892

screen-shot-2017-02-03-at-12-16-59-pm

Saturday. I mentioned a few times that I love buying mugs but I don’t have any more room to store them and that’s a pain in the eye because sometimes I can’t resist and I end up buying one or two more anyway.
My kitchen cabinets are FULL. The mugs are all pilled up and I’m the only one who is allowed to touch them because I’m not sure if I can be forgiving if someone else breaks one.

For a couple of years I’m searching for a little cabinet or night side table everywhere. I went to a few flee markets looking for one and also I’ve been paying attention to all the (garbage) containers on the street (not only in this town), to see if someone decided to throw one away so I could get it, restore it and hang it in my kitchen so I have more room to put my mugs… Who am I kidding?!? The real reason is: so I could buy more mugs.

One day long ago when I went to pick up my son at kindergarten, I saw on the street the perfect piece of furniture. I decided to pick my son and come back to get it but 5 minutes later when I got back, my precious cabinet wasn’t there anymore. I was furious.

I kept searching everywhere and I even asked my kids to get one for me if they saw one laying somewhere.
Some months ago my sons called me from their father’s house and said they had found one on the street. I said: “Take it only if it’s in good condition and if it fits on the corner”. They said it was in good condition and they thought it was the right size.
A couple of days later they brought me a thing that seemed to have survived three wars and two tsunamis… And also, it was too big. Not a little bit big that they could be confused, more like twice the size of the wall where I wanted to hang it.

Last week when we went to the museum I saw a pile of junk close to a container and among the junk, two bedside tables.
I said to my boyfriend: “I want hang that little table in the kitchen”.
“???”
“You have to imagine it after the restoration that I have in mind, not like the way it looks like now”
“Ok, should we take it then?”
“Nooooooo… We’ll wait until the sun goes down… And then YOU come and get it for me”
“Hahahaha”
“Don’t laugh! I’d send my kids to do the dirty work but I can’t wait until they are back. I don’t want to lose this chance. I’ve been looking for a freaking cabinet for over two years and I refuse to buy one. I want that one there”.

So when the sun went down and it was dinner time for the people in this town, I said: “And now is when we put on our dark clothes and go to take the cabinet”

Once we were there I said: “Let’s take both of them, one of my kids may want one bedside table too”.

Then we got home and after discussing how we could do the restoration, we saw that we could hang both of them, one on top of the other one, so I could have even more storage room!!

I’m really disappointed at myself for not taking a “before” picture before starting the restoration process.
I’ll see if tomorrow I can take a picture of how they look now and maybe I can put together all the pieces that we took away so you can imagine how they used to be.

The part that I really like about this project is that I got my super nice boyfriend really excited about it and he’s helping me with the restoration.

~ by DotedOn on February 4, 2017.

8 Responses to “892”

  1. Happy hanging!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, I love the espionage 😀 😀 😀 Can’t wait to see this new mug “nest” you lovebirds have made 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ah, you roped him in too? Good. So glad you finally got one! Hope it looks good when its finished. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. that last comments from beingdid? that was me. sorry. I logged in to the wrong account. Was replying via email. Remind me never to do that again! x Hope is what keeps a person going. It is the fuel the heart lives on.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
