972

Tuesday. We are getting ready to leave. Everything is packed. As soon as all my kids get back from school, we’ll shower and go.

I like traditions so I decided to follow the one that we also have in Argentina.
“Something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue”.
This tradition comes from an Old English rhyme and it continues with “and a sixpence in your shoe”. Those are objects that a bride adds to her wedding outfit or carries with her on the wedding day. They are supposed to be lucky charms.

I just read that the “borrowed” object should come from someone who’s happily married or someone who truly has an inspiring marriage. I don’t know many people here and the ones I know, I can’t tell if they are happily married or not. So I borrowed an earring from my daughter that has a heart shape and it’s also “blue”.
My pants and shirt are “new” and all the rest can be considered “old”.
And just in case that the earring is too small, I painted my toenails blue.

A couple of years ago, when I heard that the rhyme continued with “and a sixpence in your shoe”, I ordered a sixpence in ebay. Because I always knew I was getting married someday.

So:
The “old” object represents continuity.
The “new” object offers optimism for the future.
The something “borrowed” symbolizes borrowed happiness.
The “blue” stands for purity, love, and fidelity.
And the sixpence in the shoe is a wish for good fortune and prosperity.

~ by DotedOn on April 25, 2017.

4 Responses to “972”

  1. So excited for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I didnt know all that! Learning something new here. lol. Happy to see you so happy Paola. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
