829

screen-shot-2016-11-22-at-3-11-15-pm

Friday. I just got a message from a friend who’s almost 39 weeks pregnant. She wrote: “I’m ok, getting lazy and with insomnia”. I replied: “I’m also getting lazy and have insomnia but NO BABY. I hope that changes soon”.
I just reread what I wrote and realized that you can interpret that in many ways, so let me clarify. I DON’T WANT ANOTHER BABY. The ones I have are more than enough and sometimes, I feel like they are too much.
I don’t mind the lazy part, I’m fine with that. But the no sleeping part, will kill me.
Anyway, I slept for almost 7 hours without interruption last night and I feel great. I only need two more nights like this and I’ll be as good as new.
I still can’t understand why that’s so difficult to achieve.

A few weeks ago, I was trying to explain to one of my sons that when he gets mad, before he reacts, it’s very important to stop and think for a bit. It doesn’t matter how mad he is or if he’s right or wrong. What really matters is that he has to do his best to control his emotions because his reactions could hurt someone.
I knew that I could tell him that 40 times and that my words were going to pass through his ears without “touching” anything.
So I decided to let him watch a video that I had seen a while ago.
It’s called: “Nails in the fence”. I wish I could tell you who the author is but the letters on the video are too small and I could’t read them, not even with glasses!

This is what it says:

There was once a young boy with a very bad temper. The boy’s father wanted to teach him a lesson, so he gave him a bag of nails and told him that every time he lost his temper he must hammer a nail into their wooden fence.
On the first day of this lesson, the little boy had driven 37 nails into the fence.
He was really mad!
Over the course of the next few weeks, the little boy began to control his temper, so the number of nails that were hammered into the fence, dramatically decreased.
It wasn’t long before the little boy discovered it was easier to hold his temper than to drive those nails into the fence.
Then, the day finally came when the little boy didn’t lose his temper ever once, and he became so proud of himself, he couldn’t wait to tell his father.
Pleased, his father suggested that he now pull out one nail for each day that he could hold his temper.
Several weeks went by and the day finally came when the young boy was able to tell his father that all the nails were gone.
Very gently, the father took his son by the hand and led him to the fence.
“You have done very well, my son”, he smiled, “but look at the holes in the fence. The fence will never be the same.”
The little boy listened carefully as his father continued to speak.
“When you say things in anger, they leave permanent scars just like these. And no matter how many times you say you’re sorry, the wounds will still be there.”

So, before you plan to break something, just think a bit who’s going to take care of the pieces.
And if you are fine with that, if your conscience is clean, go ahead and break it.
If the idea of causing harm to someone bothers you, then hold your horses, cowboy!
If someone breaks me, my kids are the ones taking care of the pieces. I think that’s so unfair!

And IT’S FRIDAY, I’M IN LOVE! After the f#$king month I just passed, I’m stunned. I feel like if someone was using my head as a drum. A jungle drum, maybe.
I need peace and quiet. I need to enjoy the silence.

Listen to Depeche Mode,

ENJOY THE SILENCE
(written by Martin Gore)

Words like violence
Break the silence
Come crashing in
Into my little world
Painful to me
Pierce right through me
Can’t you understand?
Oh my little girl
All I ever wanted
All I ever needed
Is here in my arms
Words are very unnecessary
They can only do harm
Vows are spoken
To be broken
Feelings are intense
Words are trivial
Pleasures remain
So does the pain
Words are meaningless
And forgettable
All I ever wanted
All I ever needed
Is here in my arms
Words are very unnecessary
They can only do harm

All I ever wanted
All I ever needed
Is here in my arms
Words are very unnecessary
They can only do harm
All I ever wanted
All I ever needed
Is here in my arms
Words are very unnecessary
They can only do harm

Enjoy the silence

source:

metrolyrics.com

~ by DotedOn on December 2, 2016.

10 Responses to “829”

  1. I don’t like the story because it teaches us that there isn’t a lot of forgiveness and gives us more to be regretful for…but maybe that’s just me living in denial. It is always best to hold our temper if possible anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Paola, I’d never heard this story, but LOVE it! I’m so glad you mentioned it here because it’s so simple yet SO poignant 🙂 I searched for it on YouTube right away and came to this page. Is it one of these? https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=nails+in+the+fence+storyhttps://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=nails+in+the+fence+story

    I listened to the first one.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s a really good story. I’m going to have to remember that.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s a great story and good advice! Thanks for sharing it. Made me think twice about how I react in anger! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
