It doesn’t get easier

I think we all agree that it sucks getting old.  I’m not sure what’s the worst part but I think it’s when we compare what we were able to do some time ago and what we can do now.

I believe it should be different.  For example, things should get easier instead of more complicated because we have years of experience.  For example: walking.  We walked a lot in ours lives so now walking should be “like a walk in the park” and not like: “please pass me the oxygen tank”.

Other things like hooking or unhooking the bra, for example.  How many times we did it before?  Why the hell is not getting easier?

Don’t you feel sometimes that things are unfair?   Like when you try to teach your kids something and they look at you like if you were too old to remember how things work.

The other day I was talking to my husband and he kind of called me middle age.

“What?!?  How old is a middle age person?   And when is someone old?”  I can’t recall exactly what he said but I can assure you, he was tactful… Or as I prefer to say, he was terrified of me because he knows that when I hear something I don’t like, my reaction tends to be a bit explosive and he ends up with his mouth open but speechless.

His vague answer made me go to the computer and look it up: “Who’s considered middle age”. One of the search results on top of the list was an article from huffpost.com saying that according to a study, youth ends at 35 and old age begins at 58.

WTF? According to them I’ve been a middle age woman for the past 12 years and I’ll be old in 11?  Just like that?  Middle age?  That sounds like an insult to me.  Why the need to put a name on those years?  One should be young and then old and one can choose when they are old, because “you are as old as you feel”, right?   I don’t feel middle age.  I feel young or I feel old, nothing in between.   That article did not make me happy and I had my explosion in front of the computer.   Now I understand my husband.

These past days I’m feeling old.  Or better said, my body feels old.  For a while now my back hurts and on Monday I woke up with a stiff neck that it doesn’t matter how much I try to move it or massage it, it’s as my cousin’s grandma used to say: “Harder than boyfriend’s dick”.

So my options are: 1) complain – 2) do something.

Because I’m lazy, I chose option 1 and of course, it didn’t help me with the pain so I had to pick the second option and do something.

That’t when I decided to start working out a bit with the hope that my body feels as young as I do.

So far, I feel older because to the back pain I had,  I can add all kind of muscular pains in places I didn’t suspect there were muscles.  And I’m taking it really easy, less than 30 minutes a day.  I’m aiming to one hour but I’m not sure if I can do that at my age!

 

 

~ by DotedOn on September 25, 2019.

9 Responses to “It doesn’t get easier”

  1. You’re only as old as you feel… until someone comes along and makes you feel differently… which is normally old. But, if you sucker punch them (in the throat) that can make you feel pretty young again, too. I mean, I’m just saying… it’s an option.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When my body feels old, I remind myself of all that my body has been through! My mind and spirit feel much younger than my body.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I understand your pain, Paola, but—you can’t change your actual age :/ I have been “old” for a few years according to your cited article, but due to health issues, have “felt old” since I was 20. Mentally I’m not sure we ever truly feel “old” because we still want to do many of the same things, enjoy many of the same things and desire to be “young.” I don’t know how you eat and sleep, but trust me—that, more than anything (plus stress) is what makes you feel/be “old” at almost any age. Hang in!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Stress is relentless—-THAT’s the problem *sigh*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment