why that inscription is at the entrance of a mill.

I’ll find out.

~ by DotedOn on November 26, 2016.

16 Responses to “823”

  1. I love when you share pictures, Paola, and what I really love is that you can even get your kids to want to take walks like that πŸ˜€

    The translations are REALLY weird. I wish I could ask my mother, but I can’t imagine she’d remember Latin from when she learned in high school back in the early 50s.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Paola for sharing this. Please let us know once you find out.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy hunting!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. it sounds like you had a nice walk and took lots of great pictures! I hope that made you feel good and brightened your day! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
