264

264

Monday. Ughh. Still cold and cloudy, matching exactly how I feel.
The flea market wasn’t nice and the water in the living room was much worse than what I expected. I knew it was bad but after some time, one of my kids said: “Mom, you can come downstairs if you want, we are almost done drying”. Crap. That was the biggest lie of the day. I think we filled 3 buckets of waters.

This morning, after bringing my kids to school, I decided to go back to bed. I didn’t feel well. I wanted to feel someone hugging me so I thought that the blanket could be the best substitute. I think I fell asleep because the next thing that happened was the bell waking me.
I run downstairs because I thought it was the mailman. Instead I found a 20 something years old guy talking in German. If I’m sleepy, I can barely understand Spanish, so for me it was all blah blah blah… Or should I said, blahnhen blahnhen blahnhen.
Then I saw the guy had a cigar in his hand and I realized who he was. The guy that mows my neighbors lawn! And he was offering his services.
I didn’t mow the lawn on my backyard for two weeks because it was either raining or I didn’t feel good and when I had the energy, I chose to mow the front yard because everyone can see it. So now it’s long. Very long. And he saw it. So he took the chance and asked me if I’d like him to mow my lawn…
Shit… I’m regretting I keep forgetting to ask how to decline politely in German. So I went ahead in English with something like: “Thank you for your offer but I really like to do it myself”.
Of course, if you read some of my older posts, you know EXACTLY how I was feeling. It was more or less this: “Are you f#$cking kidding me?? Don’t you see the mess you do in that yard every time?? Do you really expect me to let you ruin my beautiful garden too?? NO WAY IN HELL”…

I rather have one feet long grass

IMG_1595

than the ugly brown spots

IMG_0798

~ by DotedOn on May 18, 2015.

19 Responses to “264”

  1. Reblogged this on SURVIVORS BLOG HERE.

    Like

  2. Ha, ha! Yes, I remember that guy!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I prefer high grass to brown spots, too. You tell him where to go, Paola!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I do believe the polite way to decline in German is something like.. NIEN! Dumkopf! NIEN! Or something like that, as I remember my German teacher yelling at me when I was in her class.

    Liked by 1 person

    • hahahahahahaha πŸ˜€
      Thank you! I will try that (and then probably I’ll have to move to another town :D)

      Like

      • On the bright side of the latter… at least you won’t have to deal with Job anymore. (that the name of the lawn mower man from the Stephen King book)

        Liked by 1 person

      • πŸ˜€ I’ll research the book, I don’t know it…
        I see Job every week destroying my neighbor’s yard… I’ll take new pictures next week, I want one with the cigar hanging from his lips πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Way to go, put the messy mower on his way. Good job. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Feel better.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. To a German, all you have to do is tell him how you want it done and then tell him, if you don’t like it, you don’t pay. The don’t pay part gets their attention. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

 
