921

screen-shot-2017-03-04-at-11-11-57-pm

Sunday. Today was one of those days that I feel like nothing got accomplished but at the same time, I don’t remember resting for a second.

Last week I ordered my birthday present, a mandolin. I got it yesterday but I didn;t want to use it until the fire pit was finished.
Today after having breakfast, I took my first lesson. My sweet boyfriend is teaching me.

After practicing for a while, I decided to learn a song so I looked up for easy songs and I found the music of Indiana Jones. My musical knowledge is pretty basic and I refuse to learn how to play “Twinkle Little Star” or “Old MacDonald has a Farm”.

Many years ago I tried to learn how to play the piano but I gave up because when I wanted to practice (Saturdays in the afternoon), my mom took her naps and I really hated bothering her, so to keep quiet, I taught myself how to read music sheets.

This afternoon I took a while learning the song but I finally got it. Now I have to keep practicing and try to learn to play it using more than one string at the time. It’s not easy but what I lack in coordination, I have it in stubbornness.

~ by DotedOn on March 5, 2017.

4 Responses to “921”

  1. I give you credit for wanting to learn an instrument, Paola! My great grandfather played the mandolin 🙂 We still have it!

    I took piano lessons for a few months when I was a kid, and taught myself how to play the guitar, but got frustrated with both ’cause my finger spread wasn’t quite enough to be able to play certain chords :-\ Oh, well! Good luck with the mandolin! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can understand you perfectly! I have very short fingers and the guitar was driving me crazy! I couldn’t reach the top strings!
      All my kids got their father’s fingers so they are lucky 😀

      Like

  2. well done on being determined to learn to play! You’ll be great in no time at all! 🙂 xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
